We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would not recommend”
Review of Playabonita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Playabonita Hotel
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Yorkpocklington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“would not recommend”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

1. pool not open until 10a.m. and 300yards from hotel 2. advertised as on beach which is not sand as such,and very steep into sea but main gripe not owned by hotel and costs 4.50euros for bed and parasol.3. Food passable and dinner in evening freshly cooked but beware of the spanish invasion from 9pm onwards. 4. Entertainment non existent for english and basically the hotel is geared to the spanish. we obviously went at the wrong time with school holidays here and in spain maybe it would be better out od season but give it a miss if you can!

Room Tip: had room 408 very clean, 2 double beds and bathroom kept clean but not very big
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank duchess297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    472
    254
    69
    61
See reviews for
728
235
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

hotel not bad.they do not cater for english people. hotel were full of spanish with their dogs that was messing on beach and inside the hotel.entertainment was rubbish did not speak english.pool was small but nice.food was rubbish served cold and no taste.desserts i would not feed to my dog. rooms small but nice with good air con and a good sea view.would not reccommend to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesley0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We booked our summer holiday half board about 8 months before and was looking forward to it. We new it wasnt in the center of Benelmadena but that wasnt a problem has it was advertised in a very well known brochure as 500 metres from local bars and shops. There was 1 bar and resteraunt, very spanish and definatley not somewhere you can walk to and enjoy every night. The hotel is basicly in the middle of no where, just local residensys, There is really no where to walk to and it is on a duel carrageway. The bus stop was outside but you were lucky if you could get on as they usually wizzed passed as they were too full and if you did manage it you would be squashed up and hanging on for dear life. Certainly not suitable for a family with children to travel on. You miss the buss then it is 10 euro in a taxi. This makes an expensive holiday when you think you can walk to local bars etc. We never came across any english guests, much to the dissappointment of my 9 year old step son who usually makes a friend on holiday. The first day my son wanted a diet coke. The waiter obviously dident understand, then we thought he did. Great.! No he didnt, he came back with some sort of a cocktail with cream on top. I didnt want ham on a cheese toastie one lunch time, couldnt make them understand so got a taxi and went in to town. The information in the room was all in spanish too. I love dogs personally but i have never been to any hotel that had lots of doggy guests so if any one going doesnt like dogs or os illergic then it is not the place for you. The entertainmet was terrible. Not an english word spoken. The hotel itself is very nice. Nice views clean etc but the staff and food let it down. It was hard work asking for anything other than coffee or a beer.I was glad to come home. NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fiona c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Pluses
- very good sea view from the room
Minuses
- insects: silverfishes in the first room, ants in the second room (after room change),
- most of the service staff can't speak English,
- big queues inside the hotel restaurant,
- tasteless food,
- insufficient quantity of lifts.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m10rost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I was rather worried going to this hotel after reading several bad reviews. I travelled with my husband and 12 year old son. This is not a hotel for children. There is absolutely nothing for them to do. You are out in the middle of nowhere with nothing going on around you other than the local Quick Save shop selling English products!! We were certainly not looking for a place with lots of night-life, but a nice evening walk would have been good! The hotel is on a very busy main road. If you want to go anywhere, you have to use the bus. I have to say, this was extremely easy as the bus stop is right outside the hotel and buses run every 20mins or so in either direction. You can easily get into Benalmadena on the bus (you certainly can't walk it!) then go on to the other towns which have a lot going on. Once we got our heads around having to use the bus a lot, it was actually a good holiday. Its just a shame the evenings were rather boring. The entertainment is non-existent for English tourists and seems only to be for the locals. You won't see many English people there.
The food is ok with lots of choice and there's lots of it! The view from the restaurant is fantastic. Go early to get a good seat! Every room has a sea view which is incredible.
Overall, looking back, we had a nice holiday, the weather was great, Benalmadena and surrounding towns were really nice (especially Marbella) and the hotel was ok. The only thing that I could really complain about was the incredibly rude reception staff. They seem to have a problem with English people. They basically ignore you!
Also, be aware that the pool is not next to the hotel. You have to leave the hotel grounds and walk along the beach to a gated area. The pool area is actually really nice and has a snack bar and toilets. Just make sure you don't forget anything as it's a long walk back to your room!
Please don't be put off by this. It really is an ok hotel, but rather quiet. Just be prepared to use alot of public transport, which isn't so bad really. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southern03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Location of the hotel's best asset. Both the location on a cliff right on the seashore, with great views over the two private coves and as a starting point in any of the attractions of the Costa del Sol (bus stop in front of the hotel and train station five minute walk)

Room Tip: restaurant is on the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EdiIonescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2011
DearGuests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Receive a warm greeting from the entire team of Playabonita Hotel.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
republic of cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We choose this hotel from a list provided by Senior Travel, we were staying for 2weeks and it seemed to be the best on offer, it was all that,
We were warmly greeted by friendly staff including the manager.
The hotel is very clean throughout. Rooms cleaned every day, the views from the balcony are stunning.
The restaurant is well located, and the food is well cooked if a little basic, the cooks especially Beeky were always helpful and cheerful and helped me with my very basic Spanish. The entertainment at nite was limited, this was no fault of the entertainers, special mention to Jessica who did her best and was always energetic and cheerful, We will be back.
Noel and Maria Ireland

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank laointesaoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2011
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Receive a warm greeting from the entire team of Playabonita Hotel.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,746 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
2.6 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playabonita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playabonita Hotel

Property: Playabonita Hotel
Address: Crta. N-340 Km. 217 - Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29639, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#14 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Playabonita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playabonita Hotel enjoys a beachfront location, next to the pedestrianised seafront and 600 metres from Benalmadena train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Playabonita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playabonita Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Hotel Playabonita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing