We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect 4* at 3* prices”
Review of Hotel San Fermin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Fermin
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Don't expect 4* at 3* prices”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed May 2013
The San Fermin is a 3* budget hotel – and essentially that’s what you pay and that’s what you get.
There were some genuine plus points which deserve a mention. I’d emailed the hotel a few days before going and got a prompt reply confirming my reservation was all in order. When allocated our room, we found that our request for one away from lifts and on higher floor had been met. The hotel was clean with the room cleaned and towels changed every day. Room, though small, had tv and air con at no extra cost and had a safety deposit box available for 2.5e a day plus 5e deposit. Bathroom had a hairdryer, bath with shower, always had hot water and basic toiletries were supplied.
So far so good and for these reasons I don’t want to over criticise the place but, there are some issues there and I can see why people might not always be happy.
It is on a steep hill which, though ok for many, would be unsuitable for wheelchairs or those with mobility problems.
The room had a single glazed door onto the balcony and to me, it didn’t seem to be safety glass. Although ours wasn’t a family room anyway and it didn’t pose a problem for us, that would be a concern if you have young children.
The food – perhaps the thing most reviewers seem to criticise - was patchy. Some of the things that were always available were good though – the breads, cold buffet, salads, fruit etc . But some of the main courses that changed each night were bland or unpleasant and the choice wasn’t too great. However, they always had the “Safety net” of burgers, pasta\bolognese available. Desserts were essentially cold rice pudding or fresh fruit and ice cream though one night had a chocolate fountain and another a selection of cheeses. On the whole, there was always something to choose – but many visitors will be familiar with buffets with wider choice and the things that came out once a week here, being permanent features elsewhere.
Didn’t try the pool – water too cold in May – and didn’t watch the entertainment either - though there was flamenco, parrot show , singers etc during the week.
Hotel had a wide variety of nationalities including Russian, Polish, French , Italian , Spanish and a minority of British – probably because it doesn’t seem to be listed with one of the major uk tour operators like the Bali next door which was receiving regular coach loads of Jet2 clients for example. But a minority of Brits is not necessarily a bad thing!
We found the staff courteous and efficient though admittedly it was early season and relatively quiet.
Because of the few gripes, I’d struggle to recommend this place to a friend but if you’ve already booked don’t fret. Just don’t expect 5* at 3* prices - be a bit forgiving and relish the fact that the money you saved on the hotel goes a long way when you leave the hotel.
The San Fermin was about a 20 minute walk from Benalmadena train station and the train direct form the airport was only 1.95e each and only took 15 minutes or so. Strangely, getting the bus back to the airport was 3.60e each – but we chose that because the bus stop outside the MedPlaya hotel was only a couple of minutes away so easier to carry the bags.
In the resort itself, well worth a visit for those with a head for heights is the cable car (look out for 2e discount cards in foyers or on the back of bus tickets)- visit on a clear day when you can see the top of the mountain and there’s not too much wind about and you’ll enjoy tremendous views and even a twice daily falconry display. Torremolinos, Fuengirola and Malaga are all easy on the bus (1.60e each way and 1.90e each way for Malaga) with Torremollinos a short walk and Feungirola walkable in a morning. Benalmadena has some quite steep hills and steps to negotiate but it does have nice beaches, promenade and bars and restaurants aplenty and an attractive and lively marina hosting the sealife centre, more bars and restaurants and numerous boat trips.
I would consider going back to this area but would do a few price comparisons before choosing San Fermin again. The right deal might still get me back though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    311
    209
    71
    52
See reviews for
160
398
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Just came back from a four night stay with 16 friends . I had to make quiet a few changes to our room requirements in the months preceding our visit and nothing was a problem for the hotel. The staff were helpful, the hotel clean , even though it looks a bit tired from the front. The pool and surrounds were clean and well kept.The rooms were more than adequate with comfy clean beds, a good shower and a balcony with a view of the sea, the pool and a mountain (depending if your room faces the rear).
Admittedly it is up a hill, as mentioned in other reviews, which to my group of 40 year olds wasn't a problem but it might be a bit of a struggle for the elderly or infirm. We mainly used it for a base for playing the many golf courses within half hour of the hotel and drinking at the marina which is a 10 minute walk away. It ticked all our boxes and we would return as it was a good base and very good value.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stopped here for a long weekend with a group of gentleman celebrating a 40th birthday. Not the most welcoming external area but inside the hotel is fine. The food was adequate, always something you could eat my friends reported, that said many of us just ate out at surrounding bars and stayed down the numerous drinking bars near the marina. Quite a steep hill to climb from the marina area and also up towards the train to Malaga/Fuengirola.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JarraMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Went on holiday 11th may for 6 night stay at hotel San fermin all staff excellent. Thank you to the lovely staff who cleaned and tidied the room and bathroom. Clean towels every day and change of bed linen. Hotel dining room spotless paying 2 euros for the sun beds isn't going to break the bank balance. Different choice of evening meals. Loved the chocolate fountain night mmmmmm. Different types of pubs and clubs for all ages Spanish people in this resort very friendly. Must must must go and visit the harbour stunning.

Only 3 complaints
1) breakfast was very greasy I don't like eggs and bacon floating in grease....
2) if you are unlucky enough to have the room opposite the lift and stairs ask to be moved the noise of people getting out of lift and clomping up the stairs no matter what time of the day/night aaarrrrgggghhh
3) pleassssseeeee I know fire doors are needed but the noise when the doors close omg it is awful and very dangerous in case fingers get trapped and yes before anyone says the noise is better than being burnt or killed,i have never heard fire doors that "BANG" like them.
Taxi service excellent.
Yes I would return (if the springs were taken off the door hinges) i recommend this hotel to family and friends only thing about the area it is very steep so any one who has difficulty in walking or wheel chair users not good.

Thank you to all the staff.
X

Room Tip: Away from lift and stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel was absolutly fantastic, i went for 6days but with how relaxed and quiet the hotel is, could of easily done with 2 weeks. The rooms are very clean, the maids come in everyday with fresh bedding and towels. The food was basic but nice like any spanish food, something for everybody. The hotel was very quiet and full of spanish people but there was no problems. Entertainment is brilliant, entertainer called Brian has different activites on during the day e.g shooting,french bowls,ping pong, aquarobics.
The hotel is up abit of a hill, so be aware. There is plenty of bars down the front, suitable for any age group.
Would deffiantly recomend this hotel to anyone and will deffiantly be going back with how cheap and pleasant this hotel is.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren--Bell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Arrived at 10pm at night they had no confirmation we where arriving not there fault but the gentleman in reception got us sorted out very quickly and told us too put our cases behind the reception and go and get some dinner bearing in mind the dining closes at 10pm. Everyone from the housekeeping reception restaurant bar staff even the guy on life guard duty was pleasant and efficient and helpful. Also the director was on hand at all times . I could say that the rooms are a bit small and they charge 2euros for a sun bed but I found out that some of the hotels are charging for sunbeds so that is not a complaint all and all I had a wonderful stay here and would go back too this hotel again

Room Tip: High room if possible we where on 5th floor one overlooking the pool sun in afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terry_jean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Excellent breakfast buffet and dinner if you opt for it, or like us if you're getting tired of going out every night you can purchase a dinner buffet ticket for 12 euro (all you can eat!)
Great pool and garden for sunbathing in, very peaceful.
The staff are very good, helpful and friendly.
A perfect location for the beaches, buses, the wonderful park and all of the bars.
We thoroughly recommend it!

Room Tip: We were luck and got the 5th floor facing the pool and garden. Views of the sea and the mountains, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#24 of 45 in Benalmadena
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,861 reviews
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
#28 of 45 in Benalmadena
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Alay
Hotel Ibersol Alay
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Fermin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Fermin

Property: Hotel San Fermin
Address: Calle San Fermin 11, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Fermin 3*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Fermin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Fermin Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing