We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Hotel"”
Review of Playabonita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playabonita Hotel
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The staff are very friendly and very helpful,every room has a sea view,you have two private beaches,the food was lovely,there was happy hour 6-7, the staff was ver helpful with feeling my baby's bottle up as and when needed,the rooms where very clean as was the bed sheets and the maid came in every day to clean and make our beds,the kids club was super, the pool was great,and everything was very private ie the gates to get out to the beach was for residents only,I can not say a bad word about this hotel,it should be a 5 star. Very happy and will be going back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure for us to know that your stay in our hotel as pleasant as you indicate. Your comment makes us feel proud of the work done on a daily basis, with the only aim of satisfying the needs of our guest.
Thank you and hope to see you again in our hotel

Yours sincerely

Manuel J. Tomé
Playabonita Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 1,280 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived at this awful hotel and the staff were very rude and unhelpful. We were given our door entry card and told the room number, no details were given about the hotel amenities at all. When arriving at the room the fridge was not working and smelt of neat bleach, the door mechanism to the balcony was broken and there was an awful whistling noise in the room. We phoned reception and asked for a member of staff to come to the room to show them all the problems with the room but they refused and told us to go back to reception. On arrival back at reception the receptionist did not understand about the problems with our room, she soon understood when I used the word RUBBISH !!!! We were then moved to another room which was opposite the lift and all you hear day and night was the lift bell. The other guests staying at the hotel have no respect at night as they all stand in the corridors shouting and laughing until the early hours. This hotel is miles away from everything therefor you have to get a bus or taxi to get anywhere. The food was not really up to much either so thanks god we were only there on a B&B basis. We will never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackssouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments, although I'm not entirely agree with them, sure to help us improve the work of each day.

Manuel J. Tomé
Playabonita Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for ten days and we are returning on June 2nd. The rooms were lovely with stunning views over the sea and the balconies were very private. The food was fresh and different everyday. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bus stop shop to Fuengirola and Belamadena were right outside the hotel, with the train station just a bit further up the hill with daily services to Rhonda.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
9  Thank ladyfilmbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure to know that your stay at our hotel was so nice hows he says You.
Your comment makes us feel proud of the work day, for the sole purpose of meeting the needs of our guests.
In waiting to greet her personally, we send warm greetings.

Manuel J. Tomé
Playabonita Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here 10 May for 1 week H/B. We have no complaints at all!!!Check in was slow but due to only 1 staff member. We got a lovely room 1115 on the top floor and had great sea-views. Free
fridge in the room. Large lovely bathroom+ plenty of soft towels each day. Great selection of food at both breakfast + evening meal. Cava on each morning + fresh eggs cooked as you wanted by the chef. For evening meal we had salmon turkey chicken + lots of fish so a great choice each meal time. Hotel is a bit out of town but the bus is at the door + the train just over the road but up a hill.Great day trip to Gibraltar for 12€ by Coasta Africia run by David + Jackie
We will return!!!!

Room Tip: Top floors are best but all rooms have a free sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank youngmanpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure to know that your stay at our hotel was so nice how you said we
Your comment makes us proud of our work and more when a guest tells us - We will return!!
While waiting to welcome you personally, we send warm greetings.

Yours sincerely

Manuel J. Tomé
Playabonita Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was our third time staying in Playabonita, It's an excellent hotel, The food is great plenty of choice, The staff are very helpful and polite.
There is a bus stop outside the hotel going up and down the coast and the railway station is only 1/4 mile away go's directly to the airport. All the rooms look over the beach and sea.
A big thank you to waiter Cosme he is very good.
A nice little bar down the road Lucciana 2 great value.

Room Tip: Buy a bus pass from the Tobacconist with the brown signs yellow writing all trips on bus and rail 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Steadvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much, is a pleasure for Hotel Guests receive a third time, but it strengthens us in our daily work and tells us that we are on track.
While waiting to welcome you personally, we send warm greetings.

Yours sincerely,

Manuel J. Tomé
Playabonita Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Please do not go to the Playabonita Hotel in Benalmendena - it is too far out of the main holiday areas, and too far gone as far as a legitimate four star hotel quality is concerned!

Main Points of Dissatisfaction:

1. Too far out: The Playabonita Hotel is out in the 'sticks', almost midway between Fuengirola and Benalmedena. Any 'holiday life, or shop, etc. are therefore a bus-ride away, which only costs 1.55 euros per person, but soon mounts up at the end of a week or longer holiday. The bus service is not too prompt either, so too much time is spent in waiting at bus stops to get to a holiday environment.

2. Too far gone: The Playabonita may have been a nice four star hotel at an earlier point in its existence - but it has fallen badly from any semblance of four star quality or service and could be classed as three star or less today.

3. Unusable Gym: There is what used to be a 'gym' at this hotel, way down in the bowels of the Hotel, and to which one must first obtain a key; but 80% of the gym equipment is broken and unusable. Thus, while a 'gym' looks good in a brochure, there actually is no credible gym at the Playabonita Hotel.

4. The Playabonita Hotel shows pictures in brochuers of a beautiful indoor pool setting - but the reality is that this faciltiy is more of a puddle than a pool. The 'Adults Only' puddle was filled full when a Spanish father took his two small children into it while we were there. Getting into such a 'puddle' would, in my honest opinion, be akin to getting into someone else's bath tub, AFTER a family had aready bathed in it! Gross and grossly misleading.

5. My wife, sixteen and a half year old daughter and I got a 'quiet room', room 1147, on the top floor during our ten day stay at this hotel. However, we pitied any guest that got a room beside the four lifts - a bell rang incessantly every time someone got into the lift and got out of it again, on every floor! And the lift doors banged shut each time. Do NOT get a room at the lifts!

6. The rooms were cleaned and tidied every day, and the cleaning staff friendly. But the TV did not work properly, and there was only one fuzzy News Channel in English that we could get on. The 'fridge' door was attached to a cupboard-like door, and had to be jammed shut with a piece of cardboard during our stay there. The air/con worked properly, and there was a fan.

7. Swimming Pool: The Hotel swimming-pool seems like a fifteen minute camel trek to get to, situated as it is outside the hotel and along the beach. The sun-beds are in need of refurbishment, and the water on some occassions was not too clean, greasy sludge at one end of the pool.

8. Entertainment: We were certainly NOT entertained while at the Playabonita Hotel - there is only so many 'parrot shows' and Spanish Dancers one can take! Rubbish content and lack of any credible 'entertainment' value. But it does look good on paper! sigh...

I couldn't wait to get back home from the Playabonita Hotel holiday, and therefore would not recommend this venue to any experienced holiday maker or Travel Agent.

Father & Husband

Room Tip: Top two floors (eleven and ten) and far away from the lifts. The Reception is on the eighth floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fatherandhusband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We thank you for your comments and are sorry that you were disappointed with some elements of you stay. We have taken note and will strive to improve.

Yours sincerely
Manuel J. Tomé
Playabonita Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here from the 19th April for a week. The hotel has a beautiful beach in front of the hotel and all rooms have a great view of this. The rooms are cleaned everyday and fresh towels are left if needed. We had a problem with Ants in our room but we reported this to receiption and they got the cleaner to sort this out. The staff are really helpfull and friendly. The hotel is about a good hour walk in to the town and another 20 mins into the marina, there is nothing to do close to the hotel so we spent a fortune of taxis 10 euros in and 10 euros back. There was a bus service but cant say what it was like as we didnt use it. The food at the hotel wasnt great so ate out most nights. Id say this hotel is more for poeple with kids.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ramma1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate the confidence placed in our hotel and the time dedicated to write your comments. We will continue working on the same line to the satisfaction of our guests. Thank you and hope to see you again in our hotel.

Yours sincerely
Manuel J. Tomé
Playabonita Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,861 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,958 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#12 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.2 mi away
THB Torrequebrada Hotel
THB Torrequebrada Hotel
#16 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,262 reviews
2.5 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playabonita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playabonita Hotel

Address: Crta. N-340 Km. 217 - Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29639, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#14 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £56 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playabonita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playabonita Hotel enjoys a beachfront location, next to the pedestrianised seafront and 600 metres from Benalmadena train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Playabonita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playabonita Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Hotel Playabonita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing