We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"do not go"”
Review of Hotel Palmasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palmasol
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"do not go"”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

just got back from a weeks holiday, the first 3 days the hotel staff were striking and the noise was horrendas, they were banging drums, blowing whistle and blowing fog horns from 8 oclock in the morning, which carried on all day, not something you need when you didnt get to sleep late and they also wake the baby up, not once but twice, which was agin inthe afternoon, after i had just managed to get her bck to sleep. it was also the spanish weekend and they were so ignorant including the staff.
the food was the same as always, the lunch was used in the evening just disguised in a differnt way. i say we ditch the all inclusive and just go self catering, as the all inclusive is part of causing the recession and you pay an extra £500 for crap.
the hotel rooms were clean but small, the corridors constantly smelt of smoke and it you havent got a pool view, you get a road view looking over onto a deralict building, which is also a main road and is constantly noisy and busy. there is also no bath just a shower, which leaks as the shower panel isnt big enough.
the sun beds are also discusting they look like they are twenty years old, they were just black around the edges.
i will never go in this hotel again, but i highly reccomend the costa del sol and i would highly recommend the sunset beach club in benalmadena,

Room Tip: just dont go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hayley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    534
    416
    158
    134
See reviews for
426
709
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Had a lovely holiday at this hotel. The food was fresh and plentiful with several choices at each sitting. The hotel staff were polite, the rooms were quite small but clean with comfortable beds. The only small complaints were the pool music was the same everyday and the showers screen was too small to prevent water going onto the floor. The location is great as the marina is literally over the road and beaches nearby too.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineEliz51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda Cynon Taff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 12/8 until 19/8. It was my 9 year old grandsons first trip abroad and we wanted it to be perfect for him. We booked with a well known travel company in the UK so were expecting good things. First the positives, location of the hotel great, near the harbour, food ok but tended to be hit and miss, most of the staff good.Now the negatives.There were about 10% british, and 90% geriatric Spanish. They were absolutely obnoxious and rude, they have no concept of queueing and pushed themselves in front at mealtimes and at the bars, the staff tended to ignore us and served them first. The second day we were there at lunch it was like feeding day at the zoo never have I seen behaviour like this before in all my travels. The hotel was on the route to the 24 hour entertainment centre at the port so between 2am and 6 am we were subjected to the most horrendous noise, why can't the Spanish talk quietly they seem to shout all the time. As there were few British I have to say there was no anti social behaviour from them.The room we were given had no view other than the derelict building opposite, and even on the last two days there we were disturbed from 8am by striking staff outside the hotel banging drums and blowing whistles. We should not have been subjected to this.This was the holiday from hell and I would not subject this on anyone, I have spent a lot of time around Benalmadena, Torremolinos and Fuengirola, most of which have been great, but after this experience I don't think I will rush back

Room Tip: Don't bother going, there are better hotels in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PenrhysRhondda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

returned from this hotel on the 13th aug 2012 usually my wife and i stay in 4 star and did we miss it.having read the reviews i emailed the hostel i mean hotel to make sure our room is not road side when we arrived the lady on reception informed us they have hundreds of emails,that means they ignore them.our room was on the road side no sleep for 7 nights the locals love making loads of noise untill 5am the room smelt musky but they were cleaned every day.the food in the CANTEEN was poor to average with mix and match food the air/con is off so they can have your table quickly.there is salt on the table but no vinegar you can use the house wine it has the same taste if you have a late checkout on departing you do not get an evening meal they refused the explain why.the bar staff are very good you do have to sign but never had to wait long for a drink,this hotel has lots of spanish guests who are very polite,if you want a sun bed the pool opens at 7am there is a queue for the door to open so be there for 6.45am if your room is road side you will be up anyway.i think this hotel does not want returned guests.and i wonder if first choice will endorse it in the future

Room Tip: do not go in the rooms facing the road but i am told the pool rooms are the same very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oscar1753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Well where do i start, just returned from this 'hotel', its terrible, the staff are incredibly rude, unless you are spanish, rooms are not cleaned properly, the food is awful, we paid for all inclusive but it was a waste of money because we then had to go out to eat because there was absolutely no way i was eating what they were offering. We asked for a transfer on the second day only to be told it would cost us a minimum of 375 euro each then more to upgrade to all inclusive, after what we had already paid for the'holiday' this wasn't an option unfortunately. The sunbeds around the pool were dirty, well worn. I would say this is a hotel by the spanish, for the spanish. The location of the hotel is very good however right opposite the fab marina, excellent choice of restaurants/bars/shops, local ferry to fuengirola. i would in no way ever return to this hotel.

Room Tip: find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Second time I have stayed at this hotel.1st time was my sons stag do and this time was with my wife
.Had a great time on both occasions.
As other reviewers state the food is nothing great (breakfast was best) but apart from that the hotel is very friendly and accommodating.We could not fault the staff who were friendly and helpful
Location was great for travelling to other places,close to public transport.
I would recommend All inclusive if you intend having a few drinks at the hotel
If you want a quiet break you can always book into a convent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davy114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The hotel is very clean good location for harbour and beach night life close . Do not stay if you like good food even though is it a 3star food is not good snacks by pool side are limited and only on at certain times , the hotel is very. Very noisey at night if your room is on street side it echos and sounds very loud the doors to the rooms bang so you can here everyone go into rooms , the hotel have a lot of hen party's and they do not think about others , the hotel is for Spanish holiday makers only , the entertainment in day is good for children but very poor at night . If you have walking difficulties or in a wheelchair like we had in our family don't go ,to get to restaurant you had to use service lift and go through kitchen or use fire exit . They only have 12 fridges in hotel so don't expect one , the place is very hilly both ways out of hotel , the hotel only had 2 ramps for wheelchairs and the wheelchairs don't fit into lifts to rooms you have to take the leg rests off . The house keeping is very good rooms are clean , if you like fish fingers and burgers for dinner its good , when all inclusive you have to sign for ever drink you have . On leaving my son was asked by manager what he though of food told the truth as kids do said could be better manager did say they are going to improve as when I spoke to other guests they had complained as well .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Alay
Hotel Ibersol Alay
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
350 reviews
0.5 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,099 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,269 reviews
0.5 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
#28 of 45 in Benalmadena
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palmasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palmasol

Property: Hotel Palmasol
Address: Avenida Mar 7, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palmasol 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Palmasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Palmasol Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Palmasol Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing