We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff and food problems let this hotel down”
Review of Hotel Best Triton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Best Triton
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Lutterworth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Staff and food problems let this hotel down”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We have just returned from a long stay, Christmas to New Year holiday at this hotel. It’s such a pity that this spacious, comfortable, clean hotel, in an excellent position with lovely gardens and pools - is so badly let down by its surly staff and poor food.

Christmas was a disaster. Food actually ran out on the buffet as so many extra guests arrived that had not been catered for (locals) The tables were not cleared, we often did our own to make room for the next course. The restaurant manager often had to help clear tables when people complained, not exactly his job!!

The food, such a big part of any holiday and especially so over Christmas was of very poor quality, often badly cooked and always cold. To be fair the New Years Eve Gala Meal was superb, why couldn’t it always be like that ?

We realise that Spain is going through a bad time – maybe that’s the reason why this hotel had so few staff who were trying to cope with many guests. A few more staff to help put the smiles back on all their faces maybe?

We still love you Spain and will return, just not to this hotel

(Written on behalf of my parents)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank addbuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    681
    294
    101
    53
See reviews for
565
758
56
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

I took a Xmas Break 24th to 29th December at this hotel booked through Alpha rooms who I use frequently because they are good. I get my own flight and transfer. I enjoyed my break very much. I agree pretty much with most previous comments. I would also go back as I think it was very good value.

Good points of hotel in my opinion.

Hotel in very good position - right on seafront
Lovely vistas from Restaurant and swimming pool
Hairdresser in spa was excellent 15 for wash and blow!
Hotel rooms pleasant with fridge. No kettle so take your own.
Food average but still good value.
Buses right outside hotel for Torremolinos, Fuengirolla, Marbella and Arroya etc and cheap
Airconditioning and heating - hotel was lovely and warm

Not so good points

Not enough seating in entertainment area and hotel didnt seem too bothered! Dragged chairs from other area in order to see entertainment.
Stayed in the Annex which was empty and creepy going back to your room at night down as long deserted and not so well lit walkway.
Xmas day was a non starter, hotel advertised a special Xmas buffet but honestly, it was just an ordinary day in the restaurant, nothing to celebrate Xmas whatsoever, so a little disappointing

Overall most people seemed to enjoy their holiday including the saga party that were their at the same time

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frances25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed at Triton as part of a "tour". Upon arrival we were assigned a room in the adjacent building. NEVER STAY in the adjacent building. You have to tromp through the lobby and down a long hallway with stairs, while dragging your luggage behind you, only to find a damp, ugly, room that looks circa 1960 and no view (absolutely horrible...and BTW - we did 2 room changes and still could not get a good room). We heard from some of our fellow tour group travelers that some of them were assigned rooms in the "main tower", and the rooms were remodeled and very nice and clean. So, off I go to change rooms for the THIRD time! After negotiating with the staff (robots, no personality, not willing to help in any way...they could really care less about the quality of your stay), I was able to "upgrade" for 25 EUR/night to a room in the main buiding. The bellman took me up to "inspect" the room before moving our things for the 3rd time. We arrived on the 6th floor to a room that had not been cleaned! Needless to say, the bellman was a little embarassed so he called the front desk and they instructed him to show me a room on the 7th floor (top floor). The room was OCEAN FRONT and should be defined as a "penthouse" at Tritpn based on the size of the room / balcony - only 2 of these rooms on each floor that are ocean front. Of course, I accepted the 7th floor, ocean front room (happily). I must say that having a nice room improved our experience at the hotel.
Location: Excellent location on the beach-front boardwalk, walking distance to many wonderful seafood restaurants. Just a short walk (maybe 5 mintues) to the marina...which is a sight to see!
Hotel entertainment: very funny - each night in the lounge bar, the hotel provided entertainment: a band, dancing, karaoke...and they even had a disco ball. Let me clarify by saying that it was not good entertainment...just funny because it was so bad and depressing! LOL
Internet: good luck - no reception in the room. Only 2 places in the lobby with "hot spots" so you would find everyone huddled together with their laptops and iPads.
Food: ...oh my... :-( Food was served in the basement of the hotel - we referred to it as "goind to the morgue". Food wise its pretty much the same every day with an occasional item changed - all buffet. Get there early because tables fill fast by the hoardes of people (my guess - mostly tour groups). We had to have breakfast here each morning due to our tour schedule, but after the first dinner...no more. Just walk to one of the restaurants along the beach - it won't be free - but it also won't be disgusting.
Room service - none
Coffee pots in the room - nope
So if you wanted coffee in the morning, you had to get dressed and go downstairs into the morge for it.
Would I stay here again if in the area? NO WAY!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank longbeachCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We decided to go back to the Triton for Christmas this year as it was closed for refurbishment last Christmas, the newly painted rooms were nice and the beds where comfortable, we emailed the hotel in advance to ask for a loot floor room facing the pool which we were given, nice big room with 2 double beds. We booked room only this time so can't comment on the food. I was very disappointed that the spa and indoor swimming pool have now decided to charge 7 euros for one and a half hours, I was looking forward to learning to swim again after my operation but could not afford that for more than 3 days and it was too cold to go in the outside pool. The staff were not as friendly this year as before and everything was catered fore the Saga holidays people.
The New Years Eve entertainment did not Finnish till 4am on New Year's Day so we got no sleep.
I will not return there again, but go back to there sister hotel the Sirroco in May

Room Tip: If you want the sun ask for a poolside room, higher floors have less notice from the music rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chubbleybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

stayed here over xmas 2012 ,position of hotel for amenities was spot on ,rooms very large with 2 queen sized beds ,small mini fridge ,just enough to hold some water and couple of beers ,bathroom large ,safe to hire 2.40 euros a day ,high floor over looking tennis courts gives an excellent view of the sea and mountains ,gardens were nice and pool area ,which we didn't use cos it was winter time ,nevertheless it got up to 20 degrees in the afternoon ,you will need a coat or fleece for night time as it does go chilly ,now the not so good things , :( ,firstly shortage of staff in dining room ,plates were left throughout meal ,always asking for ticket they give you for meals ,this did not apply to saga people ,just said saga that was it ,no questions asked ,food was not very hot but there were microwaves to heat the food ,as another reviewer stated nothing special for xmas meals ,even though they said there would be ,to say it was xmas not one of the staff had a smile on there faces ,couldn't get over how miserable they all looked ,walks to torremolinos virtually on the flat with plenty of places to stop for a rest or a drink ,mijas worth an hour or 2 1.55 euros on bus ,number 121 or 112 opposite side of road ,same as bus to fuengirola ,couple of buses go this way ,try the train back to arroya and walk down the hill ,have a drink and do quizzes in lizzies lounge bar at side of bali hotel ....

Room Tip: high floor overlooking tennis courts get afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rooferpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This was our first visit to the Triton Hotel in Benalmadena and was not dissapointed,We stayed over Christmas and for the last Five years we have stayed at the Siroco hotel which is nearby.Had a change after reading the reviews on Trip Adviser.The Triton hotel at Christmas seemed to cater for the 'Saga ' Holidays but that didn't bother us as we did our own thing.
The food was excellent and the rooms large of which they were cleaned spotlessly every day.The entertainment was a bit hit & miss,and the hotel lacked christmas spirit but remember we were in Spain and they do not celebrate Christmas like we do !
The weather for the time of year was exceptional with the sun out every day.Would definately recommend this hotel but always ask for a pool view,as the other side of the hotel is in the shade most of the day.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tintinwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Looked great in brochure and location, weather and service all lived up to expectations. Above all, The Triton was great value for money. However, I travelled in November and discovered that the hotel was full of senior citizens and, from the UK, Saga is the major tour operator (offering a 4 for 3 week AI deal). This adversely affected the atmosphere and feel for me. Evening entertainment was OK but aimed at this market; the large bar/lounge was brightly lit and very crowded; not my scene at all. The food was poor, particularly in the evenings, and the dining room was simply a place to eat and get out of quick - very brightly lit, no atmosphere, definitely not a place to linger.

Room Tip: Request a room away from main coastal road. Rooms in main building have better views of the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonesc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,019 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
1.4 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.3 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.8 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best Triton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best Triton

Property: Hotel Best Triton
Address: Avda Antonio Machado 29, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#9 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Best Triton 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the well known "Costa del Sol", at the tourist centre of Benalmádena and facing the sea. It's just a few metres away from the harbour. Comfortable rooms with terrace, fully fitted bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV, security door lock, telephone, fridge, heating, air conditioning and optional safe-deposit box. Buffet restaurant with show cooking, national and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Best Triton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benalmadena Triton Hotel
Triton Benalmadena
Triton Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Triton Spain
Hotel Triton Benalmadena
Benalmadena Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton Costa Del Sol
Hotel Best Triton Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing