We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - good rooms, good beach, restaurants in & nearby and close to airport”
Review of Sunset Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Booking was easy online and afterwards the helpful hotel staff ensured my room was located adjacent to the other family I travelled with but who had booked separately.

The rooms are clean and well equipped (to a 3-4* level). A good lounge area with a generous and comfortable sofa bed, balcony with chair & tables, and small but sufficiently equipped kitchen. The main bedroom area is separated from the rest of the room by sliding louvred doors and has twin beds, but you can put them together and the housekeeping continued to make them up as a double.

The hotel is just 20 minutes taxi from the airport (28 euro) and located on the sea front with a very minor road between it and the beach (see later).

The hotel has 2 pools plus a toddler pool, a bar / snack bar (which served quite good food for lunch) plus an outside restaurant (which we didn't try). There are plenty of loungers and a great rule that you can't place towels down to reserve a lounger before 10am !! Great!

There is a supermarket in the hotel that is good for most things, plus just 4 minutes walk away is a cheap and extensive supermarket called SuperCor. If you want more, further away in Fuengirola is a larger supermarket (Euroski?) and a shopping centre (18 EUR taxi).

The hotel's main restaurant looks unpromising but was surprising good. 200m along the beach is a wonderful traditional restaurant called Cali that we went to twice. Highly recommended.

Other restaurants nearby were a bar a few doors down from the Supercor where we had nice tapas, next to that is a traditional spanish resturant (dishes looked lovely but a bit difficult for the kids so we didn't go there) and a fabulous traditional Spanish restaurant in the marina (avoid all the pizza & Italian restaurants)(can't remember the name, but it's near Ben and Jerry's and starts with an "E" (possibly)).

During the day, we walked to the hotel's beach front cafe called Pierinos for lunch (recommended). And rented loungers on the peaceful beach.

When we had a bit too much sun we took a 10 minute taxi ride to the cablecar that goes to the top of the mountains nearby. Here there are short walks and, to our surprise, a sanctuary for birds of prey, complete with entertaining and educational displays.

Tips: virtually nothing in the hotel takes credit card cards, so you are advised to take plenty of cash. There is a cash machine in the lobby, but it ran out of cash for two days. Alternatively there is a machine in the SuperCor.

There is free wifi in the main hotel bar.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JonathanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,922)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,446 - 2,452 of 2,922 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2009

Arrived early, but that was not a problem to the check-in staff, in fact the whole week progressed in the same vein. The staff are very friendly and helpful, from housekeeping to bars and restaurants. Grounds are kept immaculate with plenty of activities for those who wish to participate, great breakfasts and plenty of variety in restaurant in the evening. All in all an excellent vacation and I would have no hesitation recommending this to anyone at all.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smiffy1951glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

5 euro for a small tonic water.advertised free shows,then tried to charge 10 euro per person,children included at the door.no kids entertainment during the day or night.Could not get a cup of coffee at pool side bar,cold drinks and burgers only.Should rename it Shingle Beach Hotel,no sand.A BIG NO NO if you are thinking of taking kids,and a taxi ride if you want to go anywhere.Always about 8 cabs outside the door.Speaks for its self.PS..The dispencer of cola was for a 3 year old

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank njojo036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

My husband and I had a great stay in this hotel. The reception area is smart and welcoming, and we loved the bar area, particularly with 'Happy Hour'. The whole hotel and pool area is clean and well maintained.

We happened to be staying in an 'internal' room, which, had we been been paying more than we were (my husband works in the travel industry), we would have been very disappointed as there was no natural light whatsoever. We did not step foot on the balcony, or even open the french windows, as when we did we could just smell the smoke from other people smoking on their balconies. Having said that, the apartment itself was clean, lovely bathroom and the kitchen was functional. As long as you know what to expect (don't expect that having a balcony in an internal room means you will want to sit on it!), you will love this hotel.

My husband and I are great sports fans, so the televisions in the bar showing continual sport were either great as were showing something we were interested in, or were fine as we weren't bothered by them. I can imagine for some people it could be pretty annoying.

In terms of restaurant and bars we drank in Coco's ... just down the road from the hotel, one day, just to watch the football. The bar has a few screens, so is a good place to watch footy. We were keen to eat in 'not too expensive Spanish resturarants' and found The Carnaval on our first night. It was reasonable (doing a set menu for 11 euros), but was a family run restaurant and good food too. The fish was lovely. The atmosphere was more 'local Spanish' than some restaurants.

If you are able to, a visit to Ronda in the mountains is a must as it is absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank villafan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

Hotel staff all very helpful and friendly.Accommodation excellent. Views from balcony superb.Ideal if you want to visit other places along the coast or to see Malaga itself.Shop on site very handy and activities for children and adults very enjoyable. Panoramic Bar hosted beautiful views but was rather pricey.Excellent place for a holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottieSunsetBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Liked Sunset Beach that we have had our winter holiday there 3 years in a row. Staff friendly & very helpful. Poolside kept exceptionally clean & tidy every day. Caters for families, couples - young & old. Would recommend to family & friends.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonnieAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

Spent a week there 13th - 20th March. The room was nice & clean & we were on the second floor, but would have preferred one higher up as it's better for the sea views. No noise at night so we slept well even though it was single beds, the kitchen it a tad small, but does the job, the fridge is quite big, so you can get plenty of drinks in there. The only drawbacks were having to pay 30 euros for the electric for the week, which I though was a bit steep, & we bought a welcome pack which consists of, 2 cans of beer, 2 cans of coke, a loaf, tea, coffee, milk & butter which was very handy if you are arriving late & need some form of refreshments. The other downside is the RCI reps, which are a bit of a nuisance & pester you with appointments to give you the hard sell, we were told that she wanted to see us as she was doing a survey for RCI & just wanted our opinion on the rooms & resort etc. It is annoying when you are on holiday & someone keeps putting cards under your room door saying an appointment has been made for you, we didn't bother going. But putting that aside, the happy hour is great from 6.30pm to 7.30pm, & a good way to meet other holiday makers, we had a few good nights in there :), it is lovely & clean & a good view too, also a big TV for the sports fans. I would be back there like a shot though, it was a good holiday. We didn't try the breakfast at 8 euro's I thought it was a bit pricey, but it is a buffet breakfast & there was always a queue.
Just one bit of advise, if you hire a car & go to Seville, just watch the "uniformed" parking attendants as one charged us 10 euros for parking when it should have been only 1 euro, we were saved by a lovley Spanish family who noticed he was ripping us off, & gave him a good telling off. Needless to say we got 9 euros change back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,814 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#14 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,310 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,205 reviews
1.6 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Club

Address: Avenida del Sol 5, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#9 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £45 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Beach Club, Benalmadena, is a popular beachfront 4 *** resort featuring: two spectacular open-air pools, bars, restaurants, shops, a bakery and much more! The perfect setting to enjoy Costa de Sol´s immaculate climate; year round live entertainment; modern and fully equipped apartments with one bedroom, private balcony and individual climate control. Sunset Beach Club, your complete holiday destination on the Costa Del Sol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Club Hotel Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Spain
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Club Spain
Sunset Beach Club Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing