We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Is Not Worthy Of 5 Star Rating, The Staff Need To Go On A Customer Service Training Course” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of THB Torrequebrada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
THB Torrequebrada Hotel
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This Is Not Worthy Of 5 Star Rating, The Staff Need To Go On A Customer Service Training Course”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

Our party of 4 adults recently stayed at the Torrequebrada Hotel. We stay in 5 star hotels all over the world and have never ever stayed in such a poor one. This hotel is not worthy of a 5 star rating. The staff are not friendly even when you are polite to them and try to build up a rapport. Everything seems to be too much trouble. They also 'appear' not to understand simple requests which I find hard to believe. On one occasion when we sat in the Pavillion for lunch the service was so poor we actually went into the restaurant and served ourselved to ice-cream. You would think this would be a simple task but it took over 1 hour for the order to be delivered to the table and then it was incorrect. There was no waiter/waitress service around the pool (a huge opportunity to make money that is being missed). You had to walk to the bar and then invariably there was no-one to be found to serve you. When we asked if there were any crisps/nibbles to go with the drinks we were offered Pringles that were in fact old (dated Sept 09), we had to rummage through the pile to find ones still in date - Sept 10. The sun beds were tatty and a number of them broken. You were only allowed one beach towel each and they didn't cover the stained lounger covers. The bedroom carpet had marks all over it, the door wouldn't lock and the maintenance guy came to start working on it at 11.00 pm (not something our neighbours would have appreciated). There was no phone in the bathroom, mould around the bath, a shower that either burnt you or asisted in suffering hypothermia. When we requested an iron it was all black and burnt on the plate and we were told it was the only iron the hotel had. After complaining miracously another iron appeared. The ironing board had no cover whatsover, just a frame if you were lucky, on other occasion you were just given a bath towel to iron on the floor. For the first week of our holiday the A La Carte restaurant was closed (no reason given). The alternative was a very poor buffet which we declined. This hotel may have been something to be proud of many years ago but it is in great need of refurbishment and the staff need to undergo training. At the end of the day if it were not for tourists they wouldn't be in a job. Having spoken to many restaurant owners in the area they gave the impression that it was looking to be sold off. They had more positive feedback from guests staying in nearby 4 star hotels. Having seen the turn down service on request, this is something we were not told about and expect as part and parcel of a 5 star. Not something to have to ask for.

All in all we made the most of it by visiting many places, Seville, Granada, Cordoba, Puerto Banus and Mijas. The most friendly and welcoming place was Mijas. Well Done Mijas. I hope this helps fellow travellers who know what to expect from a 5 Star!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    422
    235
    94
    50
See reviews for
258
501
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

My second review.See last year.I was there again seemingly at the same time as the Estonian Reviewer and must have been at a different place. As I mentioned before I am aregular reviewer on here and this hotel for Spain is defintely 5* there.No porridge for breakfast!!!! This is a Spanish Hotel.

The Hotel was only about 30% full and Ican honestly say I saw no children anywhere.Of course the beach was a bit rough-September is high winds and the sea was choppy.
I spoke to a well to do Spaniard who thought the hotel was wonderful.

Breakfast -choice of 4/5 meats cheeses bolied eggs etc with about 5 types of bread and croissants.Full english also available.Fresh squeezed Orange juice plus pineapple grapefruit and tomato.About 8 bowls of fruit etc etc.Plus wine if you want it.

I honestly do NOT know what some people expect unless most who write on here live in Mansions at home!!

Incidentally one nac get a bus to Benalmadena Town outside the hotel and the Port and Marina is about 300 yards at most from the main road.Also not 200 yards over the rose is La Ruta de Iberio-a proper Spanish restaurant!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal Odorous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estonia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

We stayed at Torrequebrada Hotel with our 1,5 child for 1 week.

Positive sides: quiet surroundings, near a busstop and a supermaket, friendly and qualified stuff, buffet restaurant + several a la carte restaurants, very good BBQ, indoor and outdoor pool, fitness center, spa, beautiful gardens + a playground for children, has its own beach, close to the municipal beach, not far away from Parque de Paloma (a very good place to walk with a baby :-)

Negative sides: far away from Puerta Marina (by taxi 7 euros, one way), absolute lack of porrige for breakfast, the level of lunch and dinner was not always the same, dirty hotel beach, bad condition of the standard room (broken chair, TV remote, shelves... dirty carpet), very noisy in the room (especially during the cleaning of the other rooms or someone talking in the corridor), dirty indoor pool (babies swimming without swimmpers)

All in all, it's a good hotel but defenitely not a five star hotel and overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanoora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

The hotel is big and imposing , sitting at the extreme western side of Benalmadena and therefore it is not affected by the crowds and should be considered to be a relaxing place to visit.

This hotel does offer 5* facilities, though I must agree that it could do with a makeover to bring it out of the 1980s. The staff were excellent and always happy to go that little bit further to help with a restaurant booking. Breakfast was very good with a more than adequate choice of cuisine.

The hotel's grounds are nice and were uncrowded on the occasion of our stay. There are two oudoor pools plus one indoor: beware, one of the outdoor pools is deep! To the right of the hotel is a small sandy beach, but there are too many rocks to make it usable for swimming. Instead try walking a few hundred yards to the left where there is a small sandy beach which is much more useable and has an excellent bar run by a couple of dutch chaps and they serve the best wraps I have ever had for lunch.

Inside the hotel there is a casino which is not affiliated to the hotel itself, but was an interesting place to spend an hour late in the evening, though I failed to win any money.

If you are going for a short break and don't fancy the long transfer to Marbella, then you should consider the Torrequebrada as an alternative. Benalmadena isn't that bad either, so long as you avoid the Blackpool-like centre.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbella
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

We booked a normal room but then decided to upgrade to a suite upon arrival since it seemed good value (especially since EVERY hotel we tried in Benal was booked out for the Auguest Bank Holiday Weekend) We paid 200€ a night for the room including taxes and breakfast which I thought was good value for 4 of us. The room was HUGE .. around 100m2 with a small balcony overlooking the sea with panormic ocean views. I had read that the rooms were dated and although I didnt see the others, ours was absolutley fine and had been recently painted.
We found the service to be excellent but I speak Spanish which helped.

Room service was also excellent and compared to other 5star hotels that I have stayed in on the Costa del Sol, I found the bar prices reasonable.

Breakfast was good and served overlooking the sea which was really nice.

We visited the Casino which was great fun and its open until 6am which was also good.

We found the pool area clean and quiet.

Taxis were plentiful and just 6€ into Benal which again, I found reasonable (especially compared to Marbella where we usually stay).

We did not eat in any of the restaurants

I would return, especially for the money we spent.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noelia78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

Ok, so the rooms need renovating a little and there are odd parts that could do with a lick of paint, but give it a day or two and you will fall in love with this place. Initially, I thought more 3 star, but then you begin to appreciate what a fantastic place this is. It offers a brilliant breakfast where you can sit outside on the terrace with great views of the med, the asian restaurant is one of the finest I have ever been to, and is very tastefully, orientally decorated. The sala fortuna (flamenco) was absolutely amazing and so was the food and wine, and the casino adds that touch of glitz. The reception is very helpful and the entire hotel is the ideal place to sit back, relax and unwind in benalmadena, but away from the crowds and tourist traps. This place nearly has everything, and this is why it is a 5 star hotel. Perfect.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northwesterner2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

This hotel is definately not a 5 star hotel, more a 3 star, the carpets in the room were stained, the skirting boards were filthy and the whole building needed a complete overhall. The hotel is very under utilised and like a maze, only a couple of the bars were open and to get in the nightclub cost 35euro's which we refused to pay. As for the Spa and hairdressers I don't think they were ever open! On our last day we didn't fly until 8pm therefore weren't getting picked up until 6 so tried to get a late check out at 5pm, they were going to charge us 70 euros which I thought was a joke for an extra 3 hours in the room, but I suppose 5 euros for 2 small bottles of water on day 1 should have had the alarm bells ringing that we were getting ripped off!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEN1Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Benalmadena
Best Benalmadena
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.7 mi away
Best Triton
Best Triton
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Torrequebrada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Torrequebrada Hotel

Property: THB Torrequebrada Hotel
Address: Avenida Sol s/n, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#13 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Torrequebrada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your best bet for Leisure and Business Ideally located on the beach-front of Benalmadena Costa, and with a sophisticated atmosphere, Hotel Torrequebrada is your best bet for both Leisure and Business. It offers a wide gastronomical variety of delicious food, peace and tranquility in its extensive gardens, Shows in the Sala Fortuna, fun and entertainment in the Casino, spacious, fully equipped conference rooms, activities and entertainment during the summer months and Wellness area for relaxation. All of this together with a relaxed atmosphere on the shore of the Mediterranean Sea and only 30 minutes from Marbella and Malaga, right in the heart of the Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your THB Torrequebrada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrequebrada Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Torrequebrada
THB Torrequebrada Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing