We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Playabonita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Playabonita Hotel
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing.....”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at the end of July with husband and grandson aged 7. Usually holiday 4* in Greece but thought we would return to Spain this year, what a disappointment!
The hotel, although clean inside, and the rooms were very clean, was very run down,shabby and basically dirty outside. No outside space really at all-some torn and delapitated crazy golf,,and an outside cattleshed with basic tables and chairs for evening entertainment ( if thats what you can call it - very poor and in Spanish - no attempt made for English speaking guests at all) .
The outdoor pool area - set aside from the hotel opened at between 09.00am and 09.30am despite saying on the gate 10.00 - the battle on a morning was not for sunbeds, but umbrella,s, which all disappeared incredibally quickly. The pool area was very small and very dirty, it was never washed down all week as the same stains remained - one morning sick of cigarette butts around the sunbeds, i took the brush myself and started sweeping up as i couldn,t stand it any longer, much to the surprise of the male cleaner who brought the brushpan over to collect the pile i had swept!
I booked this hotel for my grandson who usually enjoys the kids club on holiday - waste of time - no one spoke English - no one took the time to try and include him in miniclub, or in any activities - basically if you,re not Spanish forget it!
The dining room was nice and the food was ok, no better or worse than we usually get on holiday.
The friendliness of the staff didn,t bother me,they were neither friendly or unfriendly, the receptionist was basically disinterested, just doing her job then moving on to the next client, English was poor but not a problem.
The beach was on the doorstep and the views from the room really nice, but it got very busy with Spanish families and half their house contents that used to descend, especially at the weekend.
All in all, i would never return to this hotel, in my opinion a very basic 3* hotel!.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yorkshire060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.
We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Manuel J. Tomé
Playabonita Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    466
    249
    69
    60
See reviews for
723
228
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

All inclusive - nice friendly and helpful staff - good food and good location slap bang on the beach. Great water slides...our daughter spent hours in the pool. Also two shallow beach bays make for warm swimming in the sea and by design gives calm or surf to choose from. Evening entertainment could have been more English, and seats to avoid smokers could be better arranged, but overall very restful. Beach beds an extra £8 per day but you can book the same one for a week so no need to put out towels...

Room Tip: Ground floor entrance has reception on the 8th floor, as hotel is built on a gradient sloping down t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Henry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Guests,
We greatly appreciate your comments, and thanks to them we can know the perception of our product and most importantly Quality and Friendliness of service.
We remain at your entire disposal and hope to return to visit at any other time, meanwhile we will continue working on getting that all our guests enjoy their passage through this Hotel
We note your comment about the animation and smokers.

Manuel J. Tomé
Playabonita Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire uk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have recently stayed at this hotel and found some good and some bad points. Overall the hotel is quite pleasant and comfortable. The communal areas and rooms are cleaned very well indeed.

The bar and cleaning staff are very polite and helpful. Not one of the staff here understand that when you say coffee with cold milk you do not want hot milk. I even ordered cortarda grande con frio leche they still gave me hot milk.
B
each and pool right in front of the hotel, excellent access.

Noise – no matter which room you have you cannot escape the noise from the entertainment and bar. I was on the 10th floor and it even kept me up. There are only 11 floors, and the bar/entertainment is on the ground floor

Restaurant – there was plenty of choices each day, anyone can find something they like no matter how fussy they are. The restaurant staff were all very helpful and nice to talk to. The Chef was very responsive to any request put before her. Well done to this area.

Television – the brochure advertised full satellite television. Well it is if you are not English (5 German, 5 Spanish, 5 French channels) and only 1 English Channel which was BBC world news just the same thing repeated every 15 minutes. Now I cannot sleep without a television on so you can imagine how tired I am now. I did speak to reception and the lady just shrugged and said go back to your normal hotel.

Gymnasium – around 12 machines with only 3 in working order. Not very good at all. There was rubbish on the floor when I arrived and the same rubbish there 10 days later when I left. They do not clean the gym.

My air conditioning broke down on my first day and that was fixed within hours of me reporting it.

Electricity to my room went altogether on day 2. The maintenance man told me it was my iron that caused it but considering I had not yet used it and it was not plugged in I ignored him.
The bar and entertainment is very good and well run, definitely enjoyable for those with children or do not wish to go out.

Now I have said before that the rating of a hotel is not the number of services they provide but the quality of each service. Personally I would give this a 2 to 3 star rating but definitely not 4 star. I will never go there again.

Although the worst part of my stay is the lack of empathy provided by the reception staff, I must say that it is not all of them just a few of them.

Room Tip: Take earlugs reallt good ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.
We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Manuel J. Tomé
Playabonita Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Cheshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just returned from a girlie long weekend at Playabonita. Lovely hotel, beautiful cliff top spot right on the sea...a very clean, well organised hotel, with friendly staff. Food was great and service in restaurant super. Room was very nice, not a lot of room, but it had massive beds and a great bathroom. Lots of storage space, air con and a fan, a fridge and a lovely sea view from the balcony.

If I had to be picky... Our room (309) was right over the beach bar where the evening entertainment is held. It was very noisy on the balcony until late...we didn't mind for 2 nights, but think it might have got a bit much for a longer stay. All inclusive didn't include beach towel..10 euro deposit (fair enough) but a euro each day to change towel ...not a lot, but why? The pool was overcrowded with sun beds and families with small children, so we chose to go to the beach. Fabulous sun loungers with THE most comfy mattresses, but a charge of €4.50 per day (concession of €1 Mon-Fri) was again fine for three days, but would have added up over a longer stay. Beware also of the locals, who came and plonked what looked like the entire contents of their conservatory under a gazebo right in front of our €4.50 a day sun bed!! We counted 7 on our little beach yesterday!

Overall, we loved it and I would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up and at either end of the hotel rather than in the middle (rooms ending in 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jcm9763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Guests,
First of all thank you for your review and that through this we have the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during their vacation, understanding the perception towards getting a product to suit you.
We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, Thanks a lot

Manuel J. Tomé
Playabonita Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay with a family of four (costing £2,500 for all inclusive)..
We have been to many resorts in Spain & are telling 'our experience'.
Africa on Reception was very nice, welcoming! As were a few restaurant staff/cleaners & beach club staff.
In our opinion the hotel is nice & the views were stunning. But I wouldn't class it as a 4*..

(1)The food was variable but at times the restaurant was very busy, with you finding yourself apologising for other people bumping into you! They could do with a children's section of food.
(2) Free Wi-Fi (1 hour a day!)
(3) Lifts are ridiculously slow & only hold 6 people.
(4) Virtually no English speaking people, so felt we might as well have been at a private villa, because we'd no conversation with anyone else.
(5) The entertainment was totally geared for the Spanish, wasn't very professional..Couldn't understand.
(6) The All Inclusive wasn't explained to us at all. We ordered a bottle of wine on our 1st night & were given a bill. They forgot to say 'some' wines were on the all inclusive, which WE discovered on day 5!
(7) They don't promote on all inclusive, the cocktail of the day.
(8) You have to bus or taxi it as your out of the resort.. (The bus costs €1.55) You think you'd want to walk into Benalmadena, but in the intense heat it's too far..
(9) Communication barriers/difficulty understanding English.
(10) 18€ (unless you've a hotel voucher for 1€ off each) for a padded beach chair (so 14€ a day)..
To sum up our family holiday we always ask.. Would I go back?..... we feel we wouldn't go back but do experience it for yourselves..

Room Tip: Reception on a Level 8 Restaurant on level 7 To get to pool/beach, get the lift to level 1 & o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Guests,
It is a pleasure to know that your stay at our new hotel was as nice as he says. Your comment makes us proud of the work done daily, with the sole aim of satisfying the needs of our guests.
We remain at your entire disposal and hope to return to visit at any other time.

Manuel J. Tomé
Playabonita Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Came back to this hotel in June with my daughter Nicky for the second time and knew it would not disappoint! We upgraded to a Junior Suite which was FABULOUS home from home! We had a fantastic time! The friendliness of the staff, cleanliness of the Hotel and food were all as before brilliant as was the whole holiday! Thank you to all the staff and the pure ambiance of this Hotel for making our stay so wonderful. In fact so much so that I am returning again 1st week in October with my sister and hoping to upgrade again as this completely made a brilliant holiday all the more special. Will be in touch about upgrading again Playa Bonita reception!! Would thoroughly recommend this Hotel!

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea and it's fantastic as you hear the sea all through the night FANTASTIC PL...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your excellent comment. We are glad you enjoyed your 2nd stay at our hotel, thanks to reviews like yours daily effort our staff try and your comments are the best reward.
We look forward to welcoming you in October, thank you very much for your trust.

Yours faithfully

Manuel J. Tomé
Playabonita Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

+ Big beds - Small rooms
+Nice hotel, nice Beach and pool - You need a car or a bus to get to town
If you want shopping and cafelife, don't og.
If you want quiet, relaxing holiday with you're kids it's Perfect.
Breckfast is wery good

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
3 Thank Reidun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,
It is our pleasure to receive your comments, surely words like yours help us to continue working hard so that our guests' experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We hope to see you again in our hotel or any other our chain.

Yours sincerely
Manuel J. Tomé
Playabonita Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,570 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,073 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
3.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
2.6 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playabonita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playabonita Hotel

Property: Playabonita Hotel
Address: Crta. N-340 Km. 217 - Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29639, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#13 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Playabonita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playabonita Hotel enjoys a beachfront location, next to the pedestrianised seafront and 600 metres from Benalmadena train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Playabonita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playabonita Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Hotel Playabonita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing