We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good location, basic hotel”
Review of Hotel San Fermin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Fermin
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Swansea, South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great staff, good location, basic hotel”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I stayed 11 nights at the Hotel San Fermin in late June 2014. We booked a fantastic deal on the Internet and expected this to be a very basic 3 star hotel.

On arrival check in was very efficient. Our room was fine for our needs. Plenty of space, lovely new bathroom and a balcony with good views over towards the Marina.

The food at the hotel was quite basic but suited us. We are both vegetarian and there was usually enough to eat at mealtimes. Breakfast was very good, however the evening meal was quite restrictive & by this tiem the bread rolls were often quite hard. Salads, pasta, meat and fish dish and pizza and Spanish Omelette. Drinks prices were very reasonable. The head waiter was very friendly and welcoming. All waiting staff were very efficient and did their job professionally.

The pool area was fine - Much better looking than the Bali next door....nice grassy area but beware of the ants and flies! There is a 2 Euro charge for a sun lounger but it avoided the pool area from becoming very cluttered and meant there was less of the towel reservations going on. However 2 hours lying on grass was enough for us!!

The reception staff, bar staff and domestic staff were all very friendly and helpful, In fact the best I've ever experienced in a hotel & they are a credit to the hotel itself. Bar prices were reasonable & we can recommend the 3.50 Euro Mojito cocktail offer.

There were quite a few groups of children/teenagers during our stay & on the whole they were well behaved, but did take over the pool area somewhat. However at mealtimes we thought they were all very good - there was no shouting or noise at all.

We had a few teething problems in our room but these were rectified very quickly. Our balcony door wouldn't open on our first day....fixed in 30 mins. Our air conditioning unit leaked one evening - again fixed in about 30 minutes, problem solved.

All in all a basic hotel, does what it say on the tin, but the fabulous location,near the Marina & Bonanza Square & the friendly staff more than made up for any shortcomings of the food and the basic facilities (of which all communal facilities were spotlessly clean)

On our final day we were allowed an extra meal before we left the resort as we'd arrived very late on our day of arrival. We thought this was a nice touch.

I'd definitely return to the San Fermin again as it is a great base, but I'd probably only stay for a week. I'd recommend this hotel to others visiting the area, but please re-consider a hotel on the seafront itself if uo have mobility problems - the pavements leading to the hotel are quite narrow and Cardiac hill is a bit of a steep climb (no problem for us, but hard going in the heat of the day).

Room Tip: We were in room 517 which had good views towards the marina, but we had a nocturnal resident pigeon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElusiveM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    309
    204
    71
    51
See reviews for
153
390
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

the hotel was very clean, rooms cleaned daily and towels etc changed we booked to miss the school hoidays (we have children but wanted a peaceful holiday) there were three groups booked in at the same time, one group was fine the others were nosiey took over the pool, and were loud and running about the floor until the early hours. I did complain to the hotel but they just strugged their shoulders. If you do not mind this then this hotel is the place for you,.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank birmingham6020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Drogheda, Louth, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband, myself, my 18 year old daughter and her friend have just returned home after our third stay in this lovely 3 star hotel. It is very clean, family friendly, with helpful and efficient staff. A special thank you to the animation staff of Vicky, Alberto and Eva who were so enthusiastic and created a really happy atmosphere around the poolside. Also there is a good selection of food in the restaurant and try the mojitos in the bar. Delicious!! Also, a big THANK YOU to the security guard called Xesko who is so mannerly, welcoming and helpful. My girls enjoyed themselves so much that they are now looking for flights to go back again next month:)

Room Tip: Poolside view for the young and lively. Most rooms have mountain and/or sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara22_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middles
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Really Clean Hotel , the location was good. Close enough to everything but also far away from the noise so it couldnt be heard. cardiac hill was not that bad either. You had to pay for a sunbed around the pool, you could lay on the grass if you didn't want yo pay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby_ru_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

great hotel, clean very friendly and helpful staff.
Food good and I am fussy. Always something to eat.
Pool area plenty beds..cost 2 euro pp for the use.

went half board, only fault was had to pay for water for evening meal, although only cost a euro.

Room Tip: room 222..faces the pool sun in the afternoon..brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

As a family and friends group, we stayed at San Fermin in May of this year for 4 nights and can honestly say we thought there had been a mistake with the costs when we discovered evening meal was included. The food was lovely and the service good, if anything could be improved upon that would be the rooms, though cleaned daily a bit of a face lift is needed. We all enjoyed our stay and have booked to stay again in May 2015.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room opposite the lifts as this can be noisy during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms

Helpful?
Thank YvonneCrossley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pencoed
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks during May.
Location is good,in between the beach and the traditional town of Arroyo de Mel,which is very nice with a good selection of eating places and a train station which takes direct in Malaga and the Airport.
The hotel is a 2/3star with a very nice swimming pool area.
Rooms are clean,basic but very clean.there is a TV in the rooms,but we could only access BBCworld!
WiFi is free and available throughout the hotel including the bedrooms.
The hotel is an international hotel and 'the buffet' reflects this.we were quite content with the food and there was plenty of choice most nights.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
The only downside was there regular groups of school children staying at the hotel who were controlled and well behaved.on ONE occasion we stayed in the hotel in the evening and the children were running round the hotel and making a lot of noise.
However, in conclusion we enjoyed ourselves very much and would return

Room Tip: Do use the bus and train services which cheap and regular
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chillicchilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,815 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#24 of 45 in Benalmadena
581 reviews
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
#26 of 45 in Benalmadena
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Alay
Hotel Ibersol Alay
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,029 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Fermin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Fermin

Property: Hotel San Fermin
Address: Calle San Fermin 11, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Fermin 3*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Fermin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Fermin Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing