We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A big, bold, well-maintained, international hotel in a fantastic location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Best Triton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Best Triton
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A big, bold, well-maintained, international hotel in a fantastic location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed at the Triton as a family of four (children aged 11 and 8). On arrival we were checked into room 903, which was disappointing as its at the rear of hotel and on the top level. I would suggest if you have the opportunity to request a room you need even numbers (these overlook the pool) and the higher the number is then the more likely you are to be beach end of the hotel as opposed to the road end. However, we never seem to have much luck with the allocation of rooms so just got on with it. My son doesnt like heights so the lifts (glass and on the side of the building) and the balcony took some overcoming.

Despite being at the back of the hotel the views were good. A side sea view, 24 hr square, and plaza ole (which had been a well kept secret but thanks to trip advisor its getting the increasing trade it deserves.) There was a bit of road noise and even on the 9th floor you could hear revellers heading back to their hotels at 4 and 5 in the morning (not every night but it would wake you if you were sleeping light).

Despite the disadvantages of the room location this didnt detract from the overall impression of the hotel. It is clear that 4 star in Spanish resorts isnt the same as 4 star in England but neverless the whole hotel was clean and well maintained and the rooms are not bad considering the constant hammer they get from continual turnover of guests. As an example there was a couple of cracked wall tiles in the bathroom and the shower head required a bit of adjustment to ensure it aimed into the bathtub and not too the wall or shower curtain but there are certainly more positives than negatives.

A big advantage that this hotel has is the swimming pool and gardens. There are few hotels in this part of Benalmadena with four pools to chose from and the two general pools are generously sized. They are clean (apart from occaisional fallen leaves) and a good temperature. The gardens and terraces are also kept clean and tidy and well maintained by staff every morning.

Another plus point is the restaurant. We stayed 7 nights half board and found food both varied and plentiful and each night. There were also nice extra touches such as cava for breakfast occasionally and live music such as guitar and violin on two evenings of the seven. A chef cooks a griddle to order both fish and meat of the day, there is also a carvery as well a good choice of further meat, vegetables, salad, pasta and rice from the buffet. Staff in the restaurant were friendly and helpful.

A strange thing I found was the number of areas in the hotel that are not used. Perhaps the indoor bar (Galleon Bar) is used in cooler months but this is a huge bar that you could walk through and sit but there was no bar open and not staff. Also the terrace to the side of the pool bar is another massive space but not used and there are not tables and chairs which seems rather odd. There were also other areas between the reception and swimming pool that seem to be wasted space. They are described as lounges but rarely used by anyone. Nice comfy seats though if you did fancy a sit down after climbing the steps from the pool.

I will briefly mention the hotels entertainment team. They, as usual, worked tirelessly day and night but I didnt sample much of the evening acts, preferring to experience the plentiful offerings beyond the confines of the hotel. There is so much to see and do in Benalmadena thats its a shame to limit yourself. (Have a look on the forum and take the advise of the resort experts they will guide you to places like Plaza Ole, the marina, 24 hr sq and tivoli world). Its the wealth of options that probably account for the fact the hotel entertainment and bar is all done and dusted by 11.30.

My final words on this hotel is to point out that it is clearly an international hotel. The Brits are in the minority. If your not comfortable sharing your holiday with French, Belgain, German and of course Spanish guests then this may not be for you. If, like me and my family, you prefer this experience to the tat of package holidays and 'Butlins with the sun' then its a winner. I would most definitely return.

The

Room Tip: even numbers overlook pools and hotel grounds, higher numbers at beach end. eg 102 road end, 162 be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EdnFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    630
    274
    93
    52
See reviews for
509
699
52
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

this hotel is right on the beach so excellent location. the food in the restaurant cannot be faulted , some reviews seem to find fault with everything but there are no faults at all with this hotel. its only two minutes walk to the square with all the bars and nightlife . the marina is a two minute walk away, and theres plenty other bars and shops nearby . excellent choice if the price is right !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank redrobbono1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Take a trip to the Triton and you will not be sorry ! The food is good, (apart from breakfast bacon, which is what you can expect from a Spanish hotel.) We ate all of our meals breakfast/dinner outside the restaurant on the quite veranda overlooking the sea, even had Cava for breakfast if you liked (no extra charge !) Bliss! Excellent facilities.Rooms are to a high standard and nothing to much trouble for the staff, This is our third trip to the hotel and no doubt we will be back, Breathtakeing views over the sea which is a few steps from the gorgeously well maintained garden,We noticed nobody was in a hurry to grab sunbeds in the mornings which is great, No long waits for lifts, but a little small.
Only thing I will say is that the Riveira (next door) Is adults only whereas the Triton is not , if you are thinking about a couples only holiday I would go fot the Riveira, they also had very large mattresses on the sunbeds, So do what we do and have the best of both worlds, During the day when you want to sunbathe go along to the Riveira, (a few yards along) and use the facilities there. Not saying anything wrong with the Triton, which I have to say has three pools! but more comfortable at Riveira and no children .Use your card at the gates to exit the gardens at the back of Triton hotel and down the steps onto the front walkway and straight onto the lovely beach, enjoy the breeze which was very welcome when we were last there as temperatures reached about 38. When you arrive you think the aircon is not up to much but believe me I was cold in the night and had to put on a blanket, but it has 3 settings so no fiddling with dials etc. All in all a great priced hotel, even cheaper if you do it yourself and book budget airlines and hotle seperate like we do, Its only 23 euros taxi ride from airport, you can even catch the train from Benalmadena staition (Up the hill) or the bus , which stops outside the hotel, Get the ferry to Feurengarola. Catch this in the Marina, get a return journey which costs about 16 euros and takes about three quarters of and hour, nice boat trip,Quite bars on front, but enjoy the fish restaurants in the beautiful Marina, they can be a bit priccy, but worth it for the fresh fish, Dont get drawn into the Indian restaurants unless you want to pay well over the odds for drinks, Its a rip off ! But drinks in the quite bars along the walkways v cheap,All in all well worth a trip to the Triton.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank slondon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We booked months in advance but on the day of checking in only some of our requirements were were met and when we tried to explain the reception staff just shrugged their shoulders. We had a son and his father in one room with a double bed, despite requesting two single beds. It is certainly not a hotel for disabled persons. Over a public holiday weekend the air conditioning failed and took two days to fix. It was a general fault effecting a section of the hotel but the guys on the reception tried to give the impression that it was just us who were complaining. The rooms were nice especially at the beach end, but electrical outlets for chargers etc were practically non existant. The TV has two english speaking channels, one sport and one BBC non stop news . One of our weekends there was a public holiday and the gardens and pools were full of non guests. Service in the garden restaurant is normally very slow but the only waiter was overwhelmed on on that weekend. They try to discourage guests from going to the bar to place, and bting to the table their own order. Breakfast is a disaster you find a table to sit at and go to get your self service breakfast up and down the displays and return to your table only to find that some Dutch or German family have taken it over, The layout of the displays are poor, a spoon here a bowel or plate there three or four choices of milk some not labelled and those that have are in Spanish. A brief word about the blue flag beach. The water was filthy with debris and sanitary towels floating around in the waves.
It's not perfect, but I love the hotel and its location and will stay there again and again.

Room Tip: Speak Spanish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kriticooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

I must say this is a great hotel with good food in an excellent location overlooking the sea. We had rooms on the 7th floor with a great view. Hotel is a credit to its owners and of course the hotel staff who look after it. The grounds and pools are in first class condition. All this only a stone’s throw away from the fantastic marina with loads of bars in the area. .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johnharrison4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

After reading other reviews I was not sure what to expect from this hotel, but to say that we were pleasantly surprised is an understatement.

I would agree that by UK standards this is not a 4 star hotel, but by Spanish ratings it could well be, all that said though, they did try extremely hard to be better than the avaerage and can easily be described as a high end 3 star.

The room was a good size with complimentery drinks in the fridge and shower gels etc in the bathroom (the shower gel etc were restocked every day), the room was cleaned and sheets changed every day. The TV only had 1 or 2 english channels but as we were not in the room that much we did not see it as a problem.

The restaurant was very good with a good selection of food, and a good variation each day, comments on this site about cold and repetative food are unfounded and unfair.

The staff were very helpfull and never rude.

the only downside was that the place was overun with Germans, many of which were rude and inconsiderate, but the hotel are not blame for this.

All in a very nice hotel, topped off with the fact that it is very close to local shops etc, and it is right on the beach, what more could you want.

We will deffinately return to this hotel and would recommend it to others

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fluff1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

We normally go self catering to apartments but decided to give half board at a hotel a try this year. We have stayed in Benalmadena many times and had always liked the look and location of the Triton so decided to have our first hotel stay here.

Location excellent, right on beachfront and close to Marina. Excellent for buses if wanting to use public transport. We travelled to Mijas by local bus and had a great day (2.80 euros return). Taxi rank also opposite hotel.

Our room on the 6th floor was spacious, clean and overlooking pool (this was our second room). Our first room balcony on the first floor was level with an adjacent rooftop. As were other rooms next to it (approx 8 rooms) in the middle section of the hotel overlooking the pool. The staff were very helpful when we requested to change despite the hotel being at almost full capacity as we arrived on Easter Friday. There is a fridge in the room but no tea/coffee making facilities.

Spa facilities and tennis courts - These were good to have on site as the weather wasn't brilliant during our stay. We did use these facilities, however, you should note there is a charge for these (7 euros for 1.5 hours in the spa and 5 euros for 1 hour of tennis plus 5 euros for equipment hire if you don't have your own).

Massage - My wife had a massage during our stay and really enjoyed it (50 euros, but she said it was worth every cent of my money). The spa offers a full range of massage therapies which you obviously need to pay for.

Food - Absolutelly loved the breakfasts. Great selection of food to suit all. Particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit every morning and the occasional cava. Fresh omelletes and pancakes made to order. Evening meals were average in quality and did become a bit repetitive over our two week stay. Food could be cool at times but there is a microwave available. We found this made a big difference. We did eat out a few nights at some nice restaurants in the marina and Plaza Ole next to the hotel. Would highly recommend Eraza Una Vez in Plaza Ole if you want to try authentic Spanish food and some great wines.

Sleep - The bed was very comfortable, however, if like me you like to open the window at night then you may find rooms nearer the road very noisy. This may not be a problem in the summer as the air conditioning will be on then. The higher your room number is the closer you are to the beach i.e. rooms 200, 300 400 etc are closest to the road.

Safe - You need to pay for this (approx 2-3 euros per day).

Wi-Fi - Available free in certain areas near reception. No wi-fi in room.

We enjoyed our stay here and would go back, maybe just for bed and breakfast though. We would like to say that, despite some of the comments on previous reviews, we found all of the staff at the hotel to be very helpful whenever we spoke to them.

Room Tip: Above 2nd floor, even no.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank DavidR1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
1.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.8 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best Triton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best Triton

Property: Hotel Best Triton
Address: Avda Antonio Machado 29, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#10 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Best Triton 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the well known "Costa del Sol", at the tourist centre of Benalmádena and facing the sea. It's just a few metres away from the harbour. Comfortable rooms with terrace, fully fitted bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV, security door lock, telephone, fridge, heating, air conditioning and optional safe-deposit box. Buffet restaurant with show cooking, national and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Best Triton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benalmadena Triton Hotel
Triton Benalmadena
Triton Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Triton Spain
Hotel Triton Benalmadena
Benalmadena Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton Costa Del Sol
Hotel Best Triton Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing