We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Great location”
Review of Hotel Best Siroco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Best Siroco
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Great location”
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Returned today from 6nts at the Siroco Hotel, Have stayed various times in Benalmadena and this was one of the best locations we have stayed in.
Caught the train from the airport to save some euros as arrived at 9.30am into AGP, very easy to find the new train station and only about 1.50euro per person (buy your tickets from machine at top and press the english symbol button) and took about 20mins, from Benalmadena station head downhill and after about a 30min walk you will find the Sirocco.
Arrived at the hotel at 11.30am and the room wasn't ready but was shown to the luggage room and asked to come back in an hour, this is perfectly normal practice in any hotel in Spain where check in is dinner time.
Hotel staff at reception very friendly and helpful, as were all of the staff we encountered, did have a small problem with a load of spanish students turning up on the last day and running up and down the corridor and banging on each others doors, when i spoke to reception they advised to call down if they were any trouble at night and it would be sorted by security, as it happened we were woken at about 20 past midnight to banging on doors and running around so I called 500 as advised and security was sent up and within 15 mins all was quiet (must admit did get my own back on them at 6.30am when we were up to return to the airport with abit of banging myself!!!)
Food was amazing I have stayed at various 3* hotels in Torremolinos/Benalmadena and have never had food so good, it beats the Don pablo, Barricuda, Vistamar and Benalmadena palace by along way. I would say a lot of the complaints on other reviews could be down to people going down too late, we were always in breakfast by 9am and I had fresh cooked omlette and pancakes every day, my partner had full english and everything was lovely, even the toasted worked with just 1 go through!! What could of been a problem would be if you arrived for breakfast after 9 you would probably end up in a large que.
Evening meal was just as good, large choice of food and dishes available and again a chef cooking fresh burgers, fish, chops and various other things, we again always turned up at 7pm to get in 1st and it was definitely a good choice as again they were queing after about 8.15. Water was pretty cheap too at 1.70 for a large 1lt bottle.
All the staff we encountered in the restaurant were helpful and friendly.
We had superior room in the hotel on 4th floor and I would recommend pay the extra and go for these, view amazing, 2 double beds, large bathroom, fridge and hairdryer... My parents stayed in a standard room on the 1st floor which again had a lovely view of the gardens but was quite alot smaller and had a 3/4 bath.
Pool was clean and tidy but as it rained for 4 days while we were there didn't spent much time there. Instead we visited lots of other places, Malage easy to get to by bus or train , fuengirola we went on the bus, the stop was just outside on the road to the right number 120 and about 2euros each way. We also caught the bus to torremolinos 1.25e and walked back down the hill and along the lovely seafront all the way to Benalmadena harbour a lovely 2mile walk!!!.
Booked accommodation only through Thomas Cook and wasn't expecting a rep service on this, got a great price the best we found on the net, the bonus was the rep invited us to the welcome meeting, sent us up information and even gave us a leaflet on the free blanket tours.
Entertainment was the only thing that lets the hotel down but then that is probably why its a 3 and not a 4* the usual Spanish rubbish Kids disco/Bingo then an act at about 10pm which we didn't hang around for, but as this is so close to the lovely marina we spent our evenings out walking around and visited a few local bars.
The hotel does have steps but don't be put off by them, my father has had a stroke and also a knee op but he managed fine, as advised in an earlier review we got there key upgraded to open the garage on level -2 and this was excellent he then managed the 5 min walk up and down to the beach/promenade. There is also another short cut by the pool down a few steps and onto the street below that everyone can use.
Now as for the mossies I was dreading going after reading various other reviews because they seem to love me, but I can honestly say I have 1 bite and yes I did see a few by the gardens and within the hotel but I took my Mossie milk with me and that worked fine, My daughter has 4 bites and she got them the night she forgot to put the stuff on but not even in the Hotel it was in the Wolves bar up the road so is not just the hotel.
Would I go again Yes defiantly the Location, Food, Room and Staff made it for me....Thank you

Room Tip: Great location, Book the superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hayley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    882
    360
    113
    75
See reviews for
652
890
60
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Arrived at the Siroco late Saturday night in April. Were pleasantly surprised with our spacious room (although we had paid for a "superior" room). The difference between a normal room and superior is having a small fridge and double bed each! The hotel staff on reception were most unhelpful and rude throughout our stay, as were the majority of the other hotel staff (asking for a pen one day seemed like I was asking for the world) Ridiculous!! The hotel is located on a hillside. But not a great location. Close to the marina, a bit of a chore to get down to the beach (you have to walk down about 50 steps or walk about half a mile to avoid the steps). The hotel is very Spanish orientated with most guests being Spanish and above 60 years old!! (We are 24 and 27). Had terrible weather and there was absolutely nothing to do in the hotel if you received poor weather. Went to a spa in Hotel Principe in Benalmadena one day which was nice. The food at the hotel is not great if I am honest. Breakfast is fine! But evening meals are repetitive, bland and lukewarm. Entertainment at the hotel is poor (and mostly in Spanish). The whole atmosphere here is not welcoming and you almost feel you are an inconvenience when in fact you are the guest. I would not return to this hotel. This is a very honest and real review.

Room Tip: Pool area is ok (I suppose when the sun is out)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayleigh086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Arrived to a nice welcome on the Thursday AM, room available and cleaned. Every thing you may need in the bathroom was supplied. Gardens are lovely, but beware of the mosquitos around the carp ponds and rooms above. Nice day Thursday and Friday, but on Saturday to our horror - a hundred and odd German students on a half break bender appeared.

Music, noise and drunkeness 24/7 from then on. 2 with megaphones all night - All staff then appeared to speak Spanish only so couldn't/wouldn't deal with complaints. Corridors and stairwells full of students bin the mornings fast asleep. pool no go area seems we holidayed with an 18 - 30 hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pensionerat58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Booked hotel via Booking.com we made a huge mistake by double booking this hotel. Could have been charged for a NO SHOW for 6 nights but the staff at the Siroco and the guys at booking.com helped us sort out the mess. They went further at the Siroco and upgraded our stay free of charge at the 4star Trinton with a fine sea view room. So thanks guys you made our holiday.

Room Tip: Supermarkets close on Sundays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric23mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Great swimming pools, wonderful gardens. The room we were given at first faced a concrete wall & was over the laundry room- terrible noise from 7 am to 7 pm. After complaining we were moved to another room. The air con did not work, the shower was broken, the balcony door handle/ lock was just hanging down & the bathroom was so small you had to hang your legs in the bath to sit on the toilet! Pigeons mess on the balcony table & chairs was not cleaned off all week. No drawers to put clothes, etc. People at reception had little English. If you hire a car the hotel will charge you 6 euro a day for parking! The town itself was kept very clean

Room Tip: Cheap & cheerful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank segway007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I have just returned from this hotel and I am covered in Mossie bites. The hotel is full of them. We were out and about during the day and we did not encounter any mossies elsewhere but if you value your skin DO NOT STAY HERE. I have 27 lumps on my arms and legs and my husband has even more. ....

I have never stayed anywhere where whirring and whining of mossies with full tummies went on all night and we sweltered as we couldn't open the window and the air con is not switched on until June. This hotel supplies plug in's in each room with anti mossie tablets ( which did not work) so they are well aware of the problem. The garden which most rooms overlook has a couple of ponds with goldfish and this is probably where the mosquitos breed. We only stayed for 3 nights and are covered in bites, this most certainly ruined the mini break for us
While eating breakfast we were amused looking at all the people who were also covered in bites.

There are many other hotels in the immediate surroundings where you can sleep peacefully without being devoured
Avoid

Room Tip: Tip great singers in bar across road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton UK
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We stayed at this hotel in March and were really pleased with it on the whole.
The rooms were large and clean. Our rooms were cleaned every day. The whole hotel seemed well looked after. I can see what some other contributors mean about being a little tired looking but they do seem to be working on it a bit at a time and it is certainly no worse than any of the other slightly older hotels in the area.

The food was really good. We stayed half board. Breakfast and evening meal were buffet style with a chef cooking at each. Breakfast had everything you could want. Continental breakfast buffet, hot breakfast buffet, cereals, fruit and pastries and the chef cooks pancakes and omelettes to order. At dinner there was soup and all sorts of cold salads, at least 3-4 hot meat choices, 2-3 fish choices, paella, pasta dishes, desserts and fruit along with the chef cooking at least 2 other options to order each evening. The wine and other drinks were not badly priced.

The bar was reasonably priced too (lots of cheaper places nearby if you are looking for really cheap drinks) but the entertainment area was not very large. I think if the hotel was full and everyone wanted to watch a show they would struggle to accommodate everyone. We travelled when there were still quite a large number of older persons on long winter holidays and they were mainly Spanish so the entertainment obviously catered for them – we did spot flamenco dancing and a parrot show and a Spaniard singing old Tom Jones and Elvis songs.

All the staff we encountered (reception, cleaners and restaurant) were helpful, friendly and very efficient.

The location of the hotel is brilliant being close to sea front, shops and bars. It is on a bit of a hill but if you go down in the lift to floor -2 to the car park you can get out to street level without going down the sloping road. You cannot come back in this way without your room key being upgraded to allow access. We had hired a car so were using the garage in the basement (8 Euros per night) but I think a few other people had managed to get their keys upgraded due to walking difficulties. Benalmadina, Torremelinos and Fuengirola are very ‘British’ with no shortage of the good old English breakfast being available 24 hours a day – in fact we struggled to find Spanish food at lunch time on the days we stayed in the resorts! There are some lovely places around to visit though. We went to Malaga, Frigiliana, caves near Nerja, Ronda and Gibraltar.

The grounds of the hotel are lovely too. We did not use the pool at all but it looked fine and clean.

The only problem with the hotel that we found was the mosquitoes – we were there the second week of March and they were already quite a problem. There were plug in mosquito deterrents in the bedrooms but they were buzzing around in reception, the bar and even in the restaurant – I cannot see how they would ever be able to keep them out as they just flew in each time a door was opened. Take spray with you – we didn’t use any on the first day and everyone in our party was bitten.

All in all though I would recommend the hotel as being very good for the price paid for it. (one mior point - towels were a little hard so if you cannot live without your soft towels - take a few with you!)

Room Tip: Take mosquito spray
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deepthinker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#12 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,815 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,725 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best Siroco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best Siroco

Property: Hotel Best Siroco
Address: Carril del Siroco s/n, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Best Siroco 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Siroco hotel is located at the tourist center of Benalmadena, at 200m from the beach (which is accessible through an underground tunnel) and the marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Best Siroco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Siroco Benalmadena
Siroco Benalmadena
Siroco Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Best Siroco Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing