We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great introduction to Costa del Sol” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Beach Club
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great introduction to Costa del Sol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

We stayed on a timeshare trade basis. The check-in was quick and painless. The airport is at Malaga and one suitcase didn't make it, but was delivered to the hotel the next day w/o a problem. The room was fine, with a balcony and had a great view of the beach and ocean. The hotel is located so that one can walk down the beach front to several restaurants and the usual touristy shops. Tours were easy to arrange from the hotel. They were very friendly. There is a grocery right on the premises where you can get all you need if you want to have some meals in your room (it had a small kitchenette). The beach wasn't the best, but it was very early in the year, so it was pretty chilly and there was significant rain. Take the jeep tour to the small villages to the northwest of the coast, very informative. Also, the all-day trip to the Alhambra was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelearning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,186
    925
    346
    109
    80
See reviews for
1,231
781
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (959)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

Stayed here from 24th -28th March on the recommendation of a friend and would not stay here again.

Check in - ok, although staff talking to each other in Spanish while dealing with our check in which I thought was rude. Also the computer broke down so a receipt could not be issued.

Had two one bedroomed apartments - Our apartment smelled of smoke which was overpowering. It was on the bed clothes and pillows and throughout the whole apartment . You just couldn't get away from it. We complained at desk and were offered a machine but declined - opened patio doors full time instead.

Breakfast - Food Cold - No Fresh fruit just tinned pineapple and tinned fruit cocktail wouldn't touch it. Had to wait ten minutes to be seated. Buffet style - a couple beside us went up to get food and their table had been taken by other people when they returned with their food. A burco boiler with "Hot" water for tea which was always luke warm. It was like a canteen. The other members of our family only ate here once and wouldn't go again. Only bread available was white or brown toast - no nice rolls. We mentioned the poor quality to a male receptionist when complaining about the smoke and the noise and he just shrugged his shoulders - said not his area and to say it to the Maitre d'. We didn't bother as the Maitre D didn't even greet us when we arrived there, no manner at all.

Noisy at night. Our rooms were on fifth floor opposite entrance door to ballroom.

A few stag parties there too and at four o clock one morning they came knocking on all the rooms in our corridor looking for their room.

On our last night we had to move to a different room which happened to be directly over the bar ( our original internet booking would not allow us to book a sea view room for the four nights- only three and even on telephoning hotel reservation they couldn't book a sea view room for four nights for us so had to move after three ) It was unreal with chairs being dragged until two o clock ( we had to get up at seven for flight). We rang reception and for once a pleasant receptionist apologised and sent a security staff member to our room. There was nothing he could do. We had to ring again an hour later and the receptionist told me that they were not known as a "Quiet Hotel" they had 2,000 people staying. They had a huge crowd of golfers, a few stag parties and some senior guests.

The only plus at this hotel was the pool area which was lovely. Two nice pools, very clean loungers.

Would not stay here again. Really poor standard and poor value overall. We were exhausted after our four day stay and looked forward to going home!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank suzanne54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

This hotel is really lovely. Although it was early in the year there were lots of people staying. Golf is a major reason for people using this hotel but we were just there for an early break. The weather was pretty bad so we were happy that there was plenty going on in the hotel. It is right beside the beach and a short stroll to some shops.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marleyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLOS UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

We have stayed at Sunset beach Club many times, but my husband is now disabled using a wheelchair and this was our first year with a wheelchair. We booked a two bedroom aprtment to give us more space. The staff were very helpful carrying our luggage to the apartment. The apartment had wonderful views and was all on one level.
The restuarant has certainly improved and they do a good takeway service.
We always hire a car from the airport to viist local mountain places. We discovered this year the hotel car park. Access is very easy from the hotel making it easy with the wheelchair.There are lots of flat paths near the sea for walking and pushing wheelchairs.
Torremonlinas and Fungirola have good paths along the sea front with lots of eating places.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WAGNERGlosUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

October in Russia is a disaster. But all it changes when you go to South Spain for a two-week holiday! The first minute I stepped under the shadowy park of Sunset Beach Hotel I understood that soon a note will appear: "Here lies Maria in piece and sun. Touch at your own risk" But Sunset Beach has much more to provide than the gentle ocean waves that lick your face when the windows are open. There are two swimming pools, 3 bars, a restaurant and a disco (D-I-C-S-O....pa-param-param param - I don't like 80s style discos but my parents were in childlish delight). The shopping area with cute souvenires and clothing is on the ground floor. I should say the hotel has eight levels and you can see a wonderful view from the roof (until caught by the security)
Moreover, in two steps there is a real Spanish supermarket with real Spanish wine - fantastic! (I mean the price, and taste as well).
What to say about the room? We had 1 bedroom and a living room - the only disadvantage, well...you know, because of my parents. They were snoring loudly so we tried to slip away somewhere every evening (now I start thinking it was part of their plan). On the other hand, there's nothing to complain about the room - it was clean, quiet, had a closet and a microvawe, and even a TV nobody cared touching. The admin staff was helpful, the cleaners - unintrusive. The only problem that occured was that my parents broke the bed (who could think, eh?) and the man who was to fix it, was unable to do anything but he enjoyed us with jokes. After saying a magic Spanish word "Maniana" he disappeared, and we never saw him again.
I could tell you a bit more - about the corridors with high ceilings where you can play hide and seek, about a ghost of old owner that appears on the sixth floor on each third Saturday of month and about the mermaids who lie and sing in the moonlight during the night storms while all good tourists are drinking in bars or sleeping in beds. I could tell you about anythingm but you better go and check yourselves!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lethargica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

I have just recently returned from yet another stay over the February mid-term break in the Sunset Beach club and had another lovely holiday. We also stayed there during the October mid-term and were very pleased. The hotel is kept in excellent order both inside and outside. The housekeeping staff really do a good job and are so cheery and friendly everyday to guests. What makes this hotel stand out for our family though is the superb Animacion team who organise the entertainment. My kids love the Pirates Club, in fact it was impossible to get them to do anything else or go anywhere else while the club was on because they enjoyed it so much. There is also an entertainment programme for adult guests which some of the other members of our extended group thoroughly enjoyed, this included French boules, bingo, darts and cookery lessons! The location of the hotel is great it's right on the seafront, and you can walk in either direction from the hotel along the pathway, one direction brings you to Torrequebrada beach and the other direction will bring you down into the centre of Benalmadena and onto the Marina area. We tend to visit the hotel in the off-season as we don't like places that are too busy, I'm not sure that we would like the area in the middle of Summer as I'm sure it gets very busy. The Sunset Beach Club really has so much going for it, the rooms have a small kitchen area, which is really handy for preparing light snacks. The large balcony is lovely for sitting out and enjoying the fabulous views. Do try to request a SeaView room when you are making your booking. The only area that I feel they could improve on is the Restaurant. At breakfast, they really cater to the masses, you couldn't fault the amount of choices they offer but the quality of the food on offer is not great. Similarly at dinner the food is only ok but the staff and the atmosphere is good, paticularly when there is entertainment on. There is free Wi-fi available to guests in the reception area and in the bar on the 6th floor, this was very handy. All in all I can't recommend the Sunset Beach Club enough, it is an ideal spot for a family holiday and has something to appeal to most age groups.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dubfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

I spent two nights in Sunset Beach Club and thoroughly enjoyed it. I went for a business meeting and found their facilities were excellent. I stayed for the weekend and enjoyed all the comfort and relaxation SBC had to offer. The hotel is very well situated and has lots to offer anyone staying there. The views from the rooms were amazing! I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuzzyBeeDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#4 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Siroco
Best Siroco
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Club

Property: Sunset Beach Club
Address: Avenida del Sol 5, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#7 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Beach Club, Benalmadena, is a popular beachfront 4 *** resort featuring: two spectacular open-air pools, bars, restaurants, shops, a bakery and much more! The perfect setting to enjoy Costa de Sol´s immaculate climate; year round live entertainment; modern and fully equipped apartments with one bedroom, private balcony and individual climate control. Sunset Beach Club, your complete holiday destination on the Costa Del Sol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Onthebeach so you can book your Sunset Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Club Hotel Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Spain
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Club Spain
Sunset Beach Club Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing