We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 31 August 2012

just returned from 7 nights at the bali hotel in benalmedena, was so dissapointed with the family room there was 3 single beds made up and the bed setee, to sleep 3 adults & 1 child not enough room to turn round without banging your shins on something ,which we did every day complained to reception they said that is a family room and that is what we paid for

Room Tip: no large rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,867 - 1,873 of 3,048 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2012

Just returned from a week with my Grandchildren at this Hotel. The rooms, although quite compact, were very clean and comfortable. The food was good, we always found something we liked, there was a good choice from soup, salads and hot dishes. The pool areas were great, lifeguard on duty for the children, and plenty of sunbeds even if you were late down. The only thing was the children, and adults, were not allowed their lilos in the pool which seemed a little silly to everyone. The entertainment team were very good and put on some great evening shows. All in all a very good value for money holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Just returned from a week all inclusive with my partner and daughter aged 10.
We found the Bali Hotel to be exactly what it says it we have enjoyed a very good holiday.
There are many negative comments about the food and cardiac hill throughout reviews. We have been to quite a few hotels across Spain and its surrounding islands and the food here was the best we have ever had and I really cannot understand what there is to complain about. Lots of choice, always cooked well, and a lot of effort into the main meals as opposed to the desert section as you often see in other hotels and this was greatly appreciated by us. I only had chips once all week!!
The comments about cardiac hill are a little misleading too, sure its a bit steap however it is not a long walk up before you are at the steps leading up to Bali. If you struggle with steps, then this hotel it is not for you, for anyone else then there really is nothing to worry about, the first time it seemed steap after a day or two we was used to it and it was quite normal.
Room was adequate for a 3 star and price we paid, you get what you pay for in terms of size, room cleaned every day, bathroom very nice, sea view from balcony was amazing and very nice to wake up too and look out at.
One criticism is the entertainment team was not for us, we tried to watch it one evening but had to leave as one of the two girls doing the mini disco before the main act appeared quite drunk almost falling off the stage on many occasions and the whole thing seemed disjointed and inappropriate. One other experience was when we returned to the hotel around 10.30pm one evening and a grease performance had just started with the team dancing to the grease megamix CD and this too seemed very disjointed. These was our only two experiences, there may have been other nights which was better but we decided after watching these to avoid and instead enjoyed the local bars in benalmadena. Very good value and ambience at all.
Entertainment team throughout the day seemed to work hard with those within hotel grounds, we are beech lovers and spent most days on the beech only staying in hotel on 2 of the days. An English lad who is part of the entertainment team comes across as very in your face and not in a jovial way, in fact he is quite rude, he tells everyone he is "only 19" he behaves and speaks in a way you may expect someone much younger too, he needs to grow up.
If you want a great hotel with good food, close to a great beech, close to lots of wonderful local amenties (including wonderul harbour as others have described) then hotel bali delivers without doubt and offers superb value.

Room Tip: The beech is a must! 9 euro for a two sunbeds and parasols with the most comfortable mattress on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank snat82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Just returned from 1 week stay at this hotel. Myself, husband and 13 year old daughter. We stayed here about 8/9 years ago, hotel hasn't changed much.

We went half baord, and for the price we paid you can not fault the accommodation or food! Food was always hot and plenty to choose from, room size was disappointing, not much room to swing a cat, let alone the three of us! you had to negoitate around the room and only one person could get past the bottom of the bed, not much room to put cloths away either! Satellite tv was only in spanish! Rooms cleaned every day and kept spotless!

Sunbeds are the most uncomfortable i have been on in a long while, take a lilo with you, people had these on the sunbeds with towels over the top (you couldn't use inflatables in the pools, this didn't go down well with some holiday makers, but it did make for a more enjoyable swim!)

This hotel is not suitable for the infirm or anybody who is not fit! The hill up from the main road is called cardiac hill for only one reason!

If you want cheap beer and home cooked food, with real chips, try Fagins Bar half way down the hill san miguel only 1euro a pint!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Angi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Dear Angi H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback regarding your recent holiday at the Medplaya Hotel Bali. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really care for our guests, by providing the best service so that they enjoy their stay.
.
Thank you again for the your comments and we look forward to your future stay.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations, Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

have been to this hotel many times but not in the winter..so in january 2012 we decided to try a winter sunshine holiday...we were not dissapointed it has all the facilities of summer but not the pool...our 9yr old grandson did try the pool but was too cold..all the staff are really helpful and the food was good ...not enough childrens food in the winter but there werent many children there so he had to make do with the adults food..rooms are basic but what do you do in rooms except sleep so all in all a good holiday will go back in the winter again...the only drawback is Cardiac hill thats the nickname this hill has had in the past but so what take your time going up it ..will defo go back again...

Room Tip: I prefer the bali 2 which overlooks the 2nd pool and baby pool as its quieter room 2212 is our favou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wendy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Returned from a ten night stay at the Bali Hotel in Benalmadena with the family ( wife and two children aged nine and twelve ) and friends.
The hotel is situated midway up a very steep hill ( known locally as Cardiac Hill ) so itsn't best suited for the infirm or unfit.
At the bottom of the hill is a dual carriageway with some shops and local bars ( avoid would be our tip as they're very tired and run down, but cheap ) and across the road there are various access points to the beach and promenade ( well worth a visit - nice beach and a decent array of shops, bars and restaurants ).
The hotel is split into three buildings which can be confusing and the lifts are small and slow.
We stayed in Bali 3 in a recently renovated studio - the dcor was fine, the studio consisted of a small kitchenette and eating area, plus bed and a convertible sofa bed. All were fine.
The bathroom was a little dated but more than adequate. The room pverlooked the second pool which is closed at 7pm so there is no noise.
There are two pool areas and to be honest neither were very impressive - my children complained of the pools being a tad dirty ( there was debris at the bottom of both ) and the surrounding pool areas look very well worn.
In fact the only complaint would be that the cleaning service in the hotel is spoaradic - we went three days with no clean towels before asking for replacements and bedding is changed once per week.
We rarely saw any bar staff clearning outside tables and that's part of the reason for the unkempt feel to the pool areas.
The restaurant was best avoided unless you like schoold dinner type setting and large trays of stewy food - there's plenty of choice locally and it's cheap. The bar could get extremely busy and the staff ( who were excellent ) can be run off their feet trying to serve both fully inclusive and pay as you go customers.
Overall, the Bali is what you pay for it - it's not a budget hotel, but not The Savoy or The Ritz either.

Room Tip: Go for the studios in Bali 3 - worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank harters66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This is the 3rd year in a row we have holidayed at the Bali. We revisited because everything about the holiday was of a good standard. However this year not so good.
The pros. Very good entertainment team who work hard and produce excellant shows. All bar staff work very hard and most are friendly. Good facilities around hotel with 2 pools and child pool. Rooms and corridors still in need of update but are ok.
Cons. Restaurant and food. Staff not so friendly but look under pressure. Food was definately not so good as previous year. Most of it was cold and lots of stews and rice, certainly not very interesting, too repetative and bland. All bread or rolls were hard and the salads not so nice, it seemed like they had bought in lower grade food. Most fruit was either sour or hard. Although the rooms are no smoking there was a distinct smell of weed in the corridor! The rooms were cleaned each day but the staff didnt seem concerned about the smell.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank suez_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,380 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
3,042 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,906 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,910 reviews
0.6 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
#23 of 45 in Benalmadena
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Bali

Address: Avda Telefonica 7, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range: £41 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has rooms, studios, apartments and studio-apartments. The accommodations are all outward-facing with balconies, air conditioning and heating.There are two swimming pools for adults with lawn areas, bar service and large terraces with sun-loungers and sunshades. There is also a lawn area and a playground for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hotel And Studios
Hotel Bali Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Costa Del Sol
MedPlaya Hotel Bali Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing