We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bad start but all came good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Palmasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palmasol
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“a bad start but all came good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

we requested a low floor and a poolside view , when we got are room it was top floor and over looking a old building site . i went back to reception and saw a man on reception he said its only a request but if i could leave it until the morning he could sort it out, we went back and was given a second floor and pool side thanks for your help. another problem was in the ladies toilet the soap dispenser was broke so my wife asked if some soap could be put on the basin. we went out but when we got back still no soap, so my wife went and asked if she could see the manager but she was not on site but the lady asked if she could help my wife told her about the soap, the lady said she will sort it out and she did and by the next day the dispenser was replaced once again well done. Now to the good side of the hotel, the pool area was very nice also a grass area and was kept clean by the life guard. The food was good and plenty of it and the waiters was friendly . And the people behind the bar area did a good with a smile and a chat , more than you got from the lady manager she letting her staff down . and i do agree with the rudeness of the Spanish families just pushing in at the bar/restaurant/ and entertainment. The entertainment team worked hard with some good shows Out side there is plenty of places to visit after the hill out side the hotel it was flat for walking. The marina was near the hotel and was one of the best i seen. would we go back the answer is yes.

Room Tip: ask for poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank terence f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inma G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Palmasol, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very happy that you were satisfied with our services and so pleased to read all your compliments regarding our staff, food and entertainment.
We look forward to welcome you again in our hotel
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    464
    355
    144
    111
See reviews for
372
592
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NEWCASTLE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was a beautiful hotel Very clean , beautiful terrace,pool and garden area and an ideal location for the Marina . My only moan was that it was occupied by mainly Spanish families and Im sorry to say they are the most arrogant mannerless people I have ever met!! When we first arrived the problem seemed to a set number of families who everyday took over the whole hotel they were so noisy & rude , but when they left & more families arrived it was the same story . They all think they have every right to be served first & are so loud They take over the pool , the bar & the restaurant,, even the lifts Speaking to other british holiday makers we all felt the same we were treat like 2nd class . I know we were in Spain & it is their country but by heck do they let us know !!! Trying to get served in the restaurant was total chaos you couldnt get near the food for the Spanish pushing in . They were like animals We queued at the bar for drinks & the Spanish would walk to the front and get served After 9 days we had had enough & we exploded having a heated argument with staff about serving people who walked to the front of the queue & i must add this is totally out of character for my husband and myself but we totally had had enough . The next day we met with Ross the rep from Jet 2 & the hotel Manager . They were both excellent at their customer service . We explained to the manager about how we felt & he was totally understanding . He suggested we went to the restaurant earlier when it would be quieter & he took on board all our complaints but both he & Ross said we should have brought it to their attention earlier ... but typical English we dont like to complain I wish we had now because they really said they took the issues seriously. From then on things were a lot better The bar staff had obviously been told to control the queue and not to serve people who walked to the front We tried going to restaurant at 7.30 for breakfast & 7.30 for evening meal & my god what a difference Yes all the british holiday makers were there and it was quiet & no shouting & screaming . We realised that the spanish families were staying at the pool until very late & then in their droves hitting the restaurant causing utter chaos Its their culture to be very loud when they are talking to each other. Again talking to other brits they said they had give up going to the restaurant later on . This is the 4th time over the years we have been to Banalamdena as we love the place . When we arrived we thought straight away it was the nicest hotel we had stayed in by appearance and location but we soon changed our minds . I dont want to put people off this hotel but If you can but up with the noisiest rudest people ever ... Spanish holidaymakers then this hotel is great but please make sure you bring to attention the manager or your rep of any problems because they really do help I couldn't fault them at that ... my only other gripe was the towels ... very poor quality and very small The food was avearge All inclusive ... if you want top quality food dont go all inclusive but we thought it was fine and was always something edible ( when we could get to it ) I dont want to put people off this hotel by this review but i think people need to know this Hotel is very popular with the Spanish and Im just letting you know what to expect

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view get sun in morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lainyriddas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inma G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Palmasol, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.. We hope that you enjoyed your stay despite the negative points you are mentioning and you will give us another opportunity to welcome you to our hotel again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I have been to this hotel many times now, however still enjoy my time there. Rooms are small, i had a great room though with a fantastic view but clean, the pool & gardens are lovely but you need more umbrellas round the pool.
The food is basic & could be better at times with lots more variety but on the whole is generally ok. There should be more staff on duty in the evening as the service is slow but I commend their efforts, particularly Paco, he should ge the head waiter!!!!!
My only criticism is not being able to keep your room for a few hours as when you try & have a shower in the gym you are constantly interrupted.
Hope to visit again next year.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharronHKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inma G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Palmasol, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Sharron

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us and for providing us with your feedback.
Your satisfaction is the best source of motivation for us. We hope to see you again in Benalmádena.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Having read several negative reviews before our travels I was apprehensive to say the least. However. If you go with realistic expectations you will have a fabulous time. A lot of the reviews we read complained either about the staff or the food but we really didn't think these criticisms held true.

FOOD -

All inclusive buffet in the restaurant at breakfast and evening meal with either the option of the restaurant buffet lunch or the pool bar snack menu. For this you had to order at the bar, and then walk over to the chef station where your food was cooked to order. This meant it was always hot and never took more than 10 mins or so. The options here included burgers, sandwiches, salad, chips and hotdogs.

For evening meal the options included salads again, breads, hot food which usually included pork, turkey, chicken or beef and fish. There were varying types of potato and chips of course. Each day there was pizza and pasta. There was also a cooking station where the chef served up freshly made paella and stir fry type dishes and some grilled meats. Desert was fruits, cakes and mousses. I was disappointed this wasn't ice cream until mid week we realised there is a freezer set away from the buffet where you could help yourself to tubs of ice cream.

Breakfast was typical buffet with cereals, toast, pastries, fruits and yogurts and of course full English.

DRINK -

This system I have to confess we found a little odd. For evening meal you are served drinks at the table, it seemed to be one drink each plus water for the table if requested. Some nights we were served as we sat down, others we were almost done eating before we were asked what we wanted to drink.

During the day from 11am to 11pm you ordered drinks at the poolbar. Service here could be quite slow as you need the room key card as proof of all inclusivity. Quite why you also wear a wristband all week we never really understood. We asked for a second key card for the room at check in and were easily given one. This now surprises me considering the drinks ordering/payment system. After 11pm you can be served in the salon bar but as many barstaff finish at this time service slows considerably. We waited one night for almost half an hour for four cocktails - we were told this was as the hotel only has one cocktail shaker!

All inclusive included all local sprits and beers, tea and coffee and branded soft drinks. For cocktails and branded spirits you paid half the menu price.

ROOM -

Cleaned daily, fresh bedding and towels daily. Beds comfortable and shower nice and hot. I echo other reviews stating the bathroom floor could get quite wet but this is a common theme in bathrooms with showers abroad it seems so I'd just say be careful. Air con worked fab and was free which we were pleased about. Safe is extra. Hairdryer in bathroom fine for short or fine hair but for thicker/longer hair it wouldn't have been adequate.

There was plenty of storage and we had a fab balcony overlooking the pool and part of the marina. Some end rooms have GIANT balconies but we just had standard size. Our room (409) got sun in the morning but not at nighttime. My one complaint would be lack of sockets. Big tip is to take an extension socket. My travel buddy introduced me to this idea and we were fine.

POOL/FACILITIES -

Were brilliant. The main pool is lovely and not too cold and we never had a problem getting a sunned, you're not tightly packed in as at some places and there was plenty of space on the grass if the main pool area is full.

The jacuzzi and sauna were lovely, indoor pool was closed for the season but looked like it would have been great on a colder day or in low season.

Entertainment staff provided ample opportunity in the day for darts/table tennis/rifle shooting/boules and water polo type activities.

STAFF

Contrary to many reviews we found all the staff to be friendly and lovely. If you treat them with respect and smile back you won't have any issues. My main criticism would be that they need more bar staff and more staff in the restaurant at night so the drinks flow a little more freely.

ENTERTAINMENT

The team of three entertainers work really long hours. Seven days a week. To say this is the case they're enthusiastic and happy, and they do provide a giggle. Don't go expecting a west end theatre performance and accept it for what it is, if you go with that attitude you won't be disappointed. We had karaoke, kids disco, bingo, quizzes and shows and all were worth participating in. We made good friends with some other holidaymakers there too!

LOCATION

Couldn't beat it. Through the bottom gate and you're literally at the marina, go left for Torremolinos beach or right for Benalmedina beach, plenty of bars and restaurants there and lots of boat trips too. Go out of the main hotel door and right and you're in the centre of the resort. 24hr square is at the top of the street and there's also a tourist information place and bus stops right there too for convenient exploring.

WOULD WE GO BACK?

A big fat "yes please"

Room Tip: Room 409 was ours. The fourth and 5th floors have the best views especially poolside which also over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank XRAY_Bobsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inma G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Palmasol, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for your positive feedback on the Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you were satisfied with our services and so pleased to read all your compliments regarding our staff, food and entertainment.
We are very happy that you spend good holidays and we hope to see you again in our hotel in near future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west lothian
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We just came back today after staying here for the week.Never again!.....the rooms are very basic and not too clean,No mattress protectors on the beds and bathroom was quite dirty.We have been going all-inclusive for years to various Spanish hotels but this has got to be one of the worst.The food was terrible except for the breakfast which was ok.We spent most of our holiday money on eating out..The all-inclusive spirits were awfull and the sangria came from a plastic bottle.On the Plus side the location is good.Ideal for the marina and various bars and restaurants of which we frequented.The gardens near the pool are lovely and great for sunbathing.The entertainment staff work very hard.We spoke to people who had stayed here last year and they said it had gone down hill.Shame,because it has the making of a really good hotel but needs a good management team to look at the negatives.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inma G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Palmasol, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.We hope that you enjoyed your stay despite the negative points you are mentioning.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Just arrived back from a weeks holiday arriving on the 25th June .on arrival Juan at reception not great with giving information to busy chatting to other customers ,given the key and dismissed ,no directions to where room was or any hotel information, didn't think this was a great start .
Room very small we had rm 350 with an additional bed put in for our 14year old son ,certainly don't think this was a room big enough for 3 people .the room was clean and towels and bedding changed daily which was good .they are a bit dated and in need of an upgrade ,we had asked for a pool view ,but a big tree restricted the view to pool ,but could see a bit of the marina so that was ok .read a review about only one socket in room so we took an extension 4 socket cable with us and that was great for phones an iPods etc .
The staff overall were very pleasant and friendly epecially Alex and Angel the entertainment staff my 14 year son Jack had a fab time playing water polo ,French boules ,ping pong and many more so thank them both from us .
We were all inclusive and the food was the usually buffet standard sometimes ,but the food was a little cold and some days were better than others but you could always find something to eat .we ate out a few times La Fraggata (lovely pizzas ) on the promenade going towards torrmolinos ,metro (Italia )at the marina and pinochio (tapas)above Benny's
bar Benalmadena all worth a visit.
The pool area was quiet most days and could always get a sunbed you couldn't get out before 8am to reserve your bed which was good no having to get up at crack off dawn ,there was only about 11 parasols but there is plenty shaded areas, we liked in front of showers on right hand side as full sun all day and then shaded from 3.30-4pm when we'd had enough .
Even though there was a few issues we all had a fantastic holiday and prob would go back to the hotel as it was a good price .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Busybee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inma G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Palmasol, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for your positive feedback on the Tripadvisor.We are very happy that you were satisfied with our services and so pleased to read all your compliments regarding our entertainment.Your comments help us make the necessary improvements to make our hotel better. We hope that you enjoyed your stay despite the negative points you are mentioning and you will give us another opportunity to welcome you to our hotel again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here with 4 girlfriends for a long weekend. Such a lovely clean hotel, the pool and seating area is so comfortable with canopies and chill out area.
The all inclusive looked good but we were there for self catering and eating out. Staff really friendly and there was a mix of guests, there was a hen and stag but they were really friendly and considerate. As you come out the main entrance turn right it's the 24 hr square, a bit crazy but fun for a Very late drink. Turn left and you will come to the marina with lovely restaurants with plenty of options, the Argentinian steak is to die for! The marina bar are better for an older crowd, 25 and upward. Would definitely visit again. Not sure if I would go to the resort with my kids though.

Room Tip: Ask for. Pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Little-lou08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inma G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Palmasol, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us and for providing us with your feedback.
We are very happy that you spend good holidays and we hope to see you again in our hotel in near future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Alay
Hotel Ibersol Alay
#25 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
0.1 mi away
MS Alay Apartments
MS Alay Apartments
#23 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palmasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palmasol

Property: Hotel Palmasol
Address: Avenida Mar 7, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palmasol 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palmasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Palmasol Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Palmasol Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing