We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of Hotel San Fermin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Fermin
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Advantages:
- good location, close to the beach and bus stop (to Malaga)
- great food, not only british style but also spanish one
- nice view

Disadvantages:
- there is problem with elevators - only 2 for the whole hotel, so it is better to use stairs
- beds are not comfy: I had back problems after 4 nights
- rooms are quite old and needs renovation

I rate this hotel as very good beacusse of the food. If not taking food into account I would rate: "average".

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agata I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    300
    197
    70
    50
See reviews for
152
376
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Decent hotel, clean and considering cheap price, value for money. I gave it 3 stars but if I could, I would have given 3.5. Only downside was food which was okay but not as good as some other similarly priced hotels I've been at in the area.

Room Tip: Decent hotel, very clean and taking into account cheap price nothing to complain about and overall v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_Scotland_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Came back 13th October the day the hotel closed for the winter. We were told that it would shut then when we checked in and I felt the hotel would go downhill that week but in know way did it make any difference to our holiday. It was kept to hight standards and the food was plentiful. The only thing was as a previous review that the bottom of the pool looked a bit dirty! The bathrooms had been refurbished and had a fantastic shower and new floor in the bedroom. It is one of the best hotels I have been to for a 3 star hotel and would have no hesitation in going back. It maybe unsuitable to people who could not walk up the short steep hill but you soon get over it and the hotel is very central for all places within Benalmadena and it is easy to get to other places via walking, bus, boat and train.

Room Tip: Pool View room as will be quieter than the ones at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Really Clean Hotel location good Close enough to everything but also far away from the noise so it can't be heard also read previous reviews and cardiac hill no that bad either would def use this place again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigdod1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Lets start from the beginning after arriving at Malaga airport you have several choices to get to the San Fermin Hotel 1st a Taxi which cost 25 euros each way, second you can get the train from the airport to Arroyo de la Miel then a taxi for around 5 or 6 euros and lastly you can take the M128 Bus for under 2 euros and get off at Antonio Machado which is in front of the Hotel Riviera and after the Hotel Triton stop approx 24 stops from airport.

The hotel itself is a little dated but don't let that put you off the hotel is spotless and the rooms very clean we stayed 10 days and our rooms were made everyday and towels replaced too. The staff cannot do enough for you are very good and very polite. the hotel is on a hill and you do need to be fit and able to walk but having said that each time it became easier.

The food was plentiful and something for everyone a good breakfast with a choice of fruit, cereal, full English, cakes juices, tea and coffee. The Evening meal also had a selection for all including chicken, fish, pork, salads, beef and a lot more. If you wish to buy a small jug of wine this would cost you just 3 euros or buy a nice bottle of red from 5 and a half euros which you can leave behind the bar for the next day.

Entertainment and activities during the day were great and the guy Brian who does them makes it better we did shooting, Archery, Schoolan, Table Tennis, French Bowls, Darts, pool volleyball, football basically anything you wanted to do.

The pool area was nice and the pool was clean my only thing that was annoying was the 2 euros a day for the sun beds but having said that it stopped everyone getting up in the morning and sticking towels on them and not using them. bar prices at the hotel were quite reasonable a pint of San Miguel would cost you 2.5 euros and every day between 5 and 6 is happy hour so you get 2 pints. A half litre bottle of water was a bit steep at a euro when supermarkets sold a 5 ltr for 1.30.

Evening entertainment included dancing shows, Parrot show, disco and bingo. Because they have a lot of Spanish people at the hotel the evening shows were orientated towards them having said that I enjoyed the flamenco dancing.

The hotel is about a 5 or 10 minute walk to the beach and is surrounded by pubs and places to eat we went to a bar 5 mins from the hotel called the Eurobar turn left out of the hotel follow it round and when you reach the square there are loads of pubs the eurobar which sold pints of beer and good measures of shorts for a euro seemed very popular.

Room Tip: If you want the evening sun ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank european-tour-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I have just returned from the second visit too this hotel since April once again thoroughly enjoyed this hotel arrived late so you do get the option for a lunch just ask so your not missing out .once again all staff excellent no complaints there only one gripe I disagree with the big Sid the review below the pool if you look down from the rooms facing the pool you will see the dirt at the bottom and around the pool also the concrete. When were leaving at 3_45am in the morning went too check out the gentleman at reception offered us coffee nice touch will be back again good value for money.

Room Tip: High floor pool side sun from early afternoon till late
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terry_jean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

hotel was clean and tidy as stated in many previous reviews bit dated but not bad.Pool area was clean and pool cleaned daily, but beware they charge 2 euros for use of hotel sunbeds this is a new one to me. The entertainment was Spanish so we went out everynight, plenty of places nearby.The food was hit and miss plenty of it good times for breakfast and evening meals. The staff were pleasant ant polite at all times. The hotel is at the top of a steep hill could be difficult for not fit people. Very eay to reach beach.marina and bonanza square.Would i stay there again unlikely. Basic hotel fair price.

Room Tip: high floor over look pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
#26 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
#27 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Alay
Hotel Ibersol Alay
#24 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Fermin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Fermin

Property: Hotel San Fermin
Address: Calle San Fermin 11, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Fermin 3*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Fermin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Fermin Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing