We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good experience overall”
Review of Sunset Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Beach Club
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Tulla, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good experience overall”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We are just back from the sunset beach club where we spent a week. Overall we had a positive experience. Our apartment which was on the second floor overlooked the sea which was fab. it was fine, spacious and very well kept. The air conditioning was not as good as it might have been and the room was hot at night time. Our experience at the snack bar was not good, our food was poor and we did not venture back again. We got a take away pizza from the restaurant on another day and that was not very good either. The pools were great and our five year old had a ball as the place is very family friendly. She went to the kids club on one occasion and it was fine. All told it was a pleasant trip and I would consider returning

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments about our hotel and facilities.

I’m so pleased you were happy with your apartment and that your five year old enjoyed herself in the pools and at the kids club.

I’m sorry that the air conditioning in your room wasn’t working correctly. Did you contact Reception about this? I hope you were not too inconvenienced. I have also made a note of your comments about the food in the snack bar and restaurant and will be sure to pass these on to our Operations Director so that he can speak to the kitchen team.

Thank you once again for your comments and I hope you will indeed return to Sunset Beach Club in the not-too-distant future.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,275
    1,027
    377
    122
    84
See reviews for
1,371
838
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,022)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

im just after coming back from sunset beach hotel i spent a week there as a cousin of mine got married there. wne stayed in a lovely apartment was spotless with a separate bedroom kitchen living space and balcony. it was fully equipped with everything including iron pots pans microwave kettle toaster and delph the whole lot was brilliant. we went across to the supermarket and bought a few items which kept us going for breakfast as we didnt bother including it in our booking! clean towels every day and room cleaned was brilliant they are very thorough i have to say!! downstairs there was 3 pools plenty of sun loungers but be warned its so so busy be down early around 10 to get one there is a policy which u cant reserve one as ur towels will be taken if ur not around!!! pool bar offers light bites and snacks which were very tasty and also is a restaurant bar downstairs too which is lovely for dinner if u dont want to leave hotel. burger king is straight across the road from hotel as is the supermarket called DIA. marina is a taxi ride away costing around 7 euro or a good walk about 40 minutes. there is plenty of restaurants down there great steak houses well worth a look!! night life isnt great down at the marina if im honest and the 24 hour square is no better this is my second time there and its not brilliant so dont expect a great night!! also there is a supermarket on ground floor of hotel a little on the expensive side tho but its convenient!! this place is great for all people families couples everyone really!! weather is fab and beach is a 3 minute walk away

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carliecoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Hi We booked a week in Sunset Beach in August for our family of four including 1 teenager after receiving a recommendation from our travel agent and to say that we were disappointed is an understatement- The hotel is huge with very small grounds which consist of the pool areas only(no gardens) with hundreds of sun-loungers in this area and most of the time it was impossible to get one as the reserved towel practice was been used even though this was against hotel policy- This inability to get a sunbed was made more irritating when it is a stated policy of the resort to welcome non residents so people could literally come off the street and get a sunbed and residents such as ourselves had to do without. With so many people mostly Irish in the hotel waiting for a lift became a huge chore and then when one came it was a free for all and you were crushed inside with many people in their swimwear and ignoring the hotel policy of wearing tops in public areas.
Our room was tiny with the kitchenette so small that to make a cup of coffee proved to be a chore, room was however clean and well maintained. Our room looked onto the very busy street which was never quiet.
To walk anyway took ages so we had to take taxis to the marina or to any of the local towns so this all added to the cost.
The food was good with efficient friendly restaurant staff- We did not find reservation staff very friendly and when looking for a recommendation for a town to visit we were sent to Arroyo de Miel which we did not find that appealing and subsequently on our own initiative we found Benalmedena de Pueblo which is a beautiful town and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for large suite with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busyincork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for choosing Sunset Beach Club for your recent family holiday and for taking the time to write a review of your experience here on Tripadvisor.

I was sorry to read that your stay did not live up to expectations. We are a large property and August is our busiest month of the year; this inevitably means that our pool areas are at full capacity and highly transited areas such as lifts do get busy. That being said, we do our best to ensure that rules and policies are adhered to (towels on sunbeds and wearing tops in public areas).

I would also like to clarify that the pool area is for hotel guests only. Yes, we allow non residents to use our restaurant but the pool area is strictly for people staying at Sunset Beach Club.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. I hope you’ll consider returning to Sunset Beach Club in the future, perhaps at a quieter time of year where the hotel and facilities are a little less crowded.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Have just spent 9 nights at the hotel, conveniently located however do not believe the reviews about the 15 mins walk to the marina, we are an active family and it took us 45 mins to walk. Also the road is very busy and pathways quite narrow so avoiding other pedestrians could get you run over. The hotel in itself is extremely busy, even though this is too be expected in august the hotel is very large but does not have enough outside ground area around the pool so as for the sunbeds they are all cramped together so you will not require any of your own suntan lotion as you are laying so close to others. there are lots of unruly children running about and was quite shocked to see one 5yr old being encouraged to drink cider by his parents, also whilst relaxing enjoying a glass of sangria with my meal in the open air restaurant i was spat on by one of the children from a higher floor which overlooked the restaurant, this will show you some of the clientele at the hotel. The rooms were very clean and services by all the hotel staff were very good, the pool area was cleaned daily. The entertainment for the children was excellent and the staff were fantastic, the pool is watched by a lifegaurd as we experienced one day that he dived in to save a small child struggling in the water being overlooked by his mother. The food is very good at the hotel but not much variety at all, we stayed on the second floor which had a pool and seaview but was spoilt by inconsiderate guests making noises from above and nearby rooms after midnight. one good advice a set of ear plugs would not go amiss !

Room Tip: 2nd floor with pool and sea view stay away from floor 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jayne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sunset Beach Club and for your kind comments about our hotel facilities and staff.

I am so sorry you were inconvenienced by some inconsiderate guests. We are a large resort with up to 2000 people onsite at any one time and whilst the large majority of our guests are well behaved and considerate towards fellow guests, there are sometimes exceptions. We do our best to stop unsociable behaviour from these offending parties; however, this is sometimes difficult to police.

I hope these unfortunate incidents did not spoil your holiday with us and that the positive experiences outweighed the negative.
Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and I hope you’ll come back again soon.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just returned from a 10 day stay at this hotel and have to say was thoroughly enjoyable, albeit a couple of things worth mentioning...

Can't fault the apartment whatsoever - we had a Deluxe apartment on the 7th floor which was fantastic - views were superb and had all you needed for a self catering apartment - king size very comfortable bed and the bed settee was actually 2 singles which could be completed detached from each other which was great as we 2 kids aged 8 & 12, Large screen TV with all the UK channels (ie BBC1/2, ITV, C4, C5 & Sky 1), Maid service excellent - towel changes every day and spotlessly clean and bathroom a bit small but fabulous shower.

The restaurants were excellent too - had breakfast on site a couple of time which was €9 for an adult and €5 per child so not cheap but eat as much as you like and was very nice too so we took advantage ! Poolside snack bar OK but pricey I thought especially drinks in that you pay €3.80 for a pint of beer or you go to the supermarket on site and pay just over €1 for a large can of San MIguel !!!

Entertainment average and not on for a couple of nights due to a couple of weddings taking place but to be fair we weren't overly interested in that anyway

Now for the couple of gripes both regarding the pool....

On sale in the onsite supermarket were water guns which, in my opinion, is a seriously bad idea....on several occasions the smaller pool became a bit of a warzone with kids (and sometimes adults) literally shooting each other so if you wanted to just cool off you kind of felt a little bit in the firing line and several people commented on the fact that it put them off going into the pool - there was obviously the other pool to go into but why should people feel intimidated ? Also, there were a couple of instances I saw where kids were having arguments with each other which kind of goes against the ethics of making new friends on holiday !

The second is the old 'towels on sunbeds' scenario....now, if you are going to create a rule it has to be for everyone and not when you feel like doing it.....the 'rule' is that if you put your towel down then you have to be sitting on it by 10am or it will be removed HOWEVER we did witness on a couple of occasions some were taken off but some weren't and we heard a few complaints about certain ones never being touched....favouritism maybe ?! Who knows....

Overall though we had a great break and would certainly return

Room Tip: 5th floor is very busy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent 10 day holiday and for your kind comments.

I’m so pleased you liked the Deluxe Suite you stayed in and that you enjoyed the meals you had in our restaurants.

I fully understand your comments about the water guns in the pool area and will be sure to pass these on to our General Manager. It’s a difficult situation as we are a family resort and would not want to spoil the kid’s fun in the pool by prohibiting the use of these water guns. That being said, parents need to ensure that their children are not intimidating other guests whilst using them and we will certainly do all we can to ensure proper use is made of them.

Regarding the ‘towels on sunbeds’ situation, I assure you the rules apply to all guests and our security team have strict instructions to enforce them. I will pass on a copy of your review to them to remind them of this and to ensure there is no favouritism.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the not-too-distant future.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from what can only be described as an amazing week in the sunset beach club. The hotel, apartments, pool areas.....everything, are absolutely spotless. The staff are friendly and efficient and always smiling. The food is great value and the order and collect option from the oasis was super handy with small children. Saved us cooking and also saved us having to sit in a restaraunt with two tired kids.

The apartments have everything you could need although I would say avoid the 5th floor if you have kids. It's very noisy at night. We had the third floor with a fab view of the beach/sea and mountains.
Hotel bakery is fantastic (I've been dreaming about the ham and cheese pastry squares since I got home) and the supermarket is really good value. It has everything.

Take a walk along the water to the hotels other bars.....beautiful beautiful beautiful.

Only downside is the couch bed in the apartments. Oh good god. It's literally a 2 inch mattress on a metal structure. We both need a chiropractor after the week. We ended up buying inflatable mattresses to sleep on. Not something you want to do on holiday but needs must.....and this really was a need. That really is my only complaint. I would still give the hotel, staff and overall experience a 5*. Thanks for a great holiday ;)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank xxharlowxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for choosing Sunset Beach Club for your recent holiday and for taking the time to write such a great review of your stay with us.

I’m delighted you found our takeaway service handy and that you enjoyed the ham and cheese pastries from the supermarket. I recommend you try the muffins next time!

I am very sorry that the sofa bed in your apartment was not up to standard. We are actually in the process of replacing some of the older sofas with newer, more comfortable models. I just hope you were not too inconvenienced by this.

Thank you for your valuable comments and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

On arrival we were given 2 adjoining rooms on the 5th floor, I had checked trip advisor on booking and seen the comments about this floor. We mentioned that we have a 5 year old in our party and wanted a quiet part of the hotel, the reception staff assured us that the rooms would be fine. That first night it is the worst night I have ever had in a hotel room in my life. The rooms were situated next door the night club, at 1am as the night club emptied it was like sleeping in a train station. Next morning we went to reception to complain, the reception staff looked bemused about our complaint and said nobody else has complained. Everybody on that floor that night must have been stone deaf! We were offered a couple of choices of replacement rooms, we chose a suite on the 7th floor. This suite was out of this world but came with a extra charge, bit of a upheaval but it was worth while. The rest of the stay in this hotel was absolutely fabulous, I would recommend this hotel for families as it ticks all the boxes for a great holiday. The paella making was a really nice touch by the pool on Tuesdays. The shop is well stocked, the staff apart from reception were brilliant. I would stay again but not on the 5th floor....! I advise a sea view we looked out on the main road but it was not a problem. My final rant is the fact that we received a phone call from guest services asking how our stay was, they were told the truth about our first night. They were sympathetic, and offered us a bottle of champagne. A member of the party stayed in because we were told it was on its way, it never turned up. On phoning reception he was told they did not have guest services, and it could have been anybody in the hotel ringing our room.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view and never ever stay on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steviefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

I would like to thank you for your kind comments about our hotel facilities and our staff and also take the opportunity to apologise for the noise problems you experienced on your first evening. Whilst this is difficult to control, we do try and ensure that noise is minimised in the 5th floor corridor by closing the access to the Moonlight Theatre at midnight. Any guests still in the bar have to leave through the external exit located on the opposite side and thereby avoid the noise caused by walking down the 5th floor corridor. You mentioned that the noise you experienced was at 1am and I would have to investigate to see what happened as the door should have been closed at midnight.

Regarding your incident with ‘guest services’, I will be sure to look into this too. The call you received will have been from a representative of the holiday ownership company located on the 9th floor of the hotel. They should have been clear about that and should have also delivered the bottle of champagne. I’m sorry of you were inconvenienced.

Thank you once again for your detailed feedback and I hope you’ll come back and visit us again in the not-too-distant future.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,771 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,267 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,096 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Club

Property: Sunset Beach Club
Address: Avenida del Sol 5, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#8 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Beach Club, Benalmadena, is a popular beachfront 4 *** resort featuring: two spectacular open-air pools, bars, restaurants, shops, a bakery and much more! The perfect setting to enjoy Costa de Sol´s immaculate climate; year round live entertainment; modern and fully equipped apartments with one bedroom, private balcony and individual climate control. Sunset Beach Club, your complete holiday destination on the Costa Del Sol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Club Hotel Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Spain
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Club Spain
Sunset Beach Club Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing