We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sun, Sea and great Golf”
Review of Sunset Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Beach Club
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sun, Sea and great Golf”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Just back from Malaga where I stayed in the fabulous Sunset Beach Hotel, also played in La Cala golf resort, also owned by the same hotel. Great time had by all, Sun, Sea, Food, Drinks and great Golf, a must for all golfers.........

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay at Sunset Beach Club.

I’m so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you got to play golf at our sister resort in La Cala and make the most of the sunshine our Coast is famous for.

I certainly hope you will come back again soon for another golfing holiday!

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,223
    973
    358
    113
    83
See reviews for
1,277
815
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmaurs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Stayed here for a week during October with my husband and teenage daughter.
The hotel was good;our apartment was clean and well appointed. I would agree with other posts that it was a bit on the small side but we managed for the week. Plenty of entertainment and within walking distance of bars, restaurants etc. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Prices were reasonable too, we found that was the case in the resort as well as the hotel. The weather was a bit disappointing- we had days where it was quite cool for the time of year and also at night it would be chilly. However that can't be helped and I would definitely go back during the summer.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view overlooking the pool as well. The sea view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

went to this hotel last year for my hen party and was delighted , all was fab. so much so that i ranted to my hubby about it and we decided to visit here for ten days with our son during midterm.
check in, perfect, allowed check in at 12, room all ready, cleaned. cleaned every day, cleaning ladys amazing.
kids club, fantastic thank you to all involved running it. my son had a fab time. the entertainers do a great job.
went to beauty salon for a facial and head massage, again brilliant. pool could maybe be heated as it was freezing but my son and hubby still swam in the rain.
food in restaurant is great, try the chateu briand AMAZING.

bad parts..... we got a call off the "guest services" after 3 days asking did we get a bottle of champagne? we said no and she asked could she pop up. we were delighted, thought maybe because we were on honeymoon it might be for that. so up she comes, asks us is everything ok, all rooms cleaned, happy enough, if we were there before. happy enough there. then she asks would we come back and we said of course, i was here before and we were delighted wiht hotel. so she tells us she is inviting us up to the vip lounge with internet access always available for kids to let us know about the amazing offers in the hotel for next year and show us the new 2 bedroom apartments and the 5 million euro renovation in hotel. she also said we would get a free lunch voucher on arrival. so up we go the next day and straight away you know its a time share set up. they took my son over to play on laptops (which obviously arent for use every day for vip) and out comes a man to use. tells us all about the 5 million euro renovation (in a water type park further away from hotel). he asks us what we do for a living and we said were both college students, he says "oh so how do i make the spondoolies from you" its a time share thing and your obviusly not interested. we have never been so insulted in our lives. because we dont work he assumed we were broke and couldnt afford this "amazing deal".
he shook our hands, walked off and didnt want to give us the meal voucher. i was so insulted and infuriated. we were lied to, told we would be advised on discounts for booking next year (which we were going to book) and it was nothing of the sort. im guessing she wasnt guest services but worked for this company DIVERSIFIED

other bad thing was although the room and hotel was spotlessly clean, for the last couple of days my son and husband woke with bites everywhere. my son still has them on his face, fingers and bottom.

overall i would have loved to return to the hotel next year, was even going to book for my mam and dads wedding anniversary but now, DIVERSIFIED ruined it for us. we were lied to, cheated and made feel cheap and so small.

sunset beach club, you should sort this out and not have dealings with them again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonbonIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sunset Beach Club and for your compliments about our hotel facilities and service.

Although it seems you enjoyed most of your holiday, I was very concerned to read your comments about your experience with the team from Diversified. They are a company operating within the hotel premises that provide holiday ownership products and are a completely independent company; that being said, they have been in operation for over 15 years and have a very good reputation within the industry. I assure you the experience you describe is not the norm and consequently I shall be passing a copy of this review on to the relevant parties so that action can be taken to ensure this does not happen again.

I sincerely hope this unfortunate incident does not deter you from coming back to Sunset Beach Club again in the future.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback,

Yours sincerely,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Just back from a week at sunset beach club. The hotel is lovely but don't go here if you are looking for a peaceful week. You can hear everything in the other rooms and they are quite small. I couldn't imagine 4 people in this apartment. A pair of slippers for women and felt pads on the bottom of the furniture wouldn't go amiss either! The staff are helpful and friendly and food in restaurant good. Good if you have children but not for couples looking for a peaceful break. Don't think I would book here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les2647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and for your kind comments about out hotel.

I’m sorry you found your stay a little noisy. I don't know the exact dates of your stay but assume you stayed during the half term break and at these times the hotel is popular with families and is therefore at full occupancy. For couples looking for a more peaceful break, I would probably recommend staying at a quieter time of year (when there are no school holidays). That being said, we do get lots of couples who come and stay with us when the hotel is busy and enjoy the fun atmosphere around the hotel; it just depends on what you are looking for.

I certainly hope you will contemplate staying with us again at a quieter time of year.

Thank you once again for your feedback,

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

we went to this hotel with our son and daughter in law and 3 grandchildren all aged 11 (triplets)on the 20th oct for 10 days .we arrived there at 11 in the morning and even though it says that u cant check in till 4 our apartments were ready .the weather was a bit hit and miss but we all enjoyed the time together and the children loved the mini disco and the entertainment that was on as well .the maid came in everyday and gave us clean towels and made the beds and tidied round ,and also the sheets were changed 3 times while we were there .we will certainly go back again

Room Tip: we stayed on the 3rd floor and found this to be ideal over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This was a great value holiday, there was plenty to do in the hotel if you did not want to venture out too far. The views were beautiful with the new promenade around the hotel, and it is clear why the hotel was granted an additional star in 2010 it is even lovelier now than it was the last time we went with the new bars on the beach, next time we shall go in season when these bars are open to get the full ambience of the perfect holiday resort for a family.

Room Tip: Try not to get the groundfloor you cannot get a clear view of the sea due to the bushes in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanyae154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

My family stayed here in October 2012 and had a lovely time. We found our apartment on the ninth floor to be perfect for our needs. Beautiful view over the sea. Brilliant choices for breakfast (all buffet). The apartment was spotless and had plenty of storage for our cases and clothes etc. The bathroom was lovely and clean also. The kitchen also was very well equipped. A couple of nice touches included being able to print out the boarding passes from a computer at reception. Also they have a really good weighing scales on the 6th floor. Very handy for avoiding paying over weight charges. Great facilities including supermarket, hairdressers, beauty salon. Definitely a great place for families with younger children. Will be back!

Room Tip: the further up you go the better to avoid noise from weddings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Club

Property: Sunset Beach Club
Address: Avenida del Sol 5, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#7 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Beach Club, Benalmadena, is a popular beachfront 4 *** resort featuring: two spectacular open-air pools, bars, restaurants, shops, a bakery and much more! The perfect setting to enjoy Costa de Sol´s immaculate climate; year round live entertainment; modern and fully equipped apartments with one bedroom, private balcony and individual climate control. Sunset Beach Club, your complete holiday destination on the Costa Del Sol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Club Hotel Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Spain
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Club Spain
Sunset Beach Club Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing