We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value hotel”
Review of Hotel San Fermin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Fermin
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Came back 13th October the day the hotel closed for the winter. We were told that it would shut then when we checked in and I felt the hotel would go downhill that week but in know way did it make any difference to our holiday. It was kept to hight standards and the food was plentiful. The only thing was as a previous review that the bottom of the pool looked a bit dirty! The bathrooms had been refurbished and had a fantastic shower and new floor in the bedroom. It is one of the best hotels I have been to for a 3 star hotel and would have no hesitation in going back. It maybe unsuitable to people who could not walk up the short steep hill but you soon get over it and the hotel is very central for all places within Benalmadena and it is easy to get to other places via walking, bus, boat and train.

Room Tip: Pool View room as will be quieter than the ones at the front
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Fermin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Really Clean Hotel location good Close enough to everything but also far away from the noise so it can't be heard also read previous reviews and cardiac hill no that bad either would def use this place again

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bigdod1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Lets start from the beginning after arriving at Malaga airport you have several choices to get to the San Fermin Hotel 1st a Taxi which cost 25 euros each way, second you can get the train from the airport to Arroyo de la Miel then a taxi for around 5 or 6 euros and lastly you can take the M128 Bus for under 2 euros and get off at Antonio Machado which is in front of the Hotel Riviera and after the Hotel Triton stop approx 24 stops from airport.

The hotel itself is a little dated but don't let that put you off the hotel is spotless and the rooms very clean we stayed 10 days and our rooms were made everyday and towels replaced too. The staff cannot do enough for you are very good and very polite. the hotel is on a hill and you do need to be fit and able to walk but having said that each time it became easier.

The food was plentiful and something for everyone a good breakfast with a choice of fruit, cereal, full English, cakes juices, tea and coffee. The Evening meal also had a selection for all including chicken, fish, pork, salads, beef and a lot more. If you wish to buy a small jug of wine this would cost you just 3 euros or buy a nice bottle of red from 5 and a half euros which you can leave behind the bar for the next day.

Entertainment and activities during the day were great and the guy Brian who does them makes it better we did shooting, Archery, Schoolan, Table Tennis, French Bowls, Darts, pool volleyball, football basically anything you wanted to do.

The pool area was nice and the pool was clean my only thing that was annoying was the 2 euros a day for the sun beds but having said that it stopped everyone getting up in the morning and sticking towels on them and not using them. bar prices at the hotel were quite reasonable a pint of San Miguel would cost you 2.5 euros and every day between 5 and 6 is happy hour so you get 2 pints. A half litre bottle of water was a bit steep at a euro when supermarkets sold a 5 ltr for 1.30.

Evening entertainment included dancing shows, Parrot show, disco and bingo. Because they have a lot of Spanish people at the hotel the evening shows were orientated towards them having said that I enjoyed the flamenco dancing.

The hotel is about a 5 or 10 minute walk to the beach and is surrounded by pubs and places to eat we went to a bar 5 mins from the hotel called the Eurobar turn left out of the hotel follow it round and when you reach the square there are loads of pubs the eurobar which sold pints of beer and good measures of shorts for a euro seemed very popular.

Room Tip: If you want the evening sun ask for a pool view
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank european-tour-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I have just returned from the second visit too this hotel since April once again thoroughly enjoyed this hotel arrived late so you do get the option for a lunch just ask so your not missing out .once again all staff excellent no complaints there only one gripe I disagree with the big Sid the review below the pool if you look down from the rooms facing the pool you will see the dirt at the bottom and around the pool also the concrete. When were leaving at 3_45am in the morning went too check out the gentleman at reception offered us coffee nice touch will be back again good value for money.

Room Tip: High floor pool side sun from early afternoon till late
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terry_jean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

hotel was clean and tidy as stated in many previous reviews bit dated but not bad.Pool area was clean and pool cleaned daily, but beware they charge 2 euros for use of hotel sunbeds this is a new one to me. The entertainment was Spanish so we went out everynight, plenty of places nearby.The food was hit and miss plenty of it good times for breakfast and evening meals. The staff were pleasant ant polite at all times. The hotel is at the top of a steep hill could be difficult for not fit people. Very eay to reach beach.marina and bonanza square.Would i stay there again unlikely. Basic hotel fair price.

Room Tip: high floor over look pool
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have just returned from a 5 night stay at The San Fermin in Benalmadena. I go on holiday every October for 5 nights with my friends and this was our second visit to this fabulous hotel. We had a late flight and didn't get to the hotel until 21.55 and as we were checking in the gentleman at reception was ushering us into the dining room for dinner as there was only 3 minutes until the restaurant closed at 22.00!! I have never known any hotel to do this before....what a start to a fab holiday.

The reception couldn't do enough for you and as we hadn't paid a lot for the hotel we couldn't believe that they wanted to do everything for you. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. The staff in the restaurant were fantastic and the food was of a big variety so there was always something for the 5 of us, the rooms were cleaned, clean towels and bed's made every day.

We had stayed at The San Fermin only 2 years ago, and we were more than happy to go back there. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Needless to say, us girls are thinking of returning there next October.

Muchas Gracias Hotel San Fermin. We'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gailswansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The San Fermin is by no means a 5 star hotel but its great! The decor is fine in reception and dining room but the bedrooms and bathrooms are just what you'd expect for what you pay. Very basic but very clean with clean towels and bedding but with no fuss.. Our 5 star tribute is to the staff in the dining room They are excellent!!!! On reading reviews from other hotels the staff in this dining room should have a medal! Very friendly and welcoming. The food is good and varied and nobody could really complain unless they were so picky it wasnt true! You are made to feel welcome in the dining room each morning and evening and there is lots of choice food wise.
The hotel caters for many French and Spanish people which is a joy.
If you are in Europe, then mix with the Europeans. There are plenty English people but who wants to stay at home?? Try and mix and enjoy the food and friendly atmosphere. Its our second year and we'll go again next year. The hotel is up the hill so be prepared to walk after being on the beach all day but its good exercise and you can go straight in the bar when you get back and relax for happy hour. Evening entertainent, well ok, as usual for beach hotels, but if you are that way inclined theres plenty English bars with quiz nights etc!!!!
We enjoyed dancing away with the Europeans! Couldn't do that in England!
Pool lovely. We found the English were the people who put towels on sunbeds and parasols early morning!! But theres plenty of room in the gardens by the pool and plenty of beds.
All in all, a brilliant hotel and excellent value for money. We'll be back next year.
Many thanks, San Fermin.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view otherwise you get car park view!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.6 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
#23 of 45 in Benalmadena
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,916 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villasol
Hotel Villasol
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Alay
Hotel Ibersol Alay
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Fermin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Fermin

Address: Calle San Fermin 11, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £47 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Fermin 3*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel San Fermin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Fermin Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing