We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dodgy entertainment”
Review of Hotel Palmasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palmasol
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dodgy entertainment”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Just back from a weeks stay here and found it to be pretty good but not great.
The hotel is nice, clean and the staff are friendly. The food is ok at best and the all inclusive deal is only between the hours of 11am and 11pm and includes snacks and crisps from one bar only, which is not always open. The biggest disappointment from a family point of view is the entertainment which is awful, unless you like dodgy cabaret singers singing a spanish version of Achy Breaky Heart. Oh and the gym is awful too. One running machine that I as well as several others couldn't get to work, 2 cycling machines that weren't working and a weights machine that also wasn't working. However it is in a good location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    474
    370
    150
    112
See reviews for
379
614
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincs, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Should start off by saying that this hotel is closing on the 16th October. Depending on who you speak to, it could be for refurbishment in which case it will re-open in February, or - as some staff were telling us - it could be due to money concerns, in which case who knows :(...some people were being moved out to other hotels.

Stayed here for 2 weeks from 16 - 30 September. Initially allocated a room overlooking the busy street between Marina and 24 hour square, arriving on a Friday night we got no sleep at all due to rowdy revellers travelling from one to the other.

We requested a move and were told that the hotel was full but that we could move on the Sunday - our new room had amazing views of both the sea and the Marina, possibly the best views in Benalmadena. We found the staff in reception very helpful.

All rooms have refurbished bathrooms with power showers - shower screen is inadequate however so be prepared to use a few towels on the floor. Beds are comfortable with adequate wardrobe space (mirrored). Only one electrical socket however so take a double adapter. Air conditioning is very good. Only one English TV channel, BBC news. Wi-fi is is 6 euro's per day within the hotel.

Pool area is lovely and I believe is quite new. However, have to agree with previous poster that the sunbeds were possibly the most uncomfortable I've ever known. May be worth buying some pads, or paying the 4.5 euro's per bed for the extra thick mattresses on the beach...pool area was very relaxing though as very quiet...mainly older couples at this time of year, and lots of Spanish.

Food was ok and plentiful. If you like fish you're on to a winner - there were however meat dishes and the salads were gorgeous. Apple crumble and custard for dessert a couple of nights.

Can't comment on the entertainment as we never stayed in, even though we were all inclusive. Entertainment is always indoors and I prefer to sit outdoors when it's hot.

The hotel is in a perfect position for both the Marina and 24 hour square...the latter not really worth a visit in my opinion - there are only 4/5 bars there, and the resort is so big there's so much to explore! Also in my opinion, this hotel is the best situated in Benalmadena.

As I said previously, Wi-fi is a problem and we only found one bar with free access up in Bonanza Square, Woody's Bar. There are probably many more but we never found them.

Would also like to give Carlos Bar a mention, right out of hotel, turn right at top of bank and keep going towards Torremelinos for about 100 yards...nice, classy little bar - one small beer, one large beer 4 euros - lovely surroundings with background music playing.

Did the Gibraltar trip and booked with a local travel agent on the main street, cost 37 euros per person, but had good guide so although expensive we did enjoy it.

Local buses are a doddle and you can get just about anywhere on the Costa Del Sol with little effort.

All in all, a great little 3* hotel, well situated especially if you get a decent room with a pool/sea view...just hope it's still there next year.

Room Tip: ask for pool view, rooms at front of the hotel are very noisy on the weekend with revellers travelli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank andrea70spls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

After reading reviews on this website, we were a bit apprehensive about what the hotel would be like but pleasantly surprised. Upon arrival, we immediately took advantage of the all inclusive buffet and drinks. The food throughout the week was very good (not brilliant), and the choice of drinks on the all inclusive was fine - beers, wines, spirits, soft drinks and some cocktails included. I did notice non all-inclusive people buying drinks such as diet pepsi were being charged €2 a time, so we did feel it was worth going all inclusive. The pool was very nice, however the sun lounges were very uncomfortable. The pool area was quiet and not many people around - there were about 2 kids, a few pensioners and the rest couples. The entertainment staff were not pushy around the pool, there were games being played although they looked pretty rubbish (i've seen better entertainment at other hotels) We tried to book an excursion to Gibraltar through the hotel on 4 occasions but the male reception member of staff clearly couldn't be bothered and kept making excuses, therefore we went else where. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning in the room was brilliant (compared to some hotels). The bathroom seemed to have been recently fitted - featured a new power shower which was very nice but no bath. The hotel is near the Marina and 24 hour square, however we stayed Tues - Sun (20-25 Sept) and didn't hear any noise like other Trip Advisor reviews suggest. We were in a 5th floor room overlooking the pool and sea (this was requested and did not cost any extra). Overall an enjoyable stay, great weather, and would stay again in the future - perhaps around the same time of year.

Room Tip: request 5th floor overlooking the pool and sea - probably the best rooms in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nathaniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Just back from 4 night break at the Plamasol. 12 guys from 22 to 64 good time by all. The Hotel is a good 3 star very clean nice room. We were all inclusive,it was good value. Food was not the best in the world but there was a good choice. The staff all very helpfull and friendly apart from reception. good pool in fact good all round.I will return. A good value Hotel near to all sorts of life.

Room Tip: All rooms looked OK we had sea View but i think most rooms have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petbri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed here for 1 week , September 9-16. average temp was 30 degrees! I found the Hotel was clean, comfortable and was adequate for my needs. The hotel is in a good location for entertainment. The room was fine, 3 beds, power shower. The safe is dear , 20 euro rent and 10 deposit, for 7 days. A pint was 3 euro in the hotel bar, which I thought was a tad dear, compared to up the street. The room was cleaned each day. We just took breakfast which is 7am - 1015am, the 1st morning the queue was up the stairs at 0950, so we went earlier after that. The usual Spanish choices were available, rolls,cheese,ham,croissants, cereals, and the hot stuff. most days you could have, fried bread, beans, scrambled and boiled egg, pancakes, mushrooms, rice, yes rice! Toast, and a few other things. I've had nicer, but I had my fill every morning. There are 3 lifts, which really hold 3 people each, but usually they came quickly. I had a room on the second floor overlooking a side street, which initially was disappointing, but was actually nice and quiet and without the sun on us. Daily average of 30 degree's heat here for us. The pool is large enough and 1.45m deep . Free volleyball if you wish. The sun loungers were not all taken by 11am which was nice. Not many under 40's here either. The heated Jacuzzi is down some steps beside a gym, fairly secluded if the missus wants to be naughty.... You can go out this way as well to the marina. The Wi-Fi was broken when here and they were waiting for 'the man' to fix it. It was 6 euro for 24 hrs. The only 2 english TV channels stopped working after our first day,no signal? bbc news and eurosport.
Parakeets fly around the area which is nice. Reception staff (24hrs) were helpful for bus directions etc.
There are plenty of bars and eateries above and below the hotel within walking distance. The beach is fairly close as well.
All in all I would use this hotel again if I was back here, and I chose it for its location and 20 minute transfer time from the airport.




The 'square' is at the top of the street, just to the left. Pushy bar reps there just swarm round you.
Tobacco shop is top of street to the left, as are the bus stops. We got the bus for 1.30 euro each and went to the cable car ride, about 4km away. Its at Tivoli park. On top of the mountain you get a nice view and 2 shows daily of eagles which was nice. The last show was 5.30pm. We went up at 4pm.
We went to the water park in torremolinos by bus as well for the same price. You get off at torremolinos centre and its about a 20 minute walk to the park, I just asked directions. Having got too much sun we couldn't face the mile or so trek back in the sun so took a taxi back to the centre, and got charged 8 euro, which was about 4 too much in my book. The marina is just below the hotel and there are boat excursions, even at night. A 30min trip out to see the coast and lights is 10 euro which is good value I think. We took the catamaran ''TopCat'' out for 15 euro for 1.5hrs to see the dolphins, and with this twin hulled boat they are literally just below you a few feet swimming along the inside of the hull, ull not get that so close with other boats, free beer and sea swimming too, really good value. There is a Chinese (chino fu) at the top of the street to the right, 5 euro for 2 courses, and it was nice. There is a sushi bar called sakura at the marina, food was lovely and we had a table overlooking the marina. Some bars can be very dear at the marina, 18 euro for 2 vodka and orange, check the prices first. Plenty of cheap bars up the street and a 10 minute dander to the left. Eg Tiny's, Jolly Rodger and Tony's (thanks for the tee shirts!)

Room Tip: ask for pool or seaview if you wish that
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Johnx144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Just got back from a lovely stay. Nice hotel, great location with the marina and beach at the bottom of the tropical garden complete with little parakeets.(We were lucky enough to have one of the corner family suites with a triple balcony over looking the beautiful pool gardens and the marina; be aware that some rooms look out over a side street! We definitely lucked out.) Quite busy when we were there but mostly pensioners and families which was brilliant, it meant there no drunken idiots! We were half board and had lots of choice for breakfast and evening meals. All the usual "all you can eat" buffet style stuff, i.e. Full English, continental or fruit etc for breakfast. Evening meals had a great salad starter with a choice of a main meal of meat or fresh fish, with all the trimmings. The fussy kids could survive on chips, sausage, beans, pizza and all the desserts. Entertainment was provided in the evenings which the kids loved and it saved us wasting money down in the puerto. The only gripe we had with our 2 little girls was that there were only 2 toilets you could use without returning to the room. One at the fitness centre and one in reception. As you can imagine these had lots of use by everyone and despite regular cleaning we preferred to return to our room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ChapSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Was worried after reading reviews.
Got there about 22.30 and checked in fine and was told there was a cold meal waiting for us which I didn't expect.
Rooms slightly small but cleaned everyday and small pack of bath stuff for all of us including toy sponges for the children.
Food was fine. I have 1 child that is a fussy eater and 1 that only really eats veg and Salad. Both ate everyday and had more than one plateful.
Staff very friendly and only had to queue once for about 15 mins for drink .
Maybe only slight downside would be entertainment, could have been more.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taylamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Alay
Hotel Ibersol Alay
#24 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
0.1 mi away
MS Alay Apartments
MS Alay Apartments
#23 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#12 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palmasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palmasol

Property: Hotel Palmasol
Address: Avenida Mar 7, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palmasol 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palmasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Palmasol Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Palmasol Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing