We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, location & facilities”
Review of Sunset Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Beach Club
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This is our 4th stay in a one bedroom apartment, overlooking pools and sea. On the positive side, the room (although slightly dated) was comfortable, with AC, balcony and kitchen. We liked sunbeds and outdoor pools plus they had a well equipped gym, indoor pool, bars, restaurants, shops and evening entertainment, if you wanted it.
Location is ideal, on seafront, near to beach, supermarket, restaurants, bars, shops, buses to Malaga, Arroyo del la Miel (town centre), Fuengirola, etc.
On the negatives side, it is a big hotel and lifts can be busy at meal times, but this is only a minor inconvenience.
Staff were very friendly and helpful - an ideal spot for families and couples.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking pools / sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Suburban_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,087 - 2,093 of 2,998 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed here for 1 week end of may.
Rooms: clean and comfortable. Sea view is nice, mountain view is overlooking main road and very busy taxi rank. External rooms are a must.
Staff: very friendly, very helpful and try to accommodate where possible.
Food: buffet breakfast average quality but good value if you have a big appetite, always the same selection though so you can get bored by day 3. Lunch menu in restaurant is quite nice, pizzas are delicious but food is quite expensive, lunch at the tiki lounge snack bar is not good ok for the youngsters who are drinking all day and just want something to line their stomach.
Hotel: good amenities, 2 pools and 1 baby pool. Indoor pool, gym, hairdressers, massage and spa, supermarket, 2 restaurants, snack pool bar, numerous bars, show bar with some great free shows.
Location: a bit out of the way, if you extremely fit and able bodied then great, for everyone else it's a bus or expensive taxi ride. Beautiful resort with a lovely marina. Not many bars and restaurants within easy walking distance if you have a wheelchair with you as we did.
General: hotel is mainly occupied by young families and hen/stag parties, if your looking for a quiet relaxing holiday then this is probably not the place for you. We were woken about midnight most nights when all the families were going to bed, kids running down corridors and screaming then again about 4.30am most mornings as the young revellers were coming in. It's beyond me why these people don't have respect for other people, especially in the early hours of the morning, they must realise people are sleeping in their rooms. Also if you need to use the lifts you could be in for a long wait, this is a very big hotel and not enough lifts in the main corridors for everybody. Use the supermarket across the road, down by burger king or turn left as you come out of the hotel 5 min walk as these are much cheaper than the hotels supermarket. Also if u turn left there is a couple of restaurants up there which are all pretty good.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
5  Thank mollykitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sunset Beach Club and in particular, for your kind comments about our rooms and staff.

I was sorry to read your comments about the food in our Tikki pool bar and will be sure to pass them on to our Operations Director so that they may be taken into consideration when the time comes to review the menu options.

As you quite rightly point out, at this time of year (high season and school holidays) our hotel welcomes many families and several groups looking for a fun weekend away. I’m just sorry you had to experience noise disturbance. We operate a strict policy to ensure noise levels are respected throughout the hotel and our 24 hour security team are on call to enforce this policy. Usually a call down to reception is all that is needed to put an end to this anti social behaviour, however, it seems in your case this did not happen, and for this I apologise.

Obviously, during the lower winter and early spring seasons, the hotel is quieter and a good option for anyone looking for a more peaceful and quiet holiday. That being said, facilities such as our Salitos Bar and Luna Beach Club (open during the summer months) do offer guests the opportunity to get away from the busier main hotel building and prove extremely popular for a relaxing evening out.

Thank you once again for your constructive comments and feedback and I hope the issues you experienced don’t deter you from coming to stay with us again in the near future; perhaps at a quieter time of year?

Yours sincerely,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I stayed in one of their apartment for one month in April. It included a complete kitchen so it was possible to cook. The apartment had an alcove style bedroom with two single beds, and in the main room, the sofa was a hide-a-bed.
There was a good size convenience store for food, although there was a full size grocery within 5 minutes.
The dining room was nice and not expensive, but the menu was quite limited and not Spanish at all! It turns out most of the customers are from the British Isles and they cater to their taste.
All the balconies had a straight unobstructed view of the sea - wonderful. The two pools were nice once the weather was warm enough, because they are not heated.
I see they cater to families - lots of them around Easter. It is a pity that they do not have some suites with better beds for adults for a long stay, because the beds were very narrow - not standard american single beds.

At the moment the WIFI service is restricted to the lobby area. Fine for a short stay, but definitely substandard for a four star resort. Many activities were advertised on a board, but I did not see any taking place.
After a week I discovered there was an indoor pool adjoining the fitness club. It was not part of the hotel package but required purchasing an additional membership. Again it was not well advertised and they were not busy.
They had a nightclub - not Spanish but British.

Room Tip: Avoid the 5th floor - that is where the nightclub is located. I was on the 8th and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canadian_cyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Brilliant pools. Great food. A mini supermarket, very handy. Friendly staff. Easy to park.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gizgog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

4th time back at Sunset Beach and was fab as always. Great apartments with everything you could possibley need! Fantastic facilities/staff/supermarket/entertainment/restaurant and bars!! travelled as 5 adults 2 teenagers and a 6 month old baby. Requested rooms together - no problem!! cot etc perfect and staff so helpful!! going back ASAP

Room Tip: Always go for exterior with pool or sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aidee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Always made feel like royalty throughout our stay, this exceptional hotel boasts panoramic views, an excellent vast selection in its value buffet breakfast, extensive hotel anemities and a prime location on the costa del sol.
Fantastic value for our wedding that included drinks throughout our wedding ceremony, coctail reception, and meal. We added the extra of having an open bar throughout the disco for our guests and we were astonished as to how low the bill was, we would not have gotten even a toast for the amount in Ireland. Food was amazing to say the least, and even though its common for the larger hotels to loose the personal touch, this was not the case for this big friendly giant.
Extremely well kept and clean premises, its a wonder this hotel is not a five star!
Beautiful rooms with comfortable beds, seperate kitchen and balcony view rooms that are picturesque.
Definatly will stay again, all other hotels in the area fail in comparison! (as per our wedding guests that stayed in alternative accomodation)
Staff that go well beyond the call of duty for every guest are an asset to this giant in the sun :)
Great for kids too with its outdoor play area, something for everybody it even has bowling as an anemity. Great Value all round!

Room Tip: sea view rooms are beautiful, honeymoon suite delightful. all rooms my guests had were beautiful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I had stayed at the Sunset Beach Club in August 2001 after graduating from university and rememebered this to be a lovely hotel right on the beach. What a difference 11 years makes.

My partner and I booked a 1 night stay on Sat 25 Feb with 2 earlier nights at the H10 Andalucia Plaza in Puerto Banus (which is really lovely btw and really is a 4*), We were allocated a high floor room with a mountain view which was quite noisy from the road noise but the view was actually quite decent given some of the horrors I had read on here.

The room was very dated and everything just seemed old beyond its time. I swear it was exactly the same furniture from 2001 as nothing had changed! Bedroom area and bed were tiny (awful linen) and kitchenette had a leaking fridge which made a mess all over the floor. It was clean but not enough by my standards and I felt quite disheartened to be staying there having come from the lovely H10 which had just been refurbished so everything was new!

The location i think is fine, but it depends what you want to do and how much walking you like. We were visiting relatives in the area so it was ideally located for us but yes, a long way from the Marina and an expensive taxi ride back.

The hotel just seemed very tired and in need of a refurbishment to cope with the volume of people passing through. We didn't spend much for the room booking (£59 I think so you get what you pay for I guess). Breakfast was simply awful. Watery concentrate orange juice, cardboard toast and I felt like I'd arrived at a holiday camp carrying my little tray and fetching my own cuttlery! Awful experience.

My partner's family who visited us at the hotel thought it was decent, but they are in their 50s and 60s so depends what you like (I am in my early 30s) and in fact booked a stay there early May which they enjoyed, but also had a rubbish interior room so paid extra for an upgrade. But I personally wouldn't go back. Very "Brits Abroad" feel about the place and yes, pool area very small for the number of hotel rooms.

Not for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor mountain or beach view (if you can get it). Say no to an interior room as awful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
1.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,898 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,856 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Club

Address: Avenida del Sol 5, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#9 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £34 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Beach Club, Benalmadena, is a popular beachfront 4 *** resort featuring: two spectacular open-air pools, bars, restaurants, shops, a bakery and much more! The perfect setting to enjoy Costa de Sol´s immaculate climate; year round live entertainment; modern and fully equipped apartments with one bedroom, private balcony and individual climate control. Sunset Beach Club, your complete holiday destination on the Costa Del Sol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunset Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Club Hotel Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Spain
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Club Spain
Sunset Beach Club Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing