We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"winter break"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 13 February 2014

just back from the Bali.Have stop here many times the last the hotel was a bit run down Very surprised the hotel had new carpets fresh paint job.the bedroom we had with new comfy mattress flat screen tv and pool view.The food was o'k not hot for some people that is the down side for buffet meals you will never pleas every body.Staff great join the amego club get free drinks or tea shirts we got the free drinks with our points.this hotel is no good for people with walking difficulty Half way up steep hill known as cardiac hill .Found the hotel very good value for money.

Room Tip: block 2 with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank villasoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,413 - 1,419 of 2,988 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just got back from a week in the Bali. The hotel is very comfortable and clean. The staff are all very friendly and speak good English. Nothing is to much trouble. The buffet is excellent both for breakfast , lunch and dinner. Lots of choice and something for all tastes. Entertainment on every night if you dont want to venture far. The only down fall is the hill it is on. Only short hill but I am sure it got steeper every day. Not for wheelchairs. We were in room 2208 and had a lovely sea view and over looked the pool. Highly recomended. Lizzies bar next door is a very friendly bar with no tv no football and no karaoke, just very reasonable drinks. Try the baileys!

Room Tip: We were in bali 1 facing east and it was sunny on balcony till 3 o clock
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank yvonne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Hotel Bali is a very good 3 star and I have stayed in many poorer 4 star properties. The hotel is split into 3 wings. Bali 1 & 2 are hotel rooms and Bali 3 is studios. The room I had was designated as a single even though it had 2 beds. It was located in Bali 2 and came equipped with air/con or heating & T.V.for no extra charge. To use the digital safe you have to get a key from reception and insert & leave it in the back of the safe door then enter a 4 digit number of your choice. The cost for a week was 17 euros inc. a 3 euro deposit which you get back when you return the key. Reception desk, cleaners & restaurant staff are very efficient,& friendly. The food in restaurant was of a very high standard with plenty of choice, (A credit to the hotel). There are 3 pools including a children;s pool (with it's own area) and plenty of room around them all. The evening entertainment was varied & good for a hotel. There was a quite a few Spanish pensioners using the hotel for that week and the ladies in particular were very loud and arrogant, dominating the hotel. Probably not a problem later in the season. The location is about a 7-10 minute walk to the marina and beach. The infamous cardiac hill on the return though only short (about 50 yards) is very steep & should be avoided if you have health or mobility problems. You can upgrade to A.I. if you are H/B at the hotel but it is cheaper to do it when you originally book. I would recommend the hotel for value as it is a 3 star but could easily be rated as a 4 star.

Room Tip: higher room numbers in Bali 2 give better view of pool area and sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights midweek in February. After reading the mixed reviews we were pleasantly surprised.

We paid £160 each for flights from Leeds/ Bradford, transfers (about 20 - 30 minutes), and 4 nights full board. Thanks to the link on TA (top of page) we also got a free bottle of wine on arrival. The value really is exceptional.

Location is very good. From the hotel you can walk down the hill to the main road and a further short walk down some steps to the beach. On the main road there are a number of bars. If you walk down to the main road and turn left you will immediately find a Scottish bar that does Ice cold San Miguel for 1 euro. The bar next door does really nice toasties. The tourist train (highly recommended) and buses can be caught here. About 50 - 100 metres further you will find a bank.

Also worth a mention is the first bar next door to the hotel called Lizzies going down the hill which was very busy and also offered cut price booze. A supermarket is opposite that sells water at half the price of the hotel. If Tapas and Spanish bars are your thing you walk the opposite way towards Arroyo de la Miel where you will be spoilt for choice.

I have attached a picture of what other reviewers call Cardiac hill, I didn't find it too bad but may be a problem for wheelchair users or people with limited mobility, however our hotel was mainly pensioners who seemed to have no problems.

Check in was fast and friendly with the only extra charge been for a safe at a cost of 2 euros per day.

Food was very good considering it was buffet. Although many of the guests are Spanish it easily possible to construct and English breakfast. They have real sausages and English style bacon, baked beans and fried or scrambled eggs which were especially nice. Fruit and cereal was also available. Coffee and juice was freely available.

At lunch we were very disappointed to see that coffee and juice machines were turned off and hidden under a tablecloth. A small bottle of water was 1.40 euros each that had to be purchased from a bar.
There was a good choice of food which again was surprisingly nice. A lot was Spanish style, which is just the way that we like it.
At mealtimes queues were small and tables always available. Food never ran out.
We never went for the evening meal as we prefer to eat tapas out.

Our room was 3407 and had a side sea view with a view of the pool. Although full board we were in a self catering room. Our room was split level with a TV (old style) with many English channels, fridge 2 ring hob and kettle. The kettle and fridge came in useful but remember to take coffee and tea bags with you. Hotel info states fridges are 5 euros per day?
We had a double bed that was reasonably comfortable with clean sheets and blankets. In the bathroom there is a powerful above bath shower, WC, sink and bidet. Basic liquid soap/shampoo and towels are provided.
We noticed that some rooms didn't get the sun (ours didn't but not an issue in February) and other rooms had a better view of the sea, so if this is important to you request one when booking.

It seems that different parts of the hotel are in a better state that others. Our room was acceptable and looked like it had had a bit of work recently. Only issue was the extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work and a light bulb was blown which was no big deal. The corridor did look tired and a new carpet and a coat of paint would be next on my shopping list if it was up to me.

Cleanliness was just acceptable. Our room was clean, but dirt could be seen if you looked. It wouldn't put me off staying there again.
We only had room service one day when the maid emptied the bin, replaced the bog roll and towels and left without making the bed or sweeping up. Not sure if she was in a rush or one should make ones own bed? In any event it didn't spoil my holiday.

As others have mentioned most of the guests are Spanish pensioners. We are much younger but got on with them all and sometimes had a bit of a laugh with them. We didn't really go to the entertainment on an evening other than having our last drink in the bar after a night out. A small beer was 1.5 euros and a vodka and coke 3.5 euros. If you intend drinking a lot in the hotel the cost to upgrade to all inclusive was a very reasonable 12 euros per person per night, which also entitles you to free water at lunchtimes.

Free WIFI was in reception. The first two days it was really good and worked well for Skype and Facetime but later in the week it was very slow. Apparently it will be upgraded soon with WIFI in all areas.

Overall we had a fantastic stay at the Bali and would certainly return if the price was good

Room Tip: Some balconies get sun, some don't Some have a better sea view than others. The Self catering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bestyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I sat one night and read about 100 reviews of this place, taking note of some of the negative comments before our 5 night all inclusive stay at the start of Feb. In response all I can say to those that find fault is that this is a 3 Star, not 4 or 5. For the time of year I went it offered excellent value for money,, 350€ for two all inclusive (175€ each for all you can eat and drink, 3 meals a day, snacks, accommodation and all drinks, ice cream etc)

Food..the food was varied and of a very high standard. With food you cant please everybody all the time, but a constant production of high quality food, served by very well mannered and efficient staff was the order of the the day., So any complaints by other reviewers all I can say is for a 3 star this was excellent, if you have such a luxury culinary pallet then let your pocket pay for it by going to 5 star, otherwise if you want fine food, all you can eat ant a reasonable price this is for you.

Accommodation... perfect, again 3 star not 4 or 5 but comfortable, each room has a balcony, ask for one overlooking the pool or with sea or sum views when you get there. The friendly staff will try an accommodate. It may be slightly worn in places but it works and again for 3 stars it matches it's criteria very well.

Bar and Entertainment.... I found the bar dark and with the sunny cafe closed during winter months we tended not to go near it, we also found the entertainment not to our liking, but this is purely a matter of taste as it was full every night. A lot of it is in Spanish, but when in Rome.

One of the unbelievable comments I read was that there was to many Spanish in the Hotel and that they are rude, This Is Spain Folks, not Manchester it says so when you get of the plane at the airport...Its like going to Ireland and saying there was to many Irish in the hotel , wise up .Spanish people have different ways about them, they are not English and what can be considered rude by us to them can also work the other way, I have seen many, many rude English. I found the Spanish at this hotel fine and well manared, if you are rude to them, by all means they will be rude to you.

Benalmadena....No, sorry folks, to many hills and the one up the side of the Hotel is a killer. The shops are tacky selling rubbish and if you wish to go further up the town a taxi is a must. Public transport is excellent and very affordable though.

To finish up, the staff are friendly and professional, do not listen to reviewers who say they are not. I can not judge the value during peak times but in Jan/Feb/Mar it is excellent value and some people seem to go for weeks at and end...this tells you something. My advice is go half or full board. Do not go in with the idea that there should be trumpet players at the door pealing grapes for you, but sit back, enjoy the food, the pool, the beach and leave it at that.

Would I go back..? to the Hotel yes, Benalmadena no , only if the man who built the town finds a Kango hammer and flattens it a bit.....

Room Tip: ask for a higher flower 4 or above with a sun or pool view terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank the b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear PaddyMDublin,

Thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Bali as your accommodation for your All Inclusive holidays in Benalmádena Costa. We are pleased to hear you found it a great value for money along with friendly and efficient staff.

Thanks again for your review and we hope you will choose us again in the future when visiting Benalmádena.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

we have stayed at the hotel Bali before so knew what to expect ,we had a good room facing the sea as requested , staff as always hard working and pleasant , food very good for a 3 star hotel and you can always swap dinner for lunch if you fancy a night out somewhere else , we were also lucky with the weather for the time of the year , the hotel bar prices and branded spirit measures served are comparable with most of the local bars . you can find faults but I prefer to look at the good things the hotel Bali does and the main thing is at around £40 a night for 2 people on a half board basis you certainly get value for your money ,I rate the hotel Bali itself at 3.5 stars . the staff 5 stars . and the value 5 stars

Room Tip: block 2 on a high floor during the winter months will normally get the best of the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear David t,

Firstly thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Bali and for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comment and your visit and we hope you'll choose us again the next time you are in Benalmádena Costa.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Reception staff were efficient and helpful.
Food was plentiful and varied and the restaurant staff friendly.
We asked for a quiet room with sea view and that is what we got. Stayed in an apartment and were impressed with the spaciousness of the room.
Entertainment staff were friendly and good fun, unfortunately the pillars round the stage made it difficult to see the acts.
We had one issue which turned out to be our own fault but Paco the assistant manager was as helpful as anyone could want.
Yes, the hotel was half full of spanish pensioners here on holiday but they were just as courteous as anyone else and we didn't experience any of the problems other people have commented on. We found them good fun even if the language barrier prevented effective communication.
As we were in an apartment we were not expecting room service on a daily basis but beds and towels were changed with surprising frequency.
The hill is steep but not long and we didn't find it a problem at our age (early sixties) although if you have breathing difficulties then you'd need to take a rest to get your breath back.
We were surprised that the weather was so warm in January, one day was 28 degrees and barely any rain. Lots of attractions were still open, though not the cable car which is a pity but we found plenty to do over the three weeks we were there.
I expect some of the rooms over the bar would be noisy, there doesn't seem to be much in the way of sound insulation between rooms but we were well away in a separate block so it wasn't a problem.
Overall, we really enjoyed and would recommend the Bali - the fact that many people return year after year speaks volumes for the hotel.
Of course we can't speak for what it is like in the summer but we found it great for a winter sun break.

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank Jethound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Jethound,

Thank yo for choosing Medplaya Hotel Bali and for taking the time to review this place. It is great to hear that the junior suite met your expectations and you enjoyed your holidays with us.

Thanks again for your review and we would be very happy to welcome you again at the Hotel Bali in Benalmádena Costa.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.1 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,856 reviews
0.6 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
#23 of 45 in Benalmadena
660 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Bali

Address: Avda Telefonica 7, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £34 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has rooms, studios, apartments and studio-apartments. The accommodations are all outward-facing with balconies, air conditioning and heating.There are two swimming pools for adults with lawn areas, bar service and large terraces with sun-loungers and sunshades. There is also a lawn area and a playground for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hotel And Studios
Hotel Bali Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Costa Del Sol
MedPlaya Hotel Bali Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing