We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant lets the hotel down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
THB Torrequebrada Hotel
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Restaurant lets the hotel down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Just spent a week at the hotel the rooms were great cleaners excellent. Reception staff excellent. The hotel does need sprucing up and it's a shame it does not have anything on at night the bar has no life in it at all. The biggest problem is the restaurant I would not even class it as a 3 star in the restaurant the staff are not pleasant at all they don't have enough to cope with the amount of people eating in there sometimes and the ones that are there are lazy 3 nights we actually had to clear our own tables the food is very boring and very bland no presentation at all just thrown together this really needs to be sorted as it is letting the hotel down I understand now why there are so many bad reviews I would love to go back again If the restaurant was better

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Gem01jam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TORREQUEBRADA T, Director General at THB Torrequebrada Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like you to accept our sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations.
Regarding your comments,
• I can assure you that staff ratios that we use to ensure quality service for our guests reaches the required ratio. The professionalism of our team is beyond doubt, as surely you can check through the comments made by other clients in this and other forums of opinion. Even so, rest assured that the hotel management will investigate the matter.
• In relation to your comments concerning the food: it is not customary for us to comment on subjective opinions but of course we respect your comments. What I can say is that I can guarantee that the products we use in the preparation of our menus are of very high quality and regularly undergo strict internal controls.
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve due to your observations and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to prove that we work hard each day to improve our product so as to make your stay, and the other guests as well, an experience worth repeating.
Sincerely,

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    434
    239
    96
    50
See reviews for
264
512
28
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Enjoyed 4 nights, there was a casino convention which was very loud one night, should have been advised of this
You need to travel as very isolated for any nightlife
Overall not bad, only paid £325 for entire half board trip

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riariaDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a couple of nights and had a superior room which was on the 8th floor. Very large rooms with six double wardrobes in and separate WC and Bath/Shower. The only problem we had was that the beds were, as often the case, two single beds pushed together with a double sized headboard - not sure of the logic to be honest. We stayed half board and enjoyed the food.

The staff were very helpful and the poolside bar served food and drinks. Not bad prices to say this is a 5-Star hotel.

Whilst it's right on the beach at the point of the hotel there is actually no beach - you're almost 'in' the sea which is pleasant in some ways.

We have not as yet been in the casino which attracts visitors from afar apparently. We hired a power boat out for half a day from the marina and the other end of the long beach.

Would certainly stay again, although we might have to take a non-superior room to get a double bed!

Room Tip: Don't get a superior room if you want a double bed, although they have awesome views and are mas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

A very well equipped hotel with a very friendly staff. I had a great room on the 6th floor overlooking the bay. All very clean, free wi-fi, everything worked as expected. Fantastic breakfast buffet which was well provisioned and managed. Would definitely stay again. I was visiting friends nearby so did not spend much time in the hotel but I would consider going back for a holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pomtiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

I stayed here from aug 27th -3rd September 2012 with my husband. Were a young couple 27&34, (yes im still here at the time of writing this) it was my first holiday after a transplant & we thought we should book & deserve a little luxury.

I will keep this short; its definately not 5* its more of a 2/3 *. we booked b&b, double room (only got two twin beds though). I rated it average as i understand some of the points wont bother everyone. Ok so, the bad; customer service is pretty absent & not helpful when its there. No hotel atmosphere, breakfast buffet is incredibly busy & oftem waiting for a table to be free. The hotel advertises gym, sauna etc... This is a lie, the gym which consists of 4 machines only is open at different times & we were told to find the lady with the keys!, i didnt see a spa open, tennis is 10 euros per hour!!, only 1 court. Pools are good but the main outdoor is pretty deep so not ideal if ur not a strong swimmer. The location is ok pretty quiet we have spent about 75% away from the hotel over the week, nothing to do. The beach is close but not sandy its like muddy gravel & muddy water. I think the hotel thinks its better than it actually is. We just feel like were on our own, no conversation at breakfast everyone jus does there job & doesnt acknowledge u at all. If i came to costadelsol again id go to malaga or marbella, i can believe there are some decent hotels there. The good; hotel does have good grounds, big. Bus stop outside takes you to mzlaga for 1.50 euros:). Rooms good size fairly clean, horrible shower & shower curtain, ripped towels (have seen better days), breakfast boring same old. Conclusion; i wouldnt stay again, but if you do, dont pay too much for it! Its not worth my £200 per night between us. I think most of the good reviews will probably agree with it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sunshine7885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TORREQUEBRADA T, Director General at THB Torrequebrada Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
First of all We would like express how much we regret that you did not let us know your opinion while you were staying here in the hotel and have taken the decision to let us know through this via. We appreciate that you have taken time to let us know because we the welfare of our guest is very important for us and your comment helps us improve.

The THB Hotel Torrequebrada is a 4* hotel, not a 5*, I don’t know where you have received this incorrect information.

You stayed in our hotel which has 350 rooms which obviously means there are a lot of guests at peak times, we can guarantee that at 9.00 am the dining room is quiet and 10.00am seems to be a time when most of our guests decide to have breakfast but there is never a shortage of tables nor are there too many guests for us to give the desired service our guest expect.

We have never advertised that we have a “professional” gymnasium, we have a gym typically found in many hotels with some machines, we do not profess to be a sports center, it is simply an additional service offered to our guests who choose to make use of it. The gym has an opening and closing time along with all our other services, eg. the dining room, the sauna, the indoor pool, the massage and treatments room the hairdresser etc…

The hotel has 2 outdoor pool and one indoor pool, the indoor pool is shallower that the outdoor pool. Concerning the beach… there is a beach on either side of the hotel.

In THB we work very hard to gain and maintain the confidence we have with our Tour Operators and Agencies, National and International, this is what permits us to enjoy our work.

Allow me to repeat myself, I sincerely regret that we were not able to have the opportunity to listen and assist you during your stay, thus having been the case I am sure we would have had been able to offer you information and solutions.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a week long stay at the Torrequebrada. We have stayed there several times before but were a little worried with the change in ownership and some of the reviews. We had a great week and will definitely be back.

The hotels location and views are brilliant, the grounds more spacious than you would find in most hotels and it even has it's own tennis court. We found the service to be really good and rarely had to wait at reception who were always happy to answer any queries. Yes, if you went down to breakfast just before it finished - things were a bit manic (but isn't it in most places). The hotel has invested in some new gym equipment. The hotel also laid on a bouncy castle for the whole week (well away from sun loungers etc), so as not too disturb others. Some of the decor may be approaching time for a refurb, but hopefully the new owners will see to this. It was also a little sad to see two of the restaurants the hotel used to run no longer operating (though we knew this given some of the other reviews).

We also enjoyed the Luna Beach Cafe just around the corner (we called it the Sails Cafe) at lunchtime and the restaurant up the steps at the other end of the beach.

All in all with the Benaldamena Marina a short taxi ride away (or a walk for the more energetic), there is a lot to be said for the Torrequebrada and the surrounding area.

We will be back.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedworth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

My family and I visited the Costa del Sol via this hotel from the 12th of August. To be honest we we're slightly apprehensive after the mixed reviews, but thought lets see for ourselves.
Great choice!
From the transfers through to the check in through to the check out. > great
There was a comment about the buffet queues but we found if we went 30~60 mins from them opening we never struggled to find a table. The waiting staff work there soaks off and should be commended for having a smile after a 12 hour shift. Food really spoiled for choice if your going full board diet first.
The pool area was really clean and the lifeguard was constantly monitoring the pool.
We as a family have been to a few hotels and this is right up there with the best.

I feel that the THB group of hotels could make this Great Hotel, Grand again if they invested some money in the place.
Don't be put off by this though.
If your looking for a relaxing family holiday in the sun this hotel will deliver.

Thanking all the staff at the Grand THB in Torrequebrada.

Can you install a Gym for next year?

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sturms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Torrequebrada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Torrequebrada Hotel

Property: THB Torrequebrada Hotel
Address: Avenida Sol s/n, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#12 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Torrequebrada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your best bet for Leisure and Business Ideally located on the beach-front of Benalmadena Costa, and with a sophisticated atmosphere, Hotel Torrequebrada is your best bet for both Leisure and Business. It offers a wide gastronomical variety of delicious food, peace and tranquility in its extensive gardens, Shows in the Sala Fortuna, fun and entertainment in the Casino, spacious, fully equipped conference rooms, activities and entertainment during the summer months and Wellness area for relaxation. All of this together with a relaxed atmosphere on the shore of the Mediterranean Sea and only 30 minutes from Marbella and Malaga, right in the heart of the Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Onthebeach, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your THB Torrequebrada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrequebrada Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Torrequebrada
THB Torrequebrada Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing