We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel is very nice and staff are also food was good but the place never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 18 February 2009

Just come back from this hotel and cant complain about the hotel the rooms are dated and beds not to comfy but the food was very good and the staff are excellent But the area has gone terrible everyday we met people who have been robbed, we were on the bus coming from fungrorolia when two folks jumped off as the bus stopped at the bus stop and a fight started with a lady in her 50s and her husband they were waiting at the stop and the lady had her purse in her hand the men grabbed it and she grabbed it back the poor man was knocked out the way they grabbed it again money flew out and she got 50euros stole, they were in shock. at the bus station everyday was at least 10 drunks it was a nightmare. We went to market and our friend with us had a bag on his side his mother looked and he was being robbed till she screamed out and the market trader at the back just said to us oh did they get anything he says it happens every 5 mins here the violence on the costa del sol is really really bad, Most of the shops and bars are shut up and say SE Vende and the prices well 3 coffees and a fanta £9 yes £9 in the hotel 2 gin and tonics and 2pints £19. We never had a drink in the hotel and outside you had to walk a long way for a bar open. one old couple went for a drink and a walk and were attacked outside the hotel and the lady ended up in hospital with a broken shoulder and arm. we go three times a year to the costa del sol and have done for years but belive me we will never go again. Please please beware of robbers and be warned the prices are way over the top.the daily paper is 3 euro and the sunday telegrah was £5.30 i kid you not. we were so fed up of the vilonce and the prices we had paid for 3weeks but we paid again for are flights and came home after 2. We are sat here stunned at how bad it has gone. Honest how a family will go on i cant think. as you have to have eyes in the back of your head and a dam lot of money.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ponfret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2008

please please keep away from this hotel filthy dogs and cats are allowed it stinks its not fit for humans to stay in you have been warned

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheesecake68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Where do i start
well we arrived at approx 11pm kitchen was very very small would not like to cook in it,when we tried to make a cup of tea
guess what no kettle and guess what there where no cups
So next morning i went down to reception and asked for 2 cups kettle and a toaster i was told i would have them in one hour
six hours still waiting spoke to reception agai and they said 1 hour in 2 hours 2 cups arrived we arrived home on 30 sept and still no kettle or toaster
The bar and resturant was only open on sat and sun luckely we ate out all of the time the bathroom was ok but the toilet seat was hanging off
would not recomend this place to anybody
go there at your own perill

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sf8752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

After reading some other reviews of the apartments and resort I was dreading the holiday but... I was pleasantly surprised with both!
Aloha Playa was fine. We were on the 5th floor (don't think I'd have liked the 13th!) The apartment was fine. 2 single beds in an alcove. Tiny but clean, seperate kitchen, modern clean bathroom and nice balcony - all that was needed.
Benalmadena was also very nice!
Aloha Playa is so close to the beach it's a crime not to use it. 2 Sun beds and parasol 8 euros,
the sea was too cold in April to go in!
It's lovely walk to the Marina along the prom ( about 30mins stroll)
Great resaurants on the prom near the windmills. Visit La Paloma Park it's lovely too.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Northwesteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2008

basic hotel clean room good beds sofa a litle worn basic room as in other revews but towels changed 3 times in week and also beds changed once and room cleaned kitchen could use a kettle and a toster more plates would also be helpfull theres a local supermarket near by for bits water and wine no half bord when we were there but early feb plenty of local pubs cafes for food even a mcdonalds down road for the kids chinese for 5.05 euros and cocos for a sing song open till 2am not to far to come back just a crawl up the road so book and go

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank babywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2008

We found the hotel reasonably comfortable, clean etc. For what we paid it was good. There were no blankets on the beds, so we asked for one each (single beds). As I was still cold, the next day I asked for 4 more blankets (2 each). The man on the desk said they would be there when we came back later, and true to his words, they were. Towels were changed twice in our 4 day stay, although we did ask for extra towels as they were dirty, but the man on the desk wasn't quite so keen to let us have them, he said we could have one, to which I replied that wasn't good enough, we wanted two. Again, 2 towels appeared.
We did not see a cockroach and cannot understand some of the comments re the state of the hotel. It was ideally located, opposite the beach and within walking distance of pubs/restaurants etc. As other people have said, if you want 5 star, then you have to pay 5 star money.

Stayed: December 2007
2  Thank Debbie6979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2007

OK so it wasn't a 5 star hotel, but then we didn't pay 5 star rates. Reading some of the reviews it seems some people had very high expectations for a very cheap hotel. We booked on holiday nights.com and paid £58 for 2 people for 3 nights in Nov.

The Playa Aloha is situated at the Fuengirola end of the resort, and is very close to lots of amenities. The marina is the other end of the resort, about a 30 - 40 min stroll at a slow pace.

The complex is a mixture of holiday lets and private apartments. Reception staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is definitely a little bit down in the mouth but is very clean. The studio we stayed in had 2 twin beds (we asked and there are no double beds at all and the twin beds are different heights so not easy to make a double). Bathroom was very clean and looked quite new. Kitchen was very small and I wouldn't recommend cooking but there are lots of reasonably priced restaurants nearby.

In November the communal areas and pool were deserted.

For a cheap, winter break this was an excellent choice. Breakfasts are available nearby at The Last Resort, Shakespeare's etc for around 4 euros each. For dinner and something more traditionally Spanish for dinner try the restaurants on the promenade in front of Playa Santa Ana - The Waterfront was very nice. Expect to pay around 50 euros for dinner for 2, 2 courses and wine. There are a lot of cheaper English places in the resort but do you go on holiday to have a roast dinner and apple crumble?!

So main points:
- Go self catering
-It's cheap and cheerful, if you want 5 star, pay for it
- Less than £10 per night each

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunflower1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
1.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,998 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,851 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel

Address: Avenida Antonio Machado | Ctra de Cadiz Km 221, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel Hotel Benalmadena
Sol Aloha Playa Aparthotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Aloha Playa Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing