We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Chips ?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Fermin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Fermin
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“No Chips ?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Hotel needs a refurb as its very dated but its very clean and the staff are excellent .
Must be the worst food I've ever had on H/B very poor with hardly any choice they seemed to have an abundance of chicken thighs and on the first two nights there was no chips! then the next night they appeared but they shouldn't have bothered I think they just warmed up last weeks batch also the delightful Breakfast of cold baked beans and eggs that any chicken would never admit to laying + the usual streaky bacon and cocktail sausages also there was small pieces of fried bread that defied my knife & fork .
Its about a ten minute walk to the Marina and Beautiful it is but don't buy any food or drink there unless your feeling flush Benalmadena is a nice resort and I'd would return but not to the (San Famin) as the locals call it .
Its a shame because I couldn't fault the staff/rooms etc it just the food .

Room Tip: High floor/ pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan_daviesSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    296
    193
    69
    48
See reviews for
149
368
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

have stopped at this hotel many times over the years.Grate value for money less than twenty pound H.B per night .clean and tide room with air conditioning.over looking the pool.Has requested you have to pay two euro for sun beds.The main problem with this hotel is the food this time we must agree with offer reviews the food was cold at times and not very good quality has last time There is a new director this year all he did was walk round the pool smoking.The last director always can round the dinning room asking if the food was o/k My tip is if you what a good value for money hotel just get B.B

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank villasoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great hotel for the price. You get people complaining but you only get what you pay for. Spotless clean, pool was a good size, food wasn't the best we only ate a few times but it was edible. Great location of benalmadana near the beach, bars, clubs and restaurants. I was never in for entertainment so I cannot comment. The hill from the beach to the hotel isn't as bad as it's made out. There are other ways to the hotel also. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a cheap holiday in the sun.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here last weekend, short break, its in easy access to the sea front and Marina, bit dodgy getting up the hill, pretty steep, but we made it on numerous occasions, wouldnt advise for anyone with walking difficulties, lucky i had a new hip last year otherwise I would never have made it up the hill.
Comfortable rooms, not where I would want to stay for a summer holiday, o.k for two nights,
The food was dreadful, no choice at all,we ate out, even breakfast was awful, so my advice is book room only, then wander down the hill for breakfast.
Benalmedena s lovely, beautiful marina, amazing Wok chinese down there, its a must if your eating out.

Room Tip: High room at the front, the sea view and amazing sunset and sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tesscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

stayed in the san fermin for 5 days end of april start of may. nice clean hotel very central. staff helpful and friendly.food not bad if your not too fussy, something for most tastes.if was only an extra 10 euro on the cost of b+b to go half board so cant complain, altough we ate there one evening and we had a beef stew, all i can on that, is it was only lovely, i had seconds.just to note if you feel like a hot big breakfast for 6 euro, go to the irish corner bar on the promenade, its straight down the hill on to the sea front turn right and only two away, you will not be disapointed, best breaky by far. paul and jackie from dublin.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul2884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle UK
Level Contributor
160 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were looking for some sun and to get away from the cold weather in the north of England. This hotel came up on the Easyjet Holidays site for just under £200 pp and it seemed a bargain as it included flights and half board but not transfers. Our room on the 5th floor overlooked the sea in the distance, it was not a large room but met our needs. Bathroom looked as if it had a recent refurbishment. Our first night in the restaurant was a real disappointment, food looked inadequate and a poor choice. Following night we went out for a meal which was excellent. Decided on the following night to give the restaurant another chance and I have to say it seemed to have been transformed to a really decent standard. Enjoyed the Navarra red wine which was a bargain at 8 euros. Used Belamadena as a base for our holiday and I think this was the right idea, could not fancy the resort or any adjoining resorts for a week but if you want value for money and a decent standard of service this hotel may well fit the bill given the incredible prices on offer for April/May.

Room Tip: Take a high room floor 5 asking for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qualitytraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week here from end of april. Brilliant hotel. All nationalities here which is great. Exceptionally clean, very friendly staff and great location. Slightly uphill for those who struggle but it's not as bad as some make out (and I hate walking). Food was great, tends to be more spanish but you are in spain!!! Always something there you can eat.
Not many negatives but sunbeds were €2 day but stopped people nicking them early with towels and as a married couple ended up with twin beds but If I'd asked I'm sure they'd have changed it.
All in all a brilliant hotel that I'd happily go back to again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank buntymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Siroco
Best Siroco
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
#26 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.4 mi away
MS Alay Apartments
MS Alay Apartments
#23 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Fermin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Fermin

Property: Hotel San Fermin
Address: Calle San Fermin 11, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Fermin 3*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel San Fermin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Fermin Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing