We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Beach Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Velazquez(Benalmadena)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Greco(Benalmadena)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,091)
Filter reviews
3,091 results
Traveller rating
1,345
1,120
407
130
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,345
1,120
407
130
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoasis restaurantmoonlight barsea viewinterior roompool areaburger kingbeauty salonhotel supermarketonsite supermarketpetrol stationtime sharethe sofa bedgames roomone bedroom apartmentjunior suitelovely hotelfamily holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,011 - 2,016 of 3,091 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We had two weeks in room 432 which had amazing views but boy was it noisy. It was directly over the service area and we didn't need an alarm for breakfast, as we were awoken each morning by the sound of breaking glass, staff on their morning break and beer barrels being thrown on the cement.

Also disappointed at two very small single beds, and having two weeks the menu didn't change so were forced to eat out to get some variety in food.


We were originally given room 431 but when we saw the size of it and no window in the bedroom we asked to be changed. Overall the hotel was ok but because of the noisy apartment I would not return to the Sunset Beach.

Room Tip: Do not stay in any rooms facing the Marina!!!!! Great view but not quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irelandteresaireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay in Tripadvisor.

I’m very sorry that you’re holiday was affected by noise. Some of our apartments do indeed face the service area and although we do our best to reduce noise from staff and suppliers, this is sometimes difficult to control. The apartment you were allocated is actually a little larger than our standard units but does have the disadvantage of its proximity to the service area.

I have made a note of your comments about the menu; however, I must add that changing the a la carte menu on a regular basis would be very difficult for an operation of our size. In an effort to create a little more variety, we have introduced a daily set menu with different options each day which many guests seem to be enjoying.

I sincerely hope you will re-consider your decision not to stay at Sunset Beach Club again; I’m convinced that if you were to stay in another apartment – perhaps one facing the pool – your impression of the hotel would be different.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We had a sea view, which was brilliant! Ask for this. Avoid level 5 (function room) if you like a quiet weekend night...or go and join in...(One of ours was a wedding, so joining in wasn't an option...and it was noisy..but then, bless....) Apartment just excellent..great beds. Staff amazing...polite and so hardworking! Non stop. Very clean pool area..(in fact, all over) the staff start on this early in the morning scrubbing down the whole place. Mozarella and tomato salad lovely, as is the prawn pili pili....not the goat's cheese tart. Downstairs supermarket very handy. Then there's Dorothy...the lovely sun-tan rep who comes round with a wee dollop of sunscreen if you're looking pink. Poolside bar pleasant and relaxed. When we went it wasn't too busy, plenty of space to give that bit of anonymity. There's a happy hour and plenty of fine craic from all the Irish golfers! Buses into the more frenetic areas of Malaga etc. just otside the next hotel up...and up to the pueblo which is all white and flowers..gorgeous.

Room Tip: Sea view a must. Not level five for a quiet weekend (although, if you say "not near to the function suite", it should be ok.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LOUISETHELMA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Just back from a stay in the apartments at this hotel, there was 8 of us that went! Can fault nothing, great location, not far from benalmadina marina! Defo worth a visit if you go, beautiful! We didn't eat at the hotel at nights we went out for food, it was very cheap to eat out! We had breakfast in the hotel and there was was everything you can imagine and it was lovely! In the hotel was a supermarket, beauty salon, which i had a facial and wax and it was great :), hairdressers, gym, indoor and out door pools, games room, which was fun and there is something for any age in there! There was no night time entertainment but we always went out at night walks! Hotel rooms were very clean, couldn't fault anything with the rooms!

Room Tip: we has the room facing the pool (sea view room) was lovely waking up to the pool and the sea in the mornings! Defo worth the money!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayls8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor and in particular for your kind comments about our hotel.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and managed to get out and see some of the great attractions Benalmadena has to offer – I agree that the Marina is a must see!

I’m sorry you didn’t get to try our restaurants during this visit as – apart from great food – you would have been able to enjoy live music every evening; hopefully you’ll get a chance to do so on a future visit.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback,

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Absolutely fantastic Hotel which caters for everyone's needs. Entertainment for both kids and adults was amazing and anything you could possibly require is available on site. One of the CLEANEST resorts we have ever stayed in and staff members from all areas were so efficient, helpful and friendly. Apartments had all mod cons and so clean. We will be returning to this Hotel next year for sure.

Room Tip: Worth the extra money for external room with a view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bronagh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We attended this hotel for four nights as part of a wedding party. It is a very large complex and delivers what it promises. The staff are nice and the rooms are acceptable, if a little shabby.
My one complaint is that when my wife and I ordered Bacardi on a few occasions at the bar it was not Bacardi that was served to us. We found this scam quite common on our travels throughout Spain. Why do they do it? Bacardi is quite cheap in Spain but I suppose the knock offs are even cheaper.

Room Tip: Don't order Bacardi
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shay55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you so much for posting a review of your stay at Sunset Beach Club and for your kind comments about our facilities and staff.

I was very sorry to read your comments about the Bacardi you ordered on several occasions. I assure you that we purchase all our drinks brands from reputable distributors and cannot understand what could have happened as the only rum we stock is in fact Bacardi. I have passed a copy of your review on to our Operations Director and would be very grateful if you could contact us directly to let us know in which of our bars this occurred, was it all of them or just one? Your help in this matter would be most appreciated as it will help find out exactly what happened.

I apologise once again for any inconvenience caused and sincerely hope this incident won’t deter you from coming back to Sunset Beach Club in the future.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews