We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
THB Torrequebrada Hotel
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Having read many of the reviews here, we were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Yes, it's not the quality you'd expect from a 5* hotel in the UK, but it is certainly head and shoulders above many hotels you'd find on the Costa del Sol. It is clean, comfortable and set in lovely landscaped grounds, overlooking the sea. We found the service to be polite and efficient, especially the housekeeping staff, who uncomplainingly brought us an iron and ironing board every evening when requested!

The breakfast buffet was one of the most extensive I have seen, although at times the staff seemed unable to keep up with clearing the tables and serving tea and coffee. We didn't eat any other meals in the hotel, but it has several restaurants and bars and offers an excellent choice. We also watched one of the evening entertainment shows in the hotel's nightclub and were extremely impressed by the quality. There is also a casino on site which we visited several times. The hotel spa seemed expensive, and the fitness room was very basic, but the indoor and outdoor pools were both lovely and very clean. Guests are given pool towels each day at no extra charge, so there is no need to take your own beach towels with you. There is a private beach, but it is extremley rocky, so not recommended - but there is another very nice beach about 2 minutes' walk from the hotel. There were relatively few children in the hotel, and it didn't seem to have a huge amount of children's facilities. We were also pleasantly surprised to find it was mainly frequented by Spanish holiday makers, rather than British people - which is usually a good sign!

Several reviews complain about the location of the hotel as it is not in the centre of Benalmadena, but we found it to be ideal as it was away from some of the tackier bars and cafes. There are at least four very pleasant restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel (particularly 'La Cala' where we went for lunch on several occasions) and the Marina, with plentiful bars and restaurants, is 8 Euros in a taxi - which seems reasonable, considering guest car parking is 10 Euros a day in the hotel. There were always taxis waiting outside the hotel. There is also a bus stop 30 seconds walk away with buses every 20 minutes that go through Benalmadena and on to Torremolinos and Malaga. The fare to Malaga was 2.50 Euros, so you really can't complain about the location.

Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet, and I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break. It is by no means the best or the worst hotel I have stayed in, but we certainly had no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hannah_193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    465
    251
    102
    50
See reviews for
279
543
30
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

My partner and I wanted a 4 day break as i am 5 months pregnant, we was reccomended this hotel and ignored all of the reviews, however i wish i hadn't.
I booked a sea view king size bed, i was given a car park view with 2 singles pushed together, the next room i was given was smoking, car park view, double bed, no safe, the 3rd room i was given was still a car park view, when i complained i was told to go else where as they didnt really care, not happy and very distressing.
The pool was freezing cold and i couldnt go in it once, the food was terrible and not one member of staff wanted to serve you anything, not even drinks around the pool during the day, has to be one of the worst places i have ever stayed.
The only upside to the break was a lovely little beach bar next to the hotel, it is owned by a dutch women who will always make you feel welcome and the food was amazing, beig pregnant i am very fussy with food but it was plain and simple and georgous!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 30BPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulster
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

If you really want to go to this hotel limit your fare to bed and breakfast as other meals are too much of a hassle and the staff just don't want to know you and any food you may order will be of poor quality and with meat being half cooked there is a danger of food poisoning and with the evening meal starting at 8pm you will be there for two hours before you get the ice cream. Beware of the two menu's, one a la carte on your arrival and afterwards an inferior one with little choice. The pea soup in this 5star hotel is insulting. Beware of the taxis that wait outside the Hotel as they only carry four passengers and in the area it is well nigh impossible to get a people carrier for a family. For such a large hotel we found it nearly empty so all other bars etc were closed. One gate was the only exit to the sea front all others were padlocked. One pool was too deep over 2 metres, the childrens pool was 1.45 Metres and this is where adults reclined. There is no beach at this hotel. The next public beach is stoney and accessed from the main road bygoing down 90 steps. Remember, beware of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bybybutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Southerner
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Recently stayed at the hotel for two nights with a group of friends and was a bit worried about staying there as recent reports were not great, however I am pleased to say that we found the hotel staff very helpful and friendly. The hotel although quiet for this time of year ( we soon livened the place up!) was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast buffet very nice especially when accompanied with a glass of cava or two which was included! Location was great ....right on the beach and should you wish to explore further then plenty of taxis were waiting outside the front entrance.
Laura

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlsAway6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enfiels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2010

On arrival, the staff were uninformative and only provided information, when questioned. Their manner was inpolite and unfriendly some were even incapable of smiling (particularly during breakfast).
The Breakfast buffet lacked freshness and the five star standards were questionnable. As the hotel was so quiet we expected more from the staff as they were hardly rushed off of their feet, instead we felt like a burden to them.
I was also unimpressed with the barmans inability to make cocktails and was shocked at the lack of ingredients available behind the bar.
This does not set a good standard for the beginning of the season, however the resort is beautiful and I highly recommend visiting the marina.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyhigh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

The Torrequebrada was the first 5 Star Hotel in the area, but that was a long time ago.
Check-in within the large Lobby was quick and efficient. Our Executive suite was situated on the 5th Floor comprising of a Lobby with connecting doors to a large bedroom with double bed, large bathroom with separate WC / Bidet and large sitting room. We had a spectacular view of the Ocean from our large balcony which had a plastic table and 2 chairs.
On our 2nd night the high winds which howled along the balcony as well as other loud noises which could not be explained keep us awake all night. The Management confirmed the problems and offered us the choice of staying in our suite and the Hotel would try and remedy the strange noises or we could move to another suite on the 1st floor. We chose the 2nd option.
The 2nd suite was identical to the first. Unfortunately maintenance had to be called 3 times to fix the toilet.
The staff were very apologetic for all the problems that we had. Later we received a letter from the Duty-Manager offering us an evening meal including beverages for the problems caused.
Breakfast was good but a greater variety of restaurants for evening Meals should have been on offer. We arrived late one evening at 23:10 and found that the Cafe Royal restaurant closed at 23:00, the Chinese restaurant was completely closed (it was never open for our entire stay) and the only possibility that was open was in the Casino where our 16 year old daughter could not go. We tried room service but no hot food was available.
The best highlight was the Flamenco floor show.....fantastic lead dancer.
Again, we may just of had one of those trips where nothing really clicked.
The staff really did try their hardest but the Hotel needs refurbishing or just down grading to a 4 Star.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2010

After reading some very mixed reviews we were a little worried about what to expect at this hotel, however we need not have been. The hotel reception is very grand, and although the rooms are perhaps not so grand and could do with a bit of updating, they are still very nice and clean. When arriving at the hotel we were shown to our room which was nice and had a side view of the sea but mostly a view of the car park, we were a little dissapointed as we had requested a sea view, however we asked if any other rooms were available and we were immediatley upgraded, so if you're not happy they will try to get you something better if it's available. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the buffets in the morning and evening are fantastic...definitley worth getting up for breakfast! The pool is a good size and was usually quiet with a view of the sea. I would definitley recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0rinne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,213 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
1.1 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#18 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.6 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,019 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Torrequebrada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Torrequebrada Hotel

Property: THB Torrequebrada Hotel
Address: Avenida Sol s/n, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#13 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Torrequebrada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your best bet for Leisure and Business Ideally located on the beach-front of Benalmadena Costa, and with a sophisticated atmosphere, Hotel Torrequebrada is your best bet for both Leisure and Business. It offers a wide gastronomical variety of delicious food, peace and tranquility in its extensive gardens, Shows in the Sala Fortuna, fun and entertainment in the Casino, spacious, fully equipped conference rooms, activities and entertainment during the summer months and Wellness area for relaxation. All of this together with a relaxed atmosphere on the shore of the Mediterranean Sea and only 30 minutes from Marbella and Malaga, right in the heart of the Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your THB Torrequebrada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrequebrada Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Torrequebrada
THB Torrequebrada Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing