We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Best Triton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Best Triton
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Enkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
250 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

This Hotel is right on the sea front with fantastic views out to sea, lovely gardens and several pools, But be warned, if you have mobility problems there are a lot of steps if you want to go to the seafront promenade. We were there over Christmas 2012 half board can't say we were so impressed with their Christmas fare, it was the same buffet that we had every night. Try to get a room on the sunny side as the other side of the hotel looks out over Olë Plaza where several bars operate until very late and it's very noisy until around 04am and then the rubbish collectors come at 05am so be prepared for some sleepless nights.
Prices in the bar were very high for certain things, a Remy Martin cognac cot 10e and one of the personnel told me it was because the had Saga holidays there on an all inclusive package and the raised the price to other guests to compensate for that. After complaining they started to charge me 4,5e instead.

Room Tip: No handle to grip getting in and out of bath/shower which is a problem if one is aged or a little un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sturob47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    634
    274
    93
    52
See reviews for
511
702
52
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 21st to 28th December 2012. We enjoyed very good weather with blue sky most days. Although we requested a pool view room, we found they were all taken, apparently, by people staying for 2 weeks or more. Also I think Saga had a lot of the better rooms. Room however had been refurbished and very spacious, maid service very good.
Restaurant got very congested at mealtimes but there was plenty of choice and the staff efficient and friendly. Sometimes the hot meal choices were odd - eg neck of lamb which was slightly tough, and chichen wings in some sort of sauce (never breast or leg). There was always a carved roast or freshly cooked steak or lamb etc. Good choice of sweet and excellent cheeses.
What the place lacked was atmosphere. The entertainment was below average and not what we expected at a four star hotel at Christmas. Very few seasonal decorations in view of how many English people were staying there. Not enough seating in the bar/entertainment area and some people had to stand. Bar staff (one in particular) seemed uninterested in their jobs and sometimes abrupt. We only used the bar because there were only limited options available outisde the hotel due to the season.
Pool area was very nice indeed, in fact is the best feature of the hotel with lots of sun beds and grass. However due to the time of year the pool bar was not open. I am sure it would have been busy if it had been open. We used a small friendly Carte D'or cafe right outside the hotel steps on the promenade.
We may use this hotel again in spring or autumn when there are more bars etc open along the promenade etc. There is quite a lot to see in the area. Mias is a must, also it is easy to get about on the buses and train.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

spent xmas at hotel the rooms are massive lovely and clean loads of choice at meal times we enjoyed our stay very much will be back in march lovely seafront location try pickwicks along the road for a friendly welcome and bingo

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 944gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Returned from the Triton with my wife after spending Christmas there from the 20th to 27th,
in general the Hotel offers everything it says and is very clean and efficient. Unfortunatly it lacks atmosphere, Christmas dinner was a `normal` meal with sherry on offer, very few decorations about the hotel it is ideal if you wish to `get away` from the over-the-top advertisimg which occurs here iin the UK. which is a bonus!
Meals were rather repetative and not too good in the evenings (breakfast v.good), drink prices in the hotel were quite reasonable at the bar and at dinner, the `bar` lacked atmosphere with the entertainment very average, unlike the other staff we found the bar staff rather off-hand with a take it or leave it attitude to the guests.
The `Park` as others have mentioned is a MUST to visit and about 15 mins walk.The Triton is in a very good location though and in the main building `even numbers` over look the pool and get most of the sun during the afternoon and evening.
It has a very International clientelle with quite a few elderly but by no means all of them.
Benalmadena provides a very good bus service on Christmas day with the street cleaners out too, most of the smaller shops etc.. were open and Christmas is kept quite low-key which after all the hype in the UK seems quite unusual
Rooms are of a good standard and kept clean every day.
Be aware that Saga also use this hotel but it is a large hotel and can easily accomodate quite a number of guests of all ages

Room Tip: Higher floor with odd numbers are generally quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dabroChesterEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

I arrived at the Triton on November 5th. The staff at reception were like robots with no emotion whatsoever, you were just another person to them. The first few days chucked down with rain so i was hotel bound with very little to do, TV had 2 English channels on it, Business and BBC1.
Entertainment was pretty poor and the hotel was packed full of the elderly who stay over a month at a time spending most of it on Notebooks and sleeping plus trying to get down the restaurant before it opened and before anyone else.
If you stay here you must ensure you get the new building with double beds and bigger rooms, it has seven floors and a glass external lift (or stairs) and not the old building which has three floors and very little view with small rooms and single beds, demand this as they will try to put you in the old building.
Food wise its pretty much the same every day with an occasional item changed, the bread is located in a different part to the butter (weird), get to the restaurant quickly as the tables fill fast and a few arguments were heard because people wanted a particular spot.
There are nice gardens leading down to the pools, two large adult ones and two kiddie paddling pools, there is a gate which takes you straight onto the promenade next to the grey sanded beach and a short walk to the marina (if you like boats) with a few designer shops to wander round. The huge fish you will see in the water are 'Mullet' just in case you wonder what they are. Look out for the 'James Bond 007' boat while there its on the right hand side, cannot miss it, its two tone blue and black and stands out among the other white boats.
There is a supermarket across the road from the hotel where you can buy water and other stuff, good prices too.
Bus stops across the road will take you to Mijas, its a small white village in the mountains and on a sunny day you must make it a point to go up there, cost at the moment (Nov) is €1.30 each way and where you get off the bus is where you get on to come back, lots of little shops and sights to see and view across the valley if really nice, take a camera!
Buses from this stop also go to Fengirola, Torremolinos is a short walk up the road.
The chair lift up the mountain only works when there is no breeze for safety reasons, there are good views from this of the surrounding area and from the top of the mountain superb views on a sunny day, there is a bird sanctuary at the top, eagles, owls and other species.
There is a park worth going for a walk around, Parque de la Paloma, or Paloma park, is situated right in the heart of Benalmadena Costa. Covering some 200,000m2 and only 300m from the coast. It contains wild birds, Rabbits and Guinea pigs, Peacocks and Chickens run wild in this free entry park, well worth a visit if only for the huge lake with turtles in, Emu's there too.
You must do Arona, its a town with lots of shops in it but is somewhat pretty quiet on a Sunday.
The train service in this town is every 20 minutes and goes to the airport and other places so you need not be bored while there.
In all i would say it would be better to go in the summer months, November is known as the 'wet' month but it was still 18-20c there and i did have 2 sunny days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the beach or Marina from floor 3 to 7 in the new building, try your best...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Stevieross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

Stayed from 19th November to the 17th December and I had done my research into the hotel so we were armed with our kettle & also requested a certain type of room. .
We had a nice quick check in and were given the type of room we had requested, on the sunny side with brilliant views to the sea and also the mountains. Rooms were comfy, beds were good and lots of space & storage. Bathroom good with consistant hot water and a very good shower.
The rooms were cleaned every day and the bedding changed very regular by nice friendly chambermaids. We had to pay for a safe however this was rather expensive when you are staying for a month and I do think it should be subsidised for long stays but hey no hotels do this.
We never had any problems with the lifts although we did see 2 incidents of folk getting stuck during the first 2 weeks. They were rescued very quickly and when they got out they were all very large people in a small lift!!!
The grounds and pools were very spaious with lots of beds and we paarticularly loved the raised sun terrace overlooking the beach and sea with lovely double sun loungers.
The animation guy was good and really tried to include everyone in the games he did. These include tennis, shooting, bowls etc and he was so friendly.
The entertainment was not really our scene however lots of folk enjoyed it seemed packed on a nightly basis.
The hotel was very busy during the first 2 weeks and this was mainly with Saga customers. The restaurant during this time was also very busy however tables were cleared and re laid very efficiently by friendly staff.
One big critisem is when it went quite in the last 2 weeks they squashed us all up and expected couples to share with strangers which I was not prepared to do. We then went down later in the evening and always got a table for two. What sort of 4 star establishment does that, can understand it from the business point of the hotel however they are on there own agenda not the customers which is a black mark to them.

The food for mass catering was very good!!! We did eat out a few nights in the forth week only because we wanted to and that is no reflection on the restaurant. I only ever heard praise for the food and indeed having travelled extensively found it very good. Cant think of any food they did not offer for breakfast that they did not provide. From your normal bacon & eggs to yoghurt & honey, crepes with sugar & lemon, cereals, you name it they had it. The toasters were your normal hotel toasters and do take a few minutes. The bread selection was excellent. My hubby is a big bacon fan and loved the bacon & ham & cheese omeletts.
We were half board and enjoyed our dinner each night. The choice was so wide and we always found plenty to eat. Yes, some of the food was not to our taste however we always filled our tummies. Special mention to the fresh poached salmon and also the large juicy tender spare ribs, lots of veggies, salads soups, etc etc as so much.
The sweets were also great again a big selection from fresh fruit to jelly to cakes to rice pudding and the lovely profiteroles. Not to mention the ice cream.I could go on and on but I hope you have got the message.
The spa was really good - 7 euros for a session in the various steam & jacuzzi's, excellent value. They have a fab gym with great equipment however it does not open till 10am which is a pain as most want to exercise before breakfast and I do feel this needs looking at.
To sum up, a very comfy friendly hotel in a brilliant position with good food - just what we wanted - well done Triton & yes we would stay with you again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the sunny side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mogdaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

I was only booked into this hotel for 2 nights, just a quick trip. a taxi picked me up at airport and was only waiting on a couple which was great no waiting about, they were not staying at same hotel but didn't take long. I loved the welcome I got,a porter meeting me at taxi with his trolley and once checked in took my bags to my room,loved it. The room was amazing 2, 3 quarter beds, room was spotless, bathroom was huge and the only thing you have to bring with you is deodorant everything else is provided, even a toothbrush and toothpaste,razor,comb and much more.

Hotel was quiet when i got there, had been really busy the week before, i stayed in room 216 had a sea view but also had a view of the local shops, had the sun all afternoon.

This hotel from what i saw mainly caters for older residents, if you are young and looking for a good time at hotel don't book this hotel, but if you just want a quiet break this is a good one, hotel is lovely.

On the food now when i got there was really hungry once showered and changed went down to dinner saw there was roast beef on which was being cut by the chef looked wonderful but my knife wouldn't even cut it, was so disappointed, but there was plenty other things to choose from. In the morning chef is making fresh pancakes and eggs, but would advise if you want fresh bacon get down early.

I would return to this hotel if i returned to that part of spain again. And would recommend it to older travellers.

I'm going to tenerife for xmas so will review

Room Tip: I loved the side i was on was just above front door so got sun most of the day until it went down
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rosie1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
1.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.8 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best Triton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best Triton

Property: Hotel Best Triton
Address: Avda Antonio Machado 29, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#10 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Best Triton 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the well known "Costa del Sol", at the tourist centre of Benalmádena and facing the sea. It's just a few metres away from the harbour. Comfortable rooms with terrace, fully fitted bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV, security door lock, telephone, fridge, heating, air conditioning and optional safe-deposit box. Buffet restaurant with show cooking, national and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Best Triton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benalmadena Triton Hotel
Triton Benalmadena
Triton Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Triton Spain
Hotel Triton Benalmadena
Benalmadena Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton Costa Del Sol
Hotel Best Triton Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing