We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic Location makes up for some niggles”
Review of Hotel Palmasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palmasol
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed for one week from Aug 30th. Would we go back - yes because of the location - step out of the gate - cross the road and you are in the marina.
Its very important to have a pool view room - we originally got a room over the front entrance and opposite the lifts. This was very noisy and the balcony got direct sun (very very hot even in Sept) and the view was awful. Reception staff were very helpful in switching to a pool view room on Day 3 and the view over the lovely grounds, pool , the marina and out to sea was fantastic.
Food was good but the drinks were poor quality - if we go back I should probably not go all inclusive. There are a few strange rules about when and what you can eat and drink but these are minor irritations.
We found the staff helpful at all times but where there were problems it seemed always to be one of not understanding rather than unwillingness to help. They have staff from all over europe and have to deal with guests from all over europe.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,168 - 1,174 of 1,678 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

I can not understand why this hotel is ranked 29 out of 46 hotels in Benalmadena. We had fantastic time there from Sept 7th - 14th with 4 rooms, 7 adults all inclusive.The rooms were clean and spacious and from the balcony had view of the Marina, (4th floor room no's 423 -418). Going in September there were more older people of different nationalities and not too many families with children, it was difficult to get a sun bed in the morning unless you put your towel on one by 8.30am, but could get one later in the day. Used the jacuzzi gym and sauna room. All the staff were all friendly and helpful, like another reviewer said please and thank you helps, the staff all work hard. We enjoyed the evening entertainment and joined in. Good selection at breakfast time, lunch and dinner we did eat out a couple of times for a change. The beach was 5 minutes in one direction and 8 in the other. A sun bed to hire for the day on the beach was 5 euro's for the first day and 3 euro's for the second time.
Just across the road from the Marina which was lovely, loads of restaurants, bars and shops to look round, plenty of boat trips to choose from and you can haggle with the price. Walked to Torremolinos along the beach front which takes about an hour looked round the town and caught the bus back to Benalmadena. Went on a 1/2 day coach trip to Marbella and Puerto Banus (20 euro's), it would have been better to go in the evening, asked about price of taxi there 50 euro's. Good day at Aqualand, Torremolinos, taxi 10 euro's and 25 euro's entry, you could return there on another day for 12 euro's.
Plenty of deals with drinks in the bars at night, 24hr square 5 minute walk. Went to the Ice Bar and were supplied with furry coats to wear, 10 euro's pp. includes 2 cocktails and a shot.
There are so many things we did not have time to do Tivioli World, Selwo Marina, Ferry to Malaga and Fuengirola, Sunset Cruise, day trip to Gibraltar.
Great holiday, at Hotel Palmasol and we will return there.
Next time I will take a mug, tea bags and coffee to have a decent cuppa..

Room Tip: 4th and 5th floor for good view of marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debra93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We arrived on 7th sept. for 1 week half board - the room was ok 5th floor overlooking marina but it got the afternoon sun so was VERY hot we couldn't sit out p.m. - had to stay inside with air con on. TV only channel was bbc world news. Only 1 power point in room. Room ok clean comfy beds towels were thinnest I've even had barely able to dry off after shower. That's the problem with this hotel everything is done on the cheap - the food was awful yes we managed at breakfast but after 3 nights evening meal we gave up and ate out, the food served is of the cheapest quality and IS almost cold hamburger hamburger hamburger!!! chips chips chips!!!. and ineadible concoctions that were presented each night. Then there was the 7.30 alarm from our mobile to wake us so we could queue up till the security guard opened the door at 8 to allow us to run poolside and grab a sun bed and parasol for the day - I haven't done that for 30 years. This hotel is in an excellent location and has some very good aspects but needs the right management to run it - firstly the quality of food served needs to be addressed, they should employ a poolman to stop the greedy people from saving beds then going out for the day returning at 4 to lie in the sun - I hope you're reading this you know who you are. Whoever buys the food should change supplier and the chef needs a good talking to. All in all an average 3 star hotel which we will NOT return to. We go away for a rest not a bun fight every day.

Room Tip: ask for pool view room it will be cooler in the afternoon as air con is not efficient
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jilly-howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We paid £310 each for 4 nights,half-board, booked last minute, with Jet2 Holidays. We thought it good value for this money. Good points - fantastic position, very close to both marina and beach (5 minutes); we had a triple room which was spacious and clean with loads of wardrobe space and a quiet air-con unit which meant we could leave it on all night; nice pool area; plenty of choice at breakfast.
Not so good points - we didn't really like the food (apart from breakfasts) so we ate out each night after the first. Other people seemed to manage with it OK. We found it like school dinners, overcooked and stodgy, but I suppose you would get by with it if you were a family on a budget, especially if you are all-inclusive; the usual claiming of the loungers each morning (but the beach is so close, we went there instead and came back at about 4pm when we could get a lounger); no air venting system in bathroom, which meant it got unbearably hot and steamy, especially with 3 having showers one after another. Why no vent?; horrible thin, scratchy towels which didn't dry you properly and were ridiculously small, yuk. (Advise you take your own if you have room).
Overall, because of the excellent position and value price, this made up for other shortcomings.

Room Tip: Rooms on pool side have best views, especially above floor 2. These rooms could be noisy in high sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

this place calls itself a family hotel ok if you are spanish maybe, we arrived here on the friday 23rd of august late at night just in time for a few drinks, then on the morning of the 30th when we were leaving we were told that we could not use the all inclusive facilities even though we had a small child aged 20 month old we had to buy drinks, so we went out all day till our airport transfer turned up at 5 pm so we barely were given 6 days all inclusive for a price of £1300 for the 3 of us it works out expensive for 6 days, ok the hotel is clean and the pool is excellent there is not enough sunbeds to go around you are ok if you want to queue up at 7 in the morning, then to make matters worse my son got pushed over twice and got nipped by the horrible spanish children that were about and their parents didn,t care they let them loose, hotel rooms in general very small but clean but overall after this experience its not a family hotel and never ever saw the thomson rep once in my 7 day stay, oh and the hotel is in a good location too good a location for the hotel really, so believe me avoid this place if you have children but if you are spanish and getting a cheap deal then visit,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank disgruntled029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Hotel is in a very good location 2 minutes walk from 24hr square and 2 minutes walk from the Marina for this reason alone i would stay here again.

The rooms are kept very clean by the maids and you have a flat screen TV in your room although just the BBC news channel that is in English. The hotel is just a typical Spainish hotel and is a good place to put the head down after a night on the town.

The pool area is very good and plenty of sunbeds available although people did get up at the crack of dawn to put towels down on the beds.

I would recommend this hotel to others looking for a central hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rogk79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

First holiday without the kids for a very long time and as our week away spanned the start of term, the hotel pretty much emptied of children. Think it may have been a different holiday in August but depends what you are looking for, ours was a bit of peace from the kids (teenagers!).
Read debbieg566 review, wow she must have upset the staff because they certainly were not rude, they are SPANISH,, simples! There is a safe in the room, it does cost to use but worth it for peace of mind, I would in any country.
The very best of a 3 star hotel. There are at least 5 different nationalities to cater for and I believe they do this very well, a huge choice is offered.
The checking out at 12 is a bit of a problem (where isn't it?). You can pay to keep your room but the hotel was full, so could only use the shower in the gym, ok but not great! We arrived at 22hrs and was given an orange bracelet, we noticed most of the others had blue. This allowed us to use the AI up to leaving at 18hrs but others who had arrived on the same day but a couple of hours earlier had to give their AI up at 12. Not sure why? Hotel prices are not cheap 4 euro for a large coke. AI is from 11-23hrs beyond that AI guests pay half price.
Apart from sun bed issue, as always. Only one small niggle. After breakfast, you cannot get a drink until 11am (10.30 if you want to pay). This meant we often went 2 hrs waiting for a drink! Suggest you take a mini kettle and a couple of mugs with you. Most AI I have used have 24hrs tea and coffee (water), would be the icing on the cake if Palamsol did the same. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 141 is on the first floor quite close to the stairs. Side of buildng, we overlooked a resident...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KH8163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Alay
Hotel Ibersol Alay
#18 of 45 in Benalmadena
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,352 reviews
0.1 mi away
MS Alay Apartments
MS Alay Apartments
#24 of 45 in Benalmadena
408 reviews
0.5 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
3,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palmasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palmasol

Address: Avenida Mar 7, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range: £50 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palmasol 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Palmasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Palmasol Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Palmasol Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing