We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again. Unfriendly staff and they couldnt understand english very well.”
Review of Playabonita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Playabonita Hotel
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We booked our summer holiday half board about 8 months before and was looking forward to it. We new it wasnt in the center of Benelmadena but that wasnt a problem has it was advertised in a very well known brochure as 500 metres from local bars and shops. There was 1 bar and resteraunt, very spanish and definatley not somewhere you can walk to and enjoy every night. The hotel is basicly in the middle of no where, just local residensys, There is really no where to walk to and it is on a duel carrageway. The bus stop was outside but you were lucky if you could get on as they usually wizzed passed as they were too full and if you did manage it you would be squashed up and hanging on for dear life. Certainly not suitable for a family with children to travel on. You miss the buss then it is 10 euro in a taxi. This makes an expensive holiday when you think you can walk to local bars etc. We never came across any english guests, much to the dissappointment of my 9 year old step son who usually makes a friend on holiday. The first day my son wanted a diet coke. The waiter obviously dident understand, then we thought he did. Great.! No he didnt, he came back with some sort of a cocktail with cream on top. I didnt want ham on a cheese toastie one lunch time, couldnt make them understand so got a taxi and went in to town. The information in the room was all in spanish too. I love dogs personally but i have never been to any hotel that had lots of doggy guests so if any one going doesnt like dogs or os illergic then it is not the place for you. The entertainmet was terrible. Not an english word spoken. The hotel itself is very nice. Nice views clean etc but the staff and food let it down. It was hard work asking for anything other than coffee or a beer.I was glad to come home. NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fiona c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

Pluses
- very good sea view from the room
Minuses
- insects: silverfishes in the first room, ants in the second room (after room change),
- most of the service staff can't speak English,
- big queues inside the hotel restaurant,
- tasteless food,
- insufficient quantity of lifts.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m10rost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I was rather worried going to this hotel after reading several bad reviews. I travelled with my husband and 12 year old son. This is not a hotel for children. There is absolutely nothing for them to do. You are out in the middle of nowhere with nothing going on around you other than the local Quick Save shop selling English products!! We were certainly not looking for a place with lots of night-life, but a nice evening walk would have been good! The hotel is on a very busy main road. If you want to go anywhere, you have to use the bus. I have to say, this was extremely easy as the bus stop is right outside the hotel and buses run every 20mins or so in either direction. You can easily get into Benalmadena on the bus (you certainly can't walk it!) then go on to the other towns which have a lot going on. Once we got our heads around having to use the bus a lot, it was actually a good holiday. Its just a shame the evenings were rather boring. The entertainment is non-existent for English tourists and seems only to be for the locals. You won't see many English people there.
The food is ok with lots of choice and there's lots of it! The view from the restaurant is fantastic. Go early to get a good seat! Every room has a sea view which is incredible.
Overall, looking back, we had a nice holiday, the weather was great, Benalmadena and surrounding towns were really nice (especially Marbella) and the hotel was ok. The only thing that I could really complain about was the incredibly rude reception staff. They seem to have a problem with English people. They basically ignore you!
Also, be aware that the pool is not next to the hotel. You have to leave the hotel grounds and walk along the beach to a gated area. The pool area is actually really nice and has a snack bar and toilets. Just make sure you don't forget anything as it's a long walk back to your room!
Please don't be put off by this. It really is an ok hotel, but rather quiet. Just be prepared to use alot of public transport, which isn't so bad really. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southern03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Location of the hotel's best asset. Both the location on a cliff right on the seashore, with great views over the two private coves and as a starting point in any of the attractions of the Costa del Sol (bus stop in front of the hotel and train station five minute walk)

Room Tip: restaurant is on the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EdiIonescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2011

DearGuests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Receive a warm greeting from the entire team of Playabonita Hotel.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We choose this hotel from a list provided by Senior Travel, we were staying for 2weeks and it seemed to be the best on offer, it was all that,
We were warmly greeted by friendly staff including the manager.
The hotel is very clean throughout. Rooms cleaned every day, the views from the balcony are stunning.
The restaurant is well located, and the food is well cooked if a little basic, the cooks especially Beeky were always helpful and cheerful and helped me with my very basic Spanish. The entertainment at nite was limited, this was no fault of the entertainers, special mention to Jessica who did her best and was always energetic and cheerful, We will be back.
Noel and Maria Ireland

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank laointesaoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Receive a warm greeting from the entire team of Playabonita Hotel.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I wrote a review here back in July 2006, following our 2nd visit to the Hotel promising to return. Well, we have been back every year since and won't consider anywhere else. This is an amazing hotel, full of warmth. We see the same staff each year so they clearly enjoy working there and many staff greet us with hugs on arrival as we have gotton to know them. We enjoy the peace and quiet the location of the hotel offers. We are not interested in loud music, drinking to excess or being a part of the audience when others are. You wont get alot of British people at the hotel. There will be French, Belgian, Germans and of course Spanish. Their own people love this hotel for holidays. Doesn't that speak volumes? The local bus service is right outside the door operating every 30mins to get us to Benalmadena Costa, Torremolinos or Fuengerola and if we ever wanted to investigate further afield like Malaga, the train is a short walk away. Mijas is a beautiful village. It takes two buses but its worth the trip. There is a brilliant wee zoo in Fuengerola for kids, a huge park and harbour area in Benalmadena itself along with other attractions if it takes your fancy. We prefer to go to Gibralter, whiz around the shops picking up what we need in our regular haunts and then sitting outside with a light lunch in the beautiful new harbour area. The hotel itself is clean, peaceful. Rooms are cleaned every day. An abundance of fresh food is offered, hot and cold but it is tailored for Spanish, after all it is a Spanish hotel. I personnally do not spend all that money to eat egg and chips. I can be a fussy eater, but I have never gone hungry and I despair of the people who critisize. Snr Estevez is friendly and approachable as are all his staff. The pool area can be busy, but there is a life guard there to ensure safety. It is accessed by your hotel key to ensure only patrons get in. The beach is private for the most part although you will find locals there at weekends. They set out early as they like to spend the day there as families. All inclusive includes some known spirits such as Ballentynes, Smirnoff & Cointreau. We are back there in August, our 9th visit and we cant wait.

Room Tip: Ask for a room floor 8 or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank madrid11Linlithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Receive a warm greeting from the entire team of Playabonita Hotel.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

The hotel is right on the beach, all rooms have fabulous sea views. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The food is plentiful with excellent freshly cooked choices. The first room we were allocated was a little small for our family of 4 so after mentioning this at reception we were immediately offered another on the 11th floor which was great.
The indoor pool, although small, was a good alternative for our 4 year old to the outdoor one which was cold due to time of year.
There are a couple of small supermarkets 5 min walk from hotel and a couple of small bars. This may be a down side to some but just right for us - not liking to be on top of the main strip of loud English bars etc. Plus we had the all inclusive option which was fabulous - crisps, ice cream, great selection of drinks etc. Our daughter aged 7 has Coeliac disease (intollerance to Gluten) and the restuarant staff catered for her superbly, a freshly cooked dish of her choice at every mealtime. All in all a great holiday and we are looking to return next year.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G0lly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2011

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Best Regards!

Carlos Estévez
Gerente Playabonita Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,906 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,382 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#12 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,370 reviews
2.5 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#19 of 45 in Benalmadena
3,052 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playabonita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playabonita Hotel

Address: Crta. N-340 Km. 217 - Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29639, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#14 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £45 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playabonita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playabonita Hotel enjoys a beachfront location, next to the pedestrianised seafront and 600 metres from Benalmadena train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Playabonita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playabonita Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Hotel Playabonita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing