We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for weddings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Beach Club
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent for weddings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Always made feel like royalty throughout our stay, this exceptional hotel boasts panoramic views, an excellent vast selection in its value buffet breakfast, extensive hotel anemities and a prime location on the costa del sol.
Fantastic value for our wedding that included drinks throughout our wedding ceremony, coctail reception, and meal. We added the extra of having an open bar throughout the disco for our guests and we were astonished as to how low the bill was, we would not have gotten even a toast for the amount in Ireland. Food was amazing to say the least, and even though its common for the larger hotels to loose the personal touch, this was not the case for this big friendly giant.
Extremely well kept and clean premises, its a wonder this hotel is not a five star!
Beautiful rooms with comfortable beds, seperate kitchen and balcony view rooms that are picturesque.
Definatly will stay again, all other hotels in the area fail in comparison! (as per our wedding guests that stayed in alternative accomodation)
Staff that go well beyond the call of duty for every guest are an asset to this giant in the sun :)
Great for kids too with its outdoor play area, something for everybody it even has bowling as an anemity. Great Value all round!

Room Tip: sea view rooms are beautiful, honeymoon suite delightful. all rooms my guests had were beautiful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,186
    925
    346
    109
    80
See reviews for
1,231
781
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (959)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

I had stayed at the Sunset Beach Club in August 2001 after graduating from university and rememebered this to be a lovely hotel right on the beach. What a difference 11 years makes.

My partner and I booked a 1 night stay on Sat 25 Feb with 2 earlier nights at the H10 Andalucia Plaza in Puerto Banus (which is really lovely btw and really is a 4*), We were allocated a high floor room with a mountain view which was quite noisy from the road noise but the view was actually quite decent given some of the horrors I had read on here.

The room was very dated and everything just seemed old beyond its time. I swear it was exactly the same furniture from 2001 as nothing had changed! Bedroom area and bed were tiny (awful linen) and kitchenette had a leaking fridge which made a mess all over the floor. It was clean but not enough by my standards and I felt quite disheartened to be staying there having come from the lovely H10 which had just been refurbished so everything was new!

The location i think is fine, but it depends what you want to do and how much walking you like. We were visiting relatives in the area so it was ideally located for us but yes, a long way from the Marina and an expensive taxi ride back.

The hotel just seemed very tired and in need of a refurbishment to cope with the volume of people passing through. We didn't spend much for the room booking (£59 I think so you get what you pay for I guess). Breakfast was simply awful. Watery concentrate orange juice, cardboard toast and I felt like I'd arrived at a holiday camp carrying my little tray and fetching my own cuttlery! Awful experience.

My partner's family who visited us at the hotel thought it was decent, but they are in their 50s and 60s so depends what you like (I am in my early 30s) and in fact booked a stay there early May which they enjoyed, but also had a rubbish interior room so paid extra for an upgrade. But I personally wouldn't go back. Very "Brits Abroad" feel about the place and yes, pool area very small for the number of hotel rooms.

Not for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor mountain or beach view (if you can get it). Say no to an interior room as awful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sunset Beach Club. The suites were very clean as were all the public areas. The breakfast buffet had many choices but could have used a bit of variation day to day. Dinners were excellent as was the service. It was also great to have the opportunity to cook our own meals if we desired. We would go back again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norbrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I stayed for a week here 6th-13th May and it was very enjoyable. The hotel and outside areas are spotlessly clean and offer everything you could need during your holiday. The food in hotel restaurant (Oasis) was very good and the added bonus of the entertainment brought us back most nights. Check out Ricky Lavazza (sun/wed) - he is brilliant. Our room (640) had a view of the Marina and mountains and it was beautiful to watch the sun rise over the mountains every morning at 730am. The apartments are well furnished and cleaned every day. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. Its a nice walk to the marina and there are loads of places to stop for a beer or a bite to eat along the way. I would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Exterior room with a sea view have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hynes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Just back from Sunset Beach- perfect location and the outside areas of the hotel are very clean and well maintained. The Oasis restaurant was an unexpected plus, we ate there as is was very convenient but went back again because the standard was great and good value. The evening entertainment in the restaurant was good easy listening. The Moonlite theatre was cheesy but still good fun. On the down side make sure you get a sea view we were allocated a "mountain" view really a view of Burger King and a petrol station! However the hotel was very accommodating and agreed to move us the next day to a sea view which was excellent. The standard of the rooms was adequate but could really use an upgrade especially the linens and towels. Overall a good stay but could get really busy in the high summer not a lot of shade at the pool areas so you need to be there early for shade!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor away from reception area =excellent - 6th and above with a sea view es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We have just returned from the Sunset Beach Club apts following a week holidaying there and it was just perfect. We booked an interior room with breakfast included for us and our 4 year old son. Our apartment had everything and more than we expected and was spotlessley clean. The bed linen and towels had a fresh clean smell. The outdoor play area for kids is fantastic and the time of year made it perfect for the age group and number of children on it at any one time. Although the water in the pools was still cool, the area around it, including the public toilets were spotless. The pool bar was reasonably priced, however I feel the main restuarant wasn't as keenly priced for families. It was a nice walk to the eating areas in the evening (15 mins) and another 10 to the main marina.
The only reason I haven't choosen excellent when rating this property is down to the time-share agents at the hotel, even though they don't claim to be selling time-share (!) the invite to a meeting with them at the VIP suite is false and the information they give you is sketchy and can't be confirmed until you actually sign up which scary, ultimately it is timeshare. We actually never managed to get our voucher for a free weeks' accomodation because we did not agree to sitting through a 45 min presentation, which was another con.
We will return to this hotel, probably again out of school term.

Room Tip: We found interior rooms to be fine, a view from the outside rooms would have been much nicer. If not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

I recently travelled to Benalmadina for a four day hen party. We're a group of girls in our late 20s-early 30s and we wanted somewhere which had some good nightlife, a nice beach but wouldn't be a target for lager louts and 18-30 type crowds.
Benalmadina didn't disappoint. The marina is lovely with a great selection of bars and restaurants and the nightlife was lively but not 'in-your-face'.
Sunset beach was in a fantastic location, right on the beach, within walking distance of the town and a short taxi journey to the marina (although we did walk this in about 45 minutes if you fancy a stroll on the beach).
The rooms were spotless and well equipped. We shared 3 to a room and found the size and comfort was spot on.
The hotel itself has 2 pools, a gym and an indoor supermarket. The staff in the main bar were very quick and attentive and cocktails were good value and went down far too easily.
Check in/out was quick and easy and we were able to check into our rooms early.
There was another hen party staying in the hotel but neither us nor the others were there to play up - and there were plenty of couples and families staying in the hotel who we often got chatting to.
The atmosphere was generally happy and relaxed.

The two negatives of the break were:
1. The weather - it rained 3/4 days but it was April so it was probably to be expected - we were fine because of the size of our group but I imagine a family with young kids or couples may have been bored. There is an indoor pool and spa but it was located at the back of the gym and felt a bit uncomfortable walking through so we gave it a miss.
2. The main restaurant staff were not ready for the onslaught of guests who turned up to get out of the rain - the food was pretty good but there were so many mistakes and the language barrier between us and the manager seemed to confuse the order even more. That said, some of the meals going out looked lovely and ours was okay, but probably would just eat out or use the pool bar for snacks if we returned.

I would certainly return to both Benalmadina and Sunset Beach with friends, family or my partner. It was a lovely place and I far preferred it to Fuengurola where we ventured on our last night, which was quite letchy and not really our sort of place - that said we partied until 6am, sometimes it's all about your own company, and that ddid make the trip very special!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyFrankland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#4 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Siroco
Best Siroco
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Club

Property: Sunset Beach Club
Address: Avenida del Sol 5, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#7 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Beach Club, Benalmadena, is a popular beachfront 4 *** resort featuring: two spectacular open-air pools, bars, restaurants, shops, a bakery and much more! The perfect setting to enjoy Costa de Sol´s immaculate climate; year round live entertainment; modern and fully equipped apartments with one bedroom, private balcony and individual climate control. Sunset Beach Club, your complete holiday destination on the Costa Del Sol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Onthebeach so you can book your Sunset Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Club Hotel Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Spain
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Club Spain
Sunset Beach Club Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing