We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Beach Club - get a sea view”
Review of Sunset Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Beach Club
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sunset Beach Club - get a sea view”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Just back from Sunset Beach- perfect location and the outside areas of the hotel are very clean and well maintained. The Oasis restaurant was an unexpected plus, we ate there as is was very convenient but went back again because the standard was great and good value. The evening entertainment in the restaurant was good easy listening. The Moonlite theatre was cheesy but still good fun. On the down side make sure you get a sea view we were allocated a "mountain" view really a view of Burger King and a petrol station! However the hotel was very accommodating and agreed to move us the next day to a sea view which was excellent. The standard of the rooms was adequate but could really use an upgrade especially the linens and towels. Overall a good stay but could get really busy in the high summer not a lot of shade at the pool areas so you need to be there early for shade!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor away from reception area =excellent - 6th and above with a sea view es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,258
    1,006
    368
    116
    83
See reviews for
1,328
832
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,009)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We have just returned from the Sunset Beach Club apts following a week holidaying there and it was just perfect. We booked an interior room with breakfast included for us and our 4 year old son. Our apartment had everything and more than we expected and was spotlessley clean. The bed linen and towels had a fresh clean smell. The outdoor play area for kids is fantastic and the time of year made it perfect for the age group and number of children on it at any one time. Although the water in the pools was still cool, the area around it, including the public toilets were spotless. The pool bar was reasonably priced, however I feel the main restuarant wasn't as keenly priced for families. It was a nice walk to the eating areas in the evening (15 mins) and another 10 to the main marina.
The only reason I haven't choosen excellent when rating this property is down to the time-share agents at the hotel, even though they don't claim to be selling time-share (!) the invite to a meeting with them at the VIP suite is false and the information they give you is sketchy and can't be confirmed until you actually sign up which scary, ultimately it is timeshare. We actually never managed to get our voucher for a free weeks' accomodation because we did not agree to sitting through a 45 min presentation, which was another con.
We will return to this hotel, probably again out of school term.

Room Tip: We found interior rooms to be fine, a view from the outside rooms would have been much nicer. If not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I recently travelled to Benalmadina for a four day hen party. We're a group of girls in our late 20s-early 30s and we wanted somewhere which had some good nightlife, a nice beach but wouldn't be a target for lager louts and 18-30 type crowds.
Benalmadina didn't disappoint. The marina is lovely with a great selection of bars and restaurants and the nightlife was lively but not 'in-your-face'.
Sunset beach was in a fantastic location, right on the beach, within walking distance of the town and a short taxi journey to the marina (although we did walk this in about 45 minutes if you fancy a stroll on the beach).
The rooms were spotless and well equipped. We shared 3 to a room and found the size and comfort was spot on.
The hotel itself has 2 pools, a gym and an indoor supermarket. The staff in the main bar were very quick and attentive and cocktails were good value and went down far too easily.
Check in/out was quick and easy and we were able to check into our rooms early.
There was another hen party staying in the hotel but neither us nor the others were there to play up - and there were plenty of couples and families staying in the hotel who we often got chatting to.
The atmosphere was generally happy and relaxed.

The two negatives of the break were:
1. The weather - it rained 3/4 days but it was April so it was probably to be expected - we were fine because of the size of our group but I imagine a family with young kids or couples may have been bored. There is an indoor pool and spa but it was located at the back of the gym and felt a bit uncomfortable walking through so we gave it a miss.
2. The main restaurant staff were not ready for the onslaught of guests who turned up to get out of the rain - the food was pretty good but there were so many mistakes and the language barrier between us and the manager seemed to confuse the order even more. That said, some of the meals going out looked lovely and ours was okay, but probably would just eat out or use the pool bar for snacks if we returned.

I would certainly return to both Benalmadina and Sunset Beach with friends, family or my partner. It was a lovely place and I far preferred it to Fuengurola where we ventured on our last night, which was quite letchy and not really our sort of place - that said we partied until 6am, sometimes it's all about your own company, and that ddid make the trip very special!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyFrankland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

i have jus come back from a stag weekend with 12 other lads and i think we would all agree never to go back to these apartmens again we had cock roaches in the rooms my iphone 4s was stolen from my room(CLEANERS) 200EURO slolen from another room(CLEANERS)and smaller amonts of money stolen from most of the other lads rooms(CLEANERS) the staff were ignorent the food was horrible the beer was expensive and they only give you little plastic cups all and all its a kip full of THIEFS DONT GO ANYWERE NEAR IT

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry and concerned to hear about the problems you experienced on your holiday and would like to assure you that we take this type of incident extremely seriously.

In your review you make some strong accusations about our cleaning staff; however without a full investigation into the matter, it would be unfair to accuse our cleaners. I must point out that this is the first time I’ve received this type of complaint - it’s normally completely the opposite - guests are usually extremely complementary about the work our cleaning team carry out on a daily basis.

We are always quick to investigate this type of incident as soon as we are made aware of the problem; however, in this case, no report was made to reception or our security team during your stay so we had no knowledge of any of the allegations made. I would urge you to get in contact with us as soon as possible so that we may investigate further.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

this place has everything we want with lots of facilities including small supermarket on site. Loved the free shows and great sports bar with loads of televisions all round. Staff fantastic all round the building. We had planned to tour after a few days at Sunset but we were so comfortable we stayed nearly 3 weeks.

Room Tip: south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrywright_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

a fantastic hotel !
very clean the staff dont stop,
rang in advance to gain access early and ask for 3 rooms on 1 floor. on arrival we got what we asked for :-)
a quick check in
we went 8/05/2012 so maybe a little quieter but suited us perfectly
there is a nightclub & bar on 5th floor so if you have children ask to avoid it in advance

Room Tip: ring or e mail to avoid 5th floor with children, interior rooms balconys face each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meadowCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Spent a week here in on an RCI exchange...NOISY everywhere. We were on the 14th floor, mountain view. Road noise all day and into night. Kids and adults screaming in hallways, running, banging on doors all thru the night. Lobby is noisy with tvs and shouting from bar and children everywhere with balls, running into people and shouting. Since wifi is only available in lobby on had to go there at least once a day. The dining room on first floor is so noisy that we only went in once for a late lunch. Food lousy. The pool area is nice. Room needs to be refurbished. Sofa was so dirty we spread a sheet on it before sitting. Little kitchen is adequate. Be sure to eat at La Cala just up the street a bit.

Room Tip: High up overlooking pool would probably be best...you'll get morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theflyingcrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,720 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,986 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Club

Property: Sunset Beach Club
Address: Avenida del Sol 5, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#8 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Beach Club, Benalmadena, is a popular beachfront 4 *** resort featuring: two spectacular open-air pools, bars, restaurants, shops, a bakery and much more! The perfect setting to enjoy Costa de Sol´s immaculate climate; year round live entertainment; modern and fully equipped apartments with one bedroom, private balcony and individual climate control. Sunset Beach Club, your complete holiday destination on the Costa Del Sol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Club Hotel Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Spain
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Club Spain
Sunset Beach Club Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing