We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wouldnt give food to wild animals”
Review of Hotel San Fermin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Fermin
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 23 October 2012

first time and last at this hotel food rubbish the manager should use the 2 euros they charge for the sun beds to put on some decent food dont buy the sangria as i watched the manager top up jugs left on tables

Room Tip: south rooms heard noise from bar over the road from hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank margaret l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stayed 6th Oct for a week. We arrived late but the reception staff were friendly, checked us in quick and as we were staying half board told us we could swap evening for lunch meal if we wished. We swapped our last days as we were leavin before Dinner was served at 7pm. The room was clean, balcony over pool area which got sun most of the day. Rooms cleaned daily and women who cleaned rooms were always friendly. The hotel is mainly spanish but the staff didnt treat them any different. The grey haired barman is very abrupt as stated in the ther review but I never had an issue with being ignored at the bar. The entertainment was mostly aimed at sanish but generally was repeated in Englsih. Only stayed in one night for a Parrot show which was entertaining. The hotel was closing the day after we left for the winter and doesnt re-open until April which is surprising as it was very busy.
The pool area was nice and clean and the beds are 2e a day. which means theres no fighting over them and no towels out at 6am! Food was tasty and changed each day, with an italian and chinese themed night. Although if we had took my nephews I think they would of struggled with something to eat as the only 'kids food' was burgers, pizza and chips all week.
I would stay agin if we could get a cheap deal.

Room Tip: The bar just outside is very friendly and seems to be full of the English from the hotel, but is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deh085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

stayed here 2nd week in october, decent hotel at the top of a short steep hill very clean ,rooms yes basic but totally adequate for a half board stay .food good and varied for a 3 star. staff pleasant and helpful .entertainment was not good for british as in spanish but plenty local bars nearby.
the grounds were quite nice as mainly grass with parasols. sunbeds at 2 euros a day.all in all a good 3 star hotel..

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bexndale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Well it was a grade three hotel so you will always get what you pay for in our opinon it was a very clean hotel and the surroundings were great the staff were mostly friendly the food was great if you ate Meat and Fish needless to say Im a veggie still the director was very helpful in making sure I had something especially prepared for me every night, as I said early our room was basic but allthe towels were changed everyday and there was not any dust about as the beds were moved everyday. The entertainment was geared towards the spanish who out numbered the british, The general age was a lot older than us in our 40s still we had a great time in the sun weather was exceptional in its 90s on 4 days a bit of mist with low cloud on a couple of days but this gave us a rest from the sun, loads to do with boat trips days out to Gilbrater great food all around San Miguiel Euros1.50 sprits a bit more expensive great duty free, we even brought a fantastic suitcase for only Euros12 would had been at least £45 great bargins.The hotel in situated at top of hill which has been named Cadiac Hill but this was not a problem even thou I suffer with Asthma great for getting your heart going. would go again...The down side was the bed was a bit hard and gave us a back ache after a week and we had to get out of our room by 11am even thou our flight never left Malaga till mid night,No fitness gym at this hotel

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor less noise,not recommended for vegetarians although breakfast was the best mea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here from the 2nd to the 9th of October , we know benalmadena very well having stayed there quite a few times and the area is looking a bit tired due to the amount of bars that have shut down but we still love it . The San fermin is very clean and check in is very prompt , we paid 219 quid for the week half board and I must say it was excellent value for money . A couple of bad points this hotel is very Spanish / French orientated which didn't bother us much until we went to the bar for a drink the barman that served us was an absolute waste of space waited 20 minutes to be served as he was serving everybody else bar the English and it happened to other Brits who stayed there, and this happened all week he is a total let down for the hotel as the other staff who were brilliant ( this barman had grey hair and glasses you'll know who I mean when you see him, jumped up little hitler ) the food is ok for what you pay, you'll find something to eat . Breakfast was same again except they don't do sausages which I find strange . The hotel is looking a bit tired and in need of decoration and the entertainment is crap all geared up for Spanish , top prize at bingo is a cup of coffee you get my drift . All in all excellent for what you pay , just stay away from the crank barman with the grey hair he will try and ruin your holiday , up the Brits lol .

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraignShelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Just returned from San Fermin, 3 days half board. Hotel great location, hill not a problem, 15min walk to lovely marina, short walk to beach.
Room not huge or very modern, but spotless clean. I asked for a south facing balcony on booking and got one! Beds made each day and fresh towels if required (put towels in the bath)
Food was the only let down, not great, although we always found something, it just wasnt the best, defo only 3 star food.
Drink very cheap in bar, and overall a nice atmosphere in hotel.
Will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharron s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

just returned on sun the 7th nov really enjoyed are stay the hotel staff,rooms,pool area ,food all very acceptable always something for every body to select from buffet selection,very good value for money that we payed,would use this hotel again

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuart d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.6 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
#23 of 45 in Benalmadena
640 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,950 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villasol
Hotel Villasol
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palmasol
Hotel Palmasol
#25 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Fermin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Fermin

Address: Calle San Fermin 11, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £47 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Fermin 3*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Fermin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Fermin Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing