We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel”
Review of Sunset Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Beach Club
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
cardiff
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed 17 March 2009

we stayed here for one week, the hotel is very clean and lot's to do . It is abit far from the main shops and bars, but if you can make it along the seafront you will come across a bar called NEWZ it is very cheap for drinks loverly sea views but best ,the food is out of this world. The chef cooks the best menu and when I asked if I could have a sauce with my Salmon this was no proplem. Loverly staff only 12 euros for a 3 course meal. The marina is lovely plenty of bars, places to eat. If you can go on the Lakes trip there is a great place to have Roast Lamb in Honey go to the little hotel there it is beautiful 20 euro for 2. You will not miss it as there are only about three places to eat there and the Lakes are well worth the trip.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millieCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,223
    973
    358
    113
    83
See reviews for
1,277
815
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ravenna, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

The hotel is very clean and there are taxis waiting at the front door. I dont understand why it is called a beach club there is no beach. I had a nice room on the 11th floor and a great view of the sea but there is no sandy beach, just rocks.

The services are run on Spanish time. The travel desk opens at 10 AM and there is only one person working at the desk. The market on the 1 floor closes at 6 PM. When people are returning from golf and from tours 6 PM is not a good time for the market to close.
I requested an envelope and two sheets of paper at the front desk. after much eye rolling the woman actually said to me..are you a guest? I thought of saying,,no I just popped in from the street to get a free envelope!

The hotel is the agent for day tours. I went on five tours. They were expensive and not very good. We had the same tour guide everyday and he was less than people oreinted. the tours were rushed and the important things were not shown. We didnt even go in the catherdral in Saville!

If you want a tan and play golf I guess this is the place for you. I found the Costa del Sol over built and a forest of empty flats.

The television did get stations in many languages..the market did have papers in various languages.

I did find it odd that the hairdressing was closed on both Saturdays and Sundays??? This hotel says it is a good place for weddings..I guess if you dont want your hair done!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

Enjoyed this vacation. Hotel in a good location, on the ocean within walking distance to many restaurants, and shops. Grocery store on site with comparable prices to grocery stores within walking distance. Apartments are small, but clean. The whole resort was spotless. Really enjoyed the buffet breakfast which was included in our vacation package. We usually go to Portugal this time of year but enjoyed this resort and the area much more. The only negative was that the apartment walls are not sound proof. At night you can hear people walking down the hall, so bring ear plugs.
This is the first year Air Transat has flown a direct flight from Toronto to Malaga. Service on the plane both ways was very good. Booked our holiday with Air Transat Holidays and the rates for the hotel and flight were a great bargain, hopefully they offer this same deal next year, as we will return but for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

Sunset Beach, ( What can i say) We arrived at sunset beach 2 hours early , the staff at the reception was very helpful when trying to get the rooms ready for us. When we got to the rooms they were very clean and had everything that you needed for the holiday ahead , the resort is very well organized with a well equiped minimarket or you can eat in the restraunt . There is plenty to do for the kids or the grown ups. On the 6th floor there is a very nice bar equipped with 4 tvs for the sport and plenty of drink options at the bar itself , the bar staff were very good and always had a smile upon their faces. the resort itself has its very own tenpin bowling ally and games room. There is plenty of shops and bars for food and drink along the main road in less than one mile we were that pleased with our holiday we will be going back in october cheers

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themaninspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2009

I have been lucky to stay at the Sunset Beach Club 4 times since September 2005 and it just seems to get better and better. The rooms are superb, exceptionally clean (maid service daily), really comfy with several mod cons and come with a fully equipped kitchen including cookware, dinner service, glasses etc. The facilities are second to none including a 'proper' supermarket providing a full range of goodies especially fresh bread each day. Local supermarkets stock a wide range of spanish delicacies and a superb range of meat, fish, fruit and vegetables, should you wish to dine in. However the hotel boasts a fantastic restaurant providing breakfast, lunch and dinner, together with an innovative take-away service, plus there is a beach bar nearby providing small snacks and drinks or the polynesian beach bar, a 5 minute walk along the golden sands, where more substantial meals are provided right on the beach at the water's edge, so you may be spoiled for choice! A timetable of daily entertainment available is provided and a full range of activities for young and old will satisfy all. 'All important' sports fixtures (football etc) are screened in the Panoramic Bar which also offers a 'happy hour'. There are two main pools outside plus a splash pool for smaller children and these are surrounded by luxury sun loungers and a further play/climbing area for children. An indoor fitness suite and health spa complete with indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, beauty therapy salon and hairdressers is yet another facility. The hotel is only 20mins drive from Malaga Airport and within walking distance of all the main & many attractions benalmadena has to offer: be it the exotic aquarium, the local market, paloma park, the zoo, the many restaurants serving freshly caught fish simply cooked on open hot smoked barbeque coals or a venture into benalmadena port to gaze at the huge yachts and enjoy some duty free shopping in the boutiques. For those of you counting the euros, there are also a wide range of restaurants providing really good 3 course meals plus wine for less than 15 Euro per person. Good wine costs only a few Euro from a local supermarket. The hotel is situated right on a sandy golden beach and it is simply heaven to go to sleep after a fun day listening to the waves lapping the shore. My only complaint is that i never seem to be able to visit often enough! There are other facilities as well but i recommend that you just visit and enjoy it all for yourself.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bufty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

this was my wife ,my son and my second time in S B Club,stayed on same floor and cannot complain at all about accomodation,This time I will try to comment on the location, The hotel it self is on the outer ring of benalmadena and is a good walk back to the so called 24 hour square,Lets get one thing straight, this square is a disgusting area ,if not the filthy bars ,then it is the prostitutes who openly accost and harass you while you walk around .I went up for a late drink one night and never felt such an intimidating atmosphere in my life .these women openly harass you in front of the local police who do absolutely nothing.I think and i am no prude that anyone taking a chance with an encounter with these "ladies" would count themselves lucky to get a STD that could be treated.
on to the more pleasant bits,as usual the hotel was fine but this time i noticed more and while i stress how much i enjoy the SB,I was annoyed with some of the barstaff, To give an example ,no one seems to know what channel was on what telly ,When wales played france you could hear the commentary before the vision, very annoying and when i asked could it be sorted , I got a shrug of the shoulders . Then when one of the staff tryed to sort this out another day ,(for the liverpool match) A barmaid screamed at him in spanish for some considerable time , this was all over right my two year old son, who has never witnessed this before and would have been very upset had i not removed him from the incident,
They have a set menu for 18 euros which is lazy and absolutely bog standard stuff.
however we did not eat once in the hotel as the food down along is cheaper and very tasty, I would recommend cocos bar on the left as it has very friendly staff ,great homecooked grub and real cut chips ,Also a pint of coors is 3 euros,absolutely great value.
Will be returning to SB in sept so hopefully will have tv situation sorted .

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NORRIE72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

i loved it great enterainment lovely pools indoor and out greet for kids and adults no need to leave the resort and the amusment park aint to far away

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xjaninexbellx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Club

Property: Sunset Beach Club
Address: Avenida del Sol 5, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#7 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Beach Club, Benalmadena, is a popular beachfront 4 *** resort featuring: two spectacular open-air pools, bars, restaurants, shops, a bakery and much more! The perfect setting to enjoy Costa de Sol´s immaculate climate; year round live entertainment; modern and fully equipped apartments with one bedroom, private balcony and individual climate control. Sunset Beach Club, your complete holiday destination on the Costa Del Sol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Priceline, Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Club Hotel Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Spain
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Club Spain
Sunset Beach Club Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing