We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
First Flatotel Internacional
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Well......where do I start!!

We have just returned from a week at The Flatotel Internacional in Benalmadena, we were half board. We arrived at the hotel on Friday 5th July at about 2pm thinking that we could get sorted and spend the afternoon enjoying the first day, after all, our paperwork stated the check in time was 2pm. We went to check-in to be told that the check-in time was 5pm! We eventually managed to get in by 3.30ish so not too bad in the end on that point.

Evening meal was advertised for 8.00pm so we decided to be ready for our meal around that time so we could enjoy the rest of the night exploring Benalmadena. We went down for our meal only to be told that the meal was from 8.30pm even though the board stated 8.00pm. After standing around arguing with the staff, it emerged that they had changed the time to 8.00pm but no one had told the chef!!

After sitting around for almost half hour until the restaurant opened, well I say restaurant in the loosest term of the word. We went in only to be presented with the poorest choice of food we have ever seen. One meat dish and one fish dish with a choice carrots, chips or rice! Needless to say we weren’t impressed. We didn’t expect a four star choice from the hotel but this was ridiculous. Breakfast wasn’t any better either and then after a couple of days the food warmer broke so we had a choice of either lukewarm or cold food with the waiters offering to reheat the food up in microwaves.... this was the norm for the rest of the week. Even after 5 days the food warmer still had not been repaired. On our last morning the breakfast was so cold the beans had a skin on top of them.

The Wi-Fi we had paid for also broke for 4 days so we had unused time left at the end of the holiday even though we had paid for it.

We wasn’t very happy with the pool times either.....yes people go on holiday to drink into the early hours of a morning so don’t get up very early but there are families staying there too and was quite shocked to see that we were not able to use the pool until 11am!!

Again, regarding family holidays at this hotel, it is not right that stag & hen groups are allowed at family hotels with groups getting drunks around the pool and also shouting and screaming down the corridors in the early mornings (weekends) were children are.

On a plus note....yes there is one.... the rooms were adequate but that is it, although, apart from a change of bedding & towels the apartment was not cleaned the full week. Yes, if we had been self catering I could understand but we were half board.

If you are thinking of going to the Flatotel on a half board basis my advice would be not to bother find somewhere else. It may be fine for self-catering but all I can go on is the experience that we had there.

If you are planning on staying self catering, be warned about the choice of food in the ‘restaurant’ because if you do plan to eat in there it will cost you around 15.00 € each!!

So, would I recommend this hotel?.....no I wouldn’t.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bruno_2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlatotelCostaDelSol, Community Manager en First Flatotel International at First Flatotel Internacional, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you for choosing the Flatotel for your vacation. We regret the misunderstanding with the dinner and wifi service not working properly in those days. As for the food, our buffet offers a wide variety of hot and cold dishes to suit the taste of most of our customers. We try to ensure a peaceful holiday to our customers, but sometimes it is difficult because it depends on the behavior of other guests. A greeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
There are newer reviews for First Flatotel Internacional
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and we like very much our apartment. Two bedrooms and huge living room, 2 lovely balcony with sea view, 2 bathroom (but we use only 1). A very quiet room and aircon is working good.
Staff both in hotel and in the bar are so helpful.
We choose Flatotel because we dont like a place close to all bars and restaurant.

Negative: We arrive at 12 noon and the receptionist promise us to give a information if our room is ready or not before 17:00, NOT!
When we ask around 14:30 he just TOLD us incheckning time is 17:00! Yes, all guest on that time in the lobby could hear that information, thank you!!!

Room Tip: 1113 lovely apartment, good for 2 families
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sowee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We knew of Flathotel from previous holidays in Benalmadena but this was our first stay here. We chose it because it is out of town (our choice) but the bus stops outside.We booked a 1 bedroom apartment. I had emailed the hotel earlier, to request information such as did fridge have freezer compartment (yes), was there an iron (yes) was there a hairdryer (e20 deposit)and to request an apartment at the front on a higher floor. They responded very quickly & informatively. When we arrived we found that to meet our request we had in fact been allocated a 2 bedroom apt (albeit the 2nd was locked). The apartment was really great overall. A huge lounge & bedroom with big bathroom & dressing area just off. We had 2 balconies overlooking the sea( as it was really a 2 bed appt.) so we even had 2 balconies. There was so much space & storage in all areas except the kitchen which is a little small/low on utensils but perfectly workable, with full cooker, combi micro/grill fridge/freezer coffee maker & washing machine. We had a couple of minor problems (these happen) but both were sorted very quickly. The rooms are cleaned & linen/towels changed frequently. The staff were always polite and helpful. Outside is a lovely pool, mini golf (e3) & children's play area.
Minuses - No major ones. NO kettle, but I took mine (you can hire). Beware, you will be asked to pay a e60 deposit for the Room key (a 1st for us). There is a charge for internet use, which is quite high & we just used free wi-fi in restaurants etc when we went out.
Overall great value and service and we will go back

Room Tip: The Flatotel is on the corner of the main coast road. On advice, We asked for an apartment at the fr...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank treacleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlatotelCostaDelSol, Community Manager at First Flatotel Internacional, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear costumer,
Thank you for choosing the Flatotel for your vacation and for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We like to know you enjoyed our apartments, cleaning and good treatment of our staff. We feel your dissatisfaction with the wifi but it is a problem of the connection in this zone. Hope to see you around here again soon.
A greeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We went on a golf trip to the area and stayed here. The apartments were very spacious with 2 bathrooms in the 2 bedroomed apartments. They were kept clean and were well equipped if you wanted to self cater. Beds comfortable. 28 men on the trip and not a word of complaint from anyone. Handily placed for the very cheap public transport. Staff very helpful and breakfast not too bad or expensive.
Ideal for this sort of trip or for families on a budget.

Room Tip: At the time of year we were there (March) the rooms on the front got the morning sun. Some on the ba...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlatotelCostaDelSol, Community Manager at First Flatotel Internacional, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear customer,
Thanks for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure for us to know that your group thoroughly enjoyed of your stay at the Flatotel. Hope to see you around here again when visiting the Costa del Sol. You can follow our news through our Facebook.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed here because we've stayed before and knew what to expect-we only stay for a night while travelling to other places. I read in another review that a gentleman had been stuck outside and that reception had been closed-I was worried about this so I emailed ahead. I received a very prompt email reassuring me reception would be open. When we arrived very late-we had no trouble parking and the receptionist was friendly and effiecient-check-in-very quick.

The apartments are huge and comfortable. The beds are comfortable. I would like to stay for longer. The location is convenient-and there is a well used bus stop outside. We didnt have breakfast but I do know that they serve it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mcrfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlatotelCostaDelSol, Community Manager at First Flatotel Internacional, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear customer,
Thank you for choosing Flahotel. We like to know that you have come several times and always enjoy staying at our hotel and our staff professional treatment. Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor. We hope you visit us for more days next time.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We had read the reviews on this site before booking this hotel and so knew roughly what to expect on our arrival.
Hotel was quiet, as was the resort, given our stay was January but our one bedroomed apartment had everything you could need for a self catering week away. Very large, comfy rooms which were cleaned every other day.
An hours stroll from the port but a bus gets you there in ten minutes and they run very regularly. We were happy with our hotel choice, with our very quiet, comfy room and balcony, compared to what would have been the alternative, hotel rooms on the busy main road.
Friendly hotel staff who were all very helpful.
All in all a great value for money hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Charliesaunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlatotelCostaDelSol, Community Manager at First Flatotel Internacional, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear customer,

We appreciate your review about First Flatotel International. We are glad that everything has been within your expectations. We hope to see you soon at our facilities.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Me and two friends stayed here in July and we were not expecting much as we spent the minimum amount of money possible. But when we arrived the staff wrre very helpful and let us leave our luggage locked away as we could not check in till later. The member or staff spoke amazing english and gave us all the directions to get to places. Supermarket is a 10 minute walk and regular markets not far away. The hotel was clean, nice big room and never had to fight for a pool chair.

The location isnt brilliant, there is no shops of restaurants nearby that are very nice but the bus stop is right outside and costs pitance to get to the centre.

We had a brilliant time and I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnson823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlatotelCostaDelSol, Community Manager at First Flatotel Internacional, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear customer,

Thanks for trusting Fisrt Flatotel International for your holiday. As you comment our staff is highly qualified and provides our guests with personalized service and quality. Our hotel is in a quiet area of Benalmadena Costa, perfect to spend some time relaxing, but with the ability to reach in few minutes by bus downtown entertainment district. We hope to see you soon with us.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,924 reviews
0.7 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,264 reviews
1.7 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.7 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#14 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,315 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Flatotel Internacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Flatotel Internacional

Address: Calle Ronda del Golf Oeste 75 | Urbanizacion Torrequebrada, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Benalmadena
Price Range: £30 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Flatotel Internacional 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your First Flatotel Internacional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flatotel Internacional Hotel Benalmadena
Flatotel International
Flatotel Benalmadena
First Flatotel Internacional Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing