We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it ..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
THB Torrequebrada Hotel
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Loved it ..”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We have just returned from a fantastic 4 night short break at the Torrequebrada.

We were checked in very quickly and easily and directed to the lift to get us to our room on the 9th floor of the Mabella Tower and told the porter would be up shortly with our luggage - The room was spacious and spotlessly clean and was kept so throughout our stay ; the beds were two large singles The bathroom was also spacious with double sinks and a separate loo and bidet with a sliding door, the very large bath towels were good quality but the hand towels could have been a bit bigger so as they could be used for your hair , toiletries were of good quality and replenished each day ; as others have stated before the shower was not powerful enough especially for someone with very long hair and the temperature of the water went from warm to scalding all on its own .A Hair dryer was also provided but not very powerfull and there is a make up mirror .
The Mini bar was reasonably priced but did not know this until check out as there was no price list in the room .
We had a large balcony furnished with table and two chairs with a fantastic view of the sea ,mountains and Fuengirola and part of the N340 coast road which made fantastic viewing watching all the mad drivers ,the room had two sets of patio doors one set double glazed which kept out all of the noise ,there were black out curtains which kept the room very dark . ir conditioning was ample for this time of year but not sure if it would be powerful enough in the high season .

We didn´t eat in the hotel but found a Spanish and Italian restaurant immediately across the road from the hotel and also a great fish restaurant La Cala Grill overlooking the sea along with a cocktail bar and supermarket.
We had Breakfast in the Pavillion Restaurant there was a fantastic selection of hot and cold dishes, excellent selection of Fruit Juices plus Cava for that special treat. We had no problem with the service or staff.
The Poolside Bar was not open during our stay as I think it closed at the end of September which was a shame as it was still very hot but you could get drinks from the Pavillion restaurant and this included waiter service to you at the pool ,it was a shame you could not get ice creams or crisps etc ,the only bar open was the piano bar .
On booking in you are given vouchers to present to a man at the pool for beach towels .
There is a luggage room at reception and check out is 12 pm or pay extra for 2pm check out, Taxis are plentiful outside the hotel,as we were not leaving until 5pm we used the changing rooms in the Gym to get changed ,there is also a hairdryer provided in there.
I would have liked to be given a map of the layout of the hotel as it is vast and on one ocaission we got in the wrong lift and went up to the Malaga tower which gave us a great laugh when we could not find our room number as in this block they were all even numbers as in the Marbella block they were all odd numbers .
All in all we had a fantastic time and would not hesitate to return at this time of year while there are no crowds.

Room Tip: As ther are 10 floors up to the rooms and 2 floors below reception If you do not like lifts ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TORII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    465
    251
    102
    50
See reviews for
279
543
30
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

First impressions of the hotel were excellent-reception area, the bedroom and the pool/gardens all looked great. The evening meal was from 8 to 11pm- which we thought was a bit too late to be eating-but the food was cold as soon as it was served as nothing was covered over. The hotel may have been a 5 star in its day but the food was no better than a 3 star. It was a big disappointment and we ended up going out to eat.

At night there was no entertainment at all and the bar was closed so we had to walk a fair distance to have a drink and one night paid 16euros return for a taxi to Benalmadena.

There were very few people staying here and even less eating in the restaurant

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

bedrooms were clean and of a good size. Pool area nice and peaceful, indoor pool good as well. Food tended to be luke warm rather than hot.Very good value for money

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highville186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Having been a little sceptical about this holiday to Malaga, we arrived at the hotel around mid morning and were given access to the room immediately. The room was clean and pleasant, with a lovely view of the sea from the balcony.

The hotel rates itself as a 5*, but having spent only £650 for the 2 of us for a week hb we really didn't expect that to be the case. The hotel is old and in need of refurbishment, but the gardens are beautiful with sea views and a very nice pool. The food was excellent, the waiters and waitresses were polite and friendly.

As it is the end of the summer season the hotel was very quiet which suited us perfectly. So, all in all, a very nice late summer break destination, although the hotel itself is not 5* in our opinion, we did receive 5* service from the staff, so thanks to all of them for that!

Room Tip: go for top floors - the view will be stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaBeck2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Do not stay in this hotel, not clean, not safe & bad bad food

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kellie478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The updated hotel room was excellent with a view across the bay to Fuengirola. However the balcony was very noisy due to the fact that the hotel is adjacent to a very busy dual carriageway. To help insulate the bedroom from the noise there were two sets of patio doors.
The staff were, without exception, efficient and very pleasant.
The hotel is clean.
The hotel is situated at the far end of Benalmedina at the top of as long hill. It is in an isolated position and particularly at night the area is lonely. We used buses and taxis every day and this became very expensive.The pool area and gardens are very good. The hotel's private beach is rough, pebbly and mostly unused.
There were very few guests in this hotel during the two weeks we stayed there.
The restaurant has a patio area so it is possible to dine outside. These tables have cloths and are properly set but inside the restaurant there are no tablecloths only cheap, red, disposable, paper tablemats and these give the restaurant the air of a very ordinary cafeteria.
The food served is very basic quality cafeteria food. The menu hardly varied at all in two whole weeks and is very poor. A lot of tinned food is served. Some evenings a barbecue was available on the patio but beware because the meat so served is rarely cooked adequately. Warm, pink pork and chicken is not a delicacy. I can say that this food is the worst we have had in any hotel stay in Spain.
There has been no entertainment in this hotel except for a woman crooning for exactly one hour during the evening meal and only in the first week of our stay. There is a night club which opens to coach parties three nights per week for a Magic and Flamenco show which costs hotel guests 35 Euros. Good Flamenco is available at no charge in most hotels in Benalmedina.
Until the last two nights of our stay the only bar open in the evening was the small poolside bar and so coffee after the meal was served in plastic cups. The Saphir Cafe, advertised by the hotel, was closed for the whole of our stay. The piano bar which opened on the last night of our stay was in darkness and deserted every other night.
This building is massive and there is much wasted space. It is primarily a casino and secondly a wedding and function venue. We saw two weddings during our stay but the function rooms always seemed to be unused.
We cannot recommend this hotel at all and it certainly does not deserve five stars. We will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: The best views and sunshine in the afternoon are from rooms in the Marbella Tower facing Fuengirola...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrox, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We have just returned from a most pleasant short break at the Torrequebrada.

Check in was quick and easy and our room - on the 9th floor of the Malaga Tower - was spacious and spotlessly clean; the bed was enormous! The bathroom was also spacious with good quality towels and toiletries; the shower was a little weak but that was our only slight moan. We had a large balcony with lovely 3/4 sea view, 1/4 road view; despite being right next to the manic N340 coast road, there was no noise at all once the double balcony doors were closed.

We didn´t eat at the hotel at night as the restaurant we wanted was taken with Wedding Receptions but there is a good choice of Spanish and Italian restaurants immediately across the road from the hotel. Breakfast was served in the Pavillion Restaurant and was fine with a good selection of hot and cold dishes, excellent selection of Fruit Juices plus Cava for people wanting an early morning tipple. One slight gripe here - there were only a handful of people eating when we had Breakfast but table clearing was very slow and we ended up with quite a pile of used dishes on our table.

The grounds are beautiful and views lovely. The Poolside Bar is well priced for a 4 or 5 star hotel but drinks are served in horrid plastic tumblers; the Bar Tender was very efficient and pleasant.

All in all we really enjoyed our short stay. I would describe the hotel as a good 4 star rather than a 5 star but still an excellent place to stay if you can get a good deal pricewise.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Campolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,213 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
1.1 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#18 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.6 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,017 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Torrequebrada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Torrequebrada Hotel

Property: THB Torrequebrada Hotel
Address: Avenida Sol s/n, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#13 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Torrequebrada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your best bet for Leisure and Business Ideally located on the beach-front of Benalmadena Costa, and with a sophisticated atmosphere, Hotel Torrequebrada is your best bet for both Leisure and Business. It offers a wide gastronomical variety of delicious food, peace and tranquility in its extensive gardens, Shows in the Sala Fortuna, fun and entertainment in the Casino, spacious, fully equipped conference rooms, activities and entertainment during the summer months and Wellness area for relaxation. All of this together with a relaxed atmosphere on the shore of the Mediterranean Sea and only 30 minutes from Marbella and Malaga, right in the heart of the Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your THB Torrequebrada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrequebrada Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Torrequebrada
THB Torrequebrada Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing