We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My experience at Sunset Beach Club Apartments” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Beach Club
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
1 review
“My experience at Sunset Beach Club Apartments”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

My husband, my son aged 16yrs old and myself stayed here for 8 nights early August 2014. We were delighted with our stay and would recommend it to couples and families. We settled very quickly into a very happy routine. There were many activities at the pool for kids as well as entertainment at night if you needed something to do. Staff were efficient and friendly too! We would return but maybe look for a slightly bigger apartment the next time as I missed having a proper door between our bedroom and the living area.

Room Tip: Floors above the 5th floor better as it can be quite noisy on this floor with in-house entertainment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for choosing Sunset Beach Club for your recent 8 night stay and for your very kind comments about our hotel’s staff and facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to Sunset Beach Club again soon.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,186
    925
    346
    109
    80
See reviews for
1,231
781
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (959)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Loved this hotel, great for the kids. The kids clubs were brilliant. The pools were brilliant kept the kids busy all day. The evening shows and kids disco's were great. They have different entertainment every night

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne30368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

We spent 10 nights in The Sunset Beach Club in July this year. It was our first time at this hotel. The first thing you notice when you arrive, is how spotless and clean the place is and there are always staff about tidying and making sure everyone is looked after. For those how love the pool and loungers...trust me... there are plenty for everyone, any time of the day.. although if you do want the best ones i.e. nearer the pool or in shaded areas, then you will have to make the early rise. The food in both the restaurant and the poolside was lovely and reasonably priced. Salitas bar is just outside the hotel on the beach and is lovely at night to sit back listening to the sea.. They cater for all the kids ages groups. They have a kids club and a teenagers club with activities on every day. At night in the moonlight bar, they had a childrens disco and then some entertainment afterwards, be it a band or a cabaret act. My daughter loved the Mary Poppins showed which was actually performed by the staff themselves - highly recommended. They also have a panorama bar where they showed the World cup Football when we were there...it was also the spot to try and get Wi-Fi connection. They have a great supermarket which stocks the regular brands and freshly baked rolls and baguettes each day. There is a supermarket across the road from the hotel which has a bigger range of items. The apartment was tastefully decorated. We had a one-bedroomed apt, but if I was going back, I would recommend a 2 bed, as I felt the fold out bed didn't have great support. In fairness to the hotel, they gave us an extra mattress as soon as we requested one. On each floor there are also different games etc like pool tables, internet access, library. My kids loved the place and want to go back again next year. Definitely would recommend this place to families as there is so much to do...plus the resort itself is great with all the restaurants, bars, marina area, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor are right beside the pool so may be noisy during the day and evening as peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you so much for choosing Sunset Beach Club for your holiday last July and for taking the time to write such a complimentary review of your stay.

I’m so please you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us and that our hotel facilities and services lived up to expectations.

I hope you’ll listen to your kids and return to Sunset Beach Club again next year :-)

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

My and my boyriend stayed here in May 2014 and thought this hotel was good in terms of the room quality which was clean, comfy and the furniture and fittings very nice and modern. The location was good for us as it was at the end of the main promenade (on the Fuengirola end so a bit of a walk to the gorgeous marina - 25 ins walk approx) so on the quieter side. We didn't use the restaurant much, nothing personal, we just chose to eat elsewhere, so cannot comment on this.

There is a large supermarket and petrol station directly opposite the hotel which is handy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonnaCM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulla, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

We are just back from the sunset beach club where we spent a week. Overall we had a positive experience. Our apartment which was on the second floor overlooked the sea which was fab. it was fine, spacious and very well kept. The air conditioning was not as good as it might have been and the room was hot at night time. Our experience at the snack bar was not good, our food was poor and we did not venture back again. We got a take away pizza from the restaurant on another day and that was not very good either. The pools were great and our five year old had a ball as the place is very family friendly. She went to the kids club on one occasion and it was fine. All told it was a pleasant trip and I would consider returning

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments about our hotel and facilities.

I’m so pleased you were happy with your apartment and that your five year old enjoyed herself in the pools and at the kids club.

I’m sorry that the air conditioning in your room wasn’t working correctly. Did you contact Reception about this? I hope you were not too inconvenienced. I have also made a note of your comments about the food in the snack bar and restaurant and will be sure to pass these on to our Operations Director so that he can speak to the kitchen team.

Thank you once again for your comments and I hope you will indeed return to Sunset Beach Club in the not-too-distant future.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

im just after coming back from sunset beach hotel i spent a week there as a cousin of mine got married there. wne stayed in a lovely apartment was spotless with a separate bedroom kitchen living space and balcony. it was fully equipped with everything including iron pots pans microwave kettle toaster and delph the whole lot was brilliant. we went across to the supermarket and bought a few items which kept us going for breakfast as we didnt bother including it in our booking! clean towels every day and room cleaned was brilliant they are very thorough i have to say!! downstairs there was 3 pools plenty of sun loungers but be warned its so so busy be down early around 10 to get one there is a policy which u cant reserve one as ur towels will be taken if ur not around!!! pool bar offers light bites and snacks which were very tasty and also is a restaurant bar downstairs too which is lovely for dinner if u dont want to leave hotel. burger king is straight across the road from hotel as is the supermarket called DIA. marina is a taxi ride away costing around 7 euro or a good walk about 40 minutes. there is plenty of restaurants down there great steak houses well worth a look!! night life isnt great down at the marina if im honest and the 24 hour square is no better this is my second time there and its not brilliant so dont expect a great night!! also there is a supermarket on ground floor of hotel a little on the expensive side tho but its convenient!! this place is great for all people families couples everyone really!! weather is fab and beach is a 3 minute walk away

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carliecoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Hi We booked a week in Sunset Beach in August for our family of four including 1 teenager after receiving a recommendation from our travel agent and to say that we were disappointed is an understatement- The hotel is huge with very small grounds which consist of the pool areas only(no gardens) with hundreds of sun-loungers in this area and most of the time it was impossible to get one as the reserved towel practice was been used even though this was against hotel policy- This inability to get a sunbed was made more irritating when it is a stated policy of the resort to welcome non residents so people could literally come off the street and get a sunbed and residents such as ourselves had to do without. With so many people mostly Irish in the hotel waiting for a lift became a huge chore and then when one came it was a free for all and you were crushed inside with many people in their swimwear and ignoring the hotel policy of wearing tops in public areas.
Our room was tiny with the kitchenette so small that to make a cup of coffee proved to be a chore, room was however clean and well maintained. Our room looked onto the very busy street which was never quiet.
To walk anyway took ages so we had to take taxis to the marina or to any of the local towns so this all added to the cost.
The food was good with efficient friendly restaurant staff- We did not find reservation staff very friendly and when looking for a recommendation for a town to visit we were sent to Arroyo de Miel which we did not find that appealing and subsequently on our own initiative we found Benalmedena de Pueblo which is a beautiful town and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for large suite with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busyincork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for choosing Sunset Beach Club for your recent family holiday and for taking the time to write a review of your experience here on Tripadvisor.

I was sorry to read that your stay did not live up to expectations. We are a large property and August is our busiest month of the year; this inevitably means that our pool areas are at full capacity and highly transited areas such as lifts do get busy. That being said, we do our best to ensure that rules and policies are adhered to (towels on sunbeds and wearing tops in public areas).

I would also like to clarify that the pool area is for hotel guests only. Yes, we allow non residents to use our restaurant but the pool area is strictly for people staying at Sunset Beach Club.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. I hope you’ll consider returning to Sunset Beach Club in the future, perhaps at a quieter time of year where the hotel and facilities are a little less crowded.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#4 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Siroco
Best Siroco
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Club

Property: Sunset Beach Club
Address: Avenida del Sol 5, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#7 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Beach Club, Benalmadena, is a popular beachfront 4 *** resort featuring: two spectacular open-air pools, bars, restaurants, shops, a bakery and much more! The perfect setting to enjoy Costa de Sol´s immaculate climate; year round live entertainment; modern and fully equipped apartments with one bedroom, private balcony and individual climate control. Sunset Beach Club, your complete holiday destination on the Costa Del Sol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers and Onthebeach so you can book your Sunset Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Club Hotel Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Spain
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Club Spain
Sunset Beach Club Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing