We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Good long weekend away in hotel Bali food was very good & staff were very friendly & helpful
All in all a really good location & very pleasant stay will defiantly return.
Lizzie's bar right next to the hotel is a must visit nice atmosphere & reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,351 - 1,357 of 2,988 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel bali April 2014. Was ok but needs serious. Upgrade. Staff are great very freindly. And willing to help. Seems to be the hotel is more for older people where familys as well but not that many the hotel also takes stag and hen partys witch are not everybodys cup of tea there are several. Areas. Around the hotel where small kids need to be carefull
Even adults aswell by the pool in the middle there are bolts sticking out the ground where the old steps were Goin in to the pool. Steps leading to the pool area from hotel in a few areas have a lot broken tiles sharp edges anybody who has worked with tiles no a broken tile will give you a nasty cut.the rooms are out dated it like Goin back in time. Corridor. Carpet dirty and badly stained The hotel is massive and I understand the up keep of a building that size is a massive job. The hotel realy has been well used. Entertainment. Was ok. We saw them practice. For different. Shows and stuff but were not on in our hotel think they were practiced. In the bali then preformed. Some were else benalmadena is a lovely place with lots to do for the family will definitely. Be Goin back. But I am sad to say it will not be too the hotel bali. I must say again the staff are great

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank sam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed at the Bali in February with my husband and we were impressed with the standard of the hotel. Yes the rooms are quite small, but were adequate for what you need. The food was very good and plenty of choice. The pool area was very good and the location of the hotel is excellent. The hill leading up to it is steep, but it didn't prove too much of a problem for us and we are both pensioners. It was very handy for the buses and there a nice couple of bars very close by. We would definitely recommend Lizzie's bar next door. We were made to feel really welcome and there was a lovely atmosphere. Overall we would say that it is value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Pamela G,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Bali and for sharing your comment on your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you find the hotel great value for money. Our main goal is to offer a quality and friendly service at a reasonable price. We are happy to know that we have succeeded.

Thanks again for reviewing Hotel Bali and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Now where shall I start, we went to the Bali for Easter we arrived on good Friday and stayed for 7 nights. The staff at the hotel were fantastic, going from reception to bar staff, waiters, cleaners and entertainment staff. Me and my family stayed in bali 3 studio room, it was large, clean and perfect for a family of 4. Our room was cleaned every day with fresh sheets and towels. We originally went half board but upgraded to all inclusive, it was only 15 euro per adult and 10 euro per child per day, which was a bargain as that gave us an extra meal at dinner and unlimited drinks, snacks and ice cream all week. I would have spent a lot more if we hadn’t upgraded. Getting drinks from the bar was fine, not too much of a wait at any time, the bar staff were fast and gave a good service. The food in the restaurant was brilliant, there was plenty of choice at every meal, the kids always found something nice to eat and went back up again to get some more. The waiters were nice and fun, they were always messing around with the kids and it really did make there day. The kids loved the swimming pools, they were cleaned every day in the morning, as we had a lovely view of the pool and could see them cleaning them when we woke up. The entertainment was good, it was different every night, you could see they were trying please the Spanish guest as well as us English. On our last night on the Thursday there was a Mr Bali competition in which I entered and won. I was given a hat, t-shirt and a bottle of champagne for winning, but on the poster advertising the show by the restaurant said the first prize was a weeks holiday for two in the hotel, In which I didn’t get this prize. But apart from that the hotel was in a great location to loads of places to go and close to the beach. The hill that everyone goes on about is nothing, maybe if you were elderly then it might be a problem but we saw loads of elderly walking up to the hotel with no problem. So in conclusion we would definitely come back to this hotel without a second thought. Thanks for such a great week.

Room Tip: I would book half board then upgrade to all inclusive in the hotel, its a lot cheaper then going t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Relaciones Públicas at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Jason L,

Thanks for choosing our hotel Bali and for providing your comment on your recent stay at this place. We are happy to hear about your pleasant experience. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our spacious studio, which as you say is suitable for families.
Thanks for choosing hotel Bali as your holiday accommodation and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Came here for a short break with my Boyfriend. Overall, the accommodation was clean and presentable with modern tvs and reasonable bathrooms. Location was fantastic, close to the beach and the marina. 'Cardiac hill' wasn't as steep as it sounds and I wouldn't let it put you off. The pool area was good, adequate chairs/sun loungers and lovely poolside bar. Entertainment in the evening was also really good fun although getting a seat was sometimes difficult. The food however at this hotel was pretty horrific, even at breakfast it was a struggle to find something decent. Lots of bread and chips were eaten! If we could do it again, I would definitely stick to an apartment only deal as lots of restaurants around which were cheap and fairly decent.

Room Tip: Go accommodation only, avoid food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona6469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Relaciones Públicas at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Fiona6469,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Bali as your holiday accommodation and for taking the time to share your comment on your recent stay at this place. We are pleased to hear that you had a great time in Benalmádena Costa. Regarding the food, it saddens us to hear that you did not find the food good. Generally our guests are satisfied with a variety of food in our restaurant and we receive positive comment on our cuisine.

Thanks again for reviewing Medplaya Hotel Bali and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife, 4 year old son and I stayed in the Bali for the first week of November 2012. The weather was atrocious, the rain hammered down. Anyway, as for the Bali, if you need spacious rooms, go elsewhere. Really, the rooms are too cramped, certainly with kids. If you are a couple, and don't get on each other's nerves you will be fine.

The pool is akin to a municipal swimming pool and devoid of character, I don't care for pool holidays though, so between that and the shocking weather, it didn't matter. Well, that's the negatives out of the way (unless you are afraid of a wee walk up a hill). It'll toughen you up so I'll say no more about that.

Now, the food. Where o where do I begin. The food was absolutely magnificent. Even my fussy 4 year old could barely contain himself until mealtime. The salads, sweet lord, they must have come straight from God's own fields. I'm drooling at the thought of them. All the food was of an excellent standard, but the fresh produce was something to behold. Most of the fish dishes were excellent, I'm not a huge fan of hake so I can't speak for all of them. The chef was particularly good with pork. What that man could do with a dead pig was something else.

As for everything else.... The bar is spacious and offers a decent variety of drinks, hot and cold. The entertainment is exactly what one might expect of a 3 star Costa hotel. Everything is clean, tidy and orderly. The staff are friendly and efficient. One point though, and it won't please a lot of people reading this. The Hotel Bali is in SPAIN, not Blackburn or Milton Keynes. I was amazed how many (mostly English) people I heard complaining about not being understood in English. Try speaking a little Spainish, the Spainish people will love you for it. It isn't so much that the staff don't speak English, but rather some of their 'English speaking' customers don't speak it too well. I have an accent (Irish), at home I speak in the vernacular, but in the interest of being understood, try at least and use words that are in the English dictionary.

Locationwise, the Bali is well situated as a base for your Costa Del Sol holiday. The bus service is frequent and reliable, and the stop is at the bottom of what people call 'cardiac hill', can't see why myself.

Anyway, give the Bali a try, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank crocodiledunree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

just back from week in the bali and was told (after booking) that it was full of hen and stags. not true. full of spanish pensioners who took over the hotel dining room and entertainment area. Staff very good, rooms clean although not huge very adequate. Lifts not sufficient for size of hotel and not quick enough. Overall a perfectly accceptable hotel, you only get what you pay for and talking to people in the resort the bali is one of the better ones.

Room Tip: we were in block 1 which was ok for us, cannot comment on other blocks. Corridors are carpeted and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cainfamily73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.1 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,855 reviews
0.6 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
#23 of 45 in Benalmadena
660 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Bali

Address: Avda Telefonica 7, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range: £34 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has rooms, studios, apartments and studio-apartments. The accommodations are all outward-facing with balconies, air conditioning and heating.There are two swimming pools for adults with lawn areas, bar service and large terraces with sun-loungers and sunshades. There is also a lawn area and a playground for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hotel And Studios
Hotel Bali Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Costa Del Sol
MedPlaya Hotel Bali Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing