We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, The Bad....and the Orange”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“The Good, The Bad....and the Orange”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Firstly ...its a 3* hotel...there are some good points and bad, I will try address them both so you can make an informed decision. as with all my reviews I try to be honest and unbiased, and base my reviews on my own personal observations.

The Bali is definitely a family type hotel and not for couples, its predominately Spanish, with about 30% British while we were there.
Its situated at the top of short steep hill and the spectacular Marina area can be walked to in about 15 mins, along the sea walk promenade.

First impressions are pretty good, with a modern spacious reception area, with great staff who speak better English than most.
There is a large bar area, and service is pretty good, outside there is a small poolside area, this is used for sunbathing during the day and later the evening entertainment, there is also an outdoor bar.

The dining room is air conditioned, very large with two areas for food service, boasting a large salad bar, long hot food counter, desert counter, and a separate kids buffet area, there is also a bar, but you have to queue and pay for, no table waiter service. Although the staff are vey efficient and friendly

We found our room on the top ,7th, floor overlooking the sea, and a great view it was, the room was clean, although not very large, but there were just the 2 of us, the bed comfy, a double wardrobe, TV, room safe,( this is to be paid for), and the air con was great, bathroom with bath and shower and bidet, with plenty of clean towels.
There is also an option to upgrade to "all inc", which depending upon your outlook, can =good value for money

you can feel a "BUT" coming here, and you will be right....

There are only 2 lifts to service the hotel and 4 just fit in each, a nightmare at any time, seeing how busy the Bali is, and especially at meal times, if your above 3rd floor, or if you have kids in prams. as the dining room is in the lower ground floor.
The reception area toilets although clean, have no hand drying facilities at all,
Away from the reception area and up on the floors the Bali is tired, and in need of major redecoration badly, the colour scheme is a wild burnt orange throughout, and reminiscent of the 70's.. see my photos ( I know you don't live here )but its hurtful on the eyes, even the rooms have the same scheme, and our room stunk of smoke, no excuse when there is a balcony....we were told we couldn't change as the hotel was full.
There is WiFi within the bar area only , but its incredibly slow, its available in your room at a major cost, and if as slow as bar not worth getting.

The food is average 3* fare , some good , some not so good, but a wide variety, however, Its a good job I know my food, as when I tried the chefs theatre, chicken kebab night, I cut into my second to find it was raw... how many others missed this....I tried to point this out to the chef, who just shrugged his shoulders, maybe his lack of English or my reasonable Spanish got lost, however we did get a response from the restaurant manager who was horrified and whom I believe dealt with the issue. major disaster averted...possibly ...but how close was that...
On the _+ side there was a half decent salad bar, variety of mains, not so much vegetarian choice, and a good dessert selection each night
Oh...and breakfast was the usual fare, pretty good choice all round, and best meal of the day
Beware the dining room got very, very busy at peak times.
The poolside snack bar was a poor offering, of just burgers and crisps, or toasties, none of which looked great,

Daytime Children's entertainment, the main reason for us taking our niece, was seriously lacking, and the night-time not much better. So as a group we decided going out was a far better option, opting to look around the Marina, take a walk to the beautiful local park and the award winning Tivoli world theme park
The pool is nowhere adequate sized for the number of guests, considering there are 3 parts to this hotel, Bali 1, Bali 2 and Bali 3 which are apartments.

So... .time to make up your own minds...its not a bad hotel, just needs to have some love and attention added.

Thanks for reading, and I hope its been informative, in which case please consider leaving me a helpful vote. And feel free to check out my other reviews on my southern Spain tour.

A less than expected stop off on my WORLD DOMINATION TOUR
Bye for now Ming

Room Tip: rooms on floors 6 & 7 have great scenic views , one side overlooks the sea the other the hillsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank EmperorMing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    1,107
    640
    212
    146
See reviews for
1,084
1,059
71
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Excellent hotel , staff were great kids club and pool were great. Food was limited choice as I was vegitarian but not the worst i have even encountered. My daughter was 7 at the time and a very fussy eater. staff were great and found her a good choice of food each night. Benalmadena is one of the best resorts I have been to , very relaxed and great people , try going in June they have a festival and so we got to see the fun fair in the main park which is beautiful at night.
Selow world is a must see.

Room Tip: Go in June to see the local festival
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cupcakeclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Cupcakeclare,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Bali and for sharing your comment. We are happy to hear that the hotel met your expectations. Regarding the choice of food in the restaurant, we are catering for all tastes although vegetarians might find the choice limited.
Thanks again for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you again on another occasion.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were staying in a private apartment up the road but came to the Bali at night for their entertainment and facilities. It was great, fantastic show especially flash dance excellent dancers. Hotel public areas are a little dated things like toilets hand dryers missing, furniture very 70's but hey we were free loading. Tried buffet on last night which was fine and again kids disco dd the trick. Would definately consider a sty there in future kids loved it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillyj159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here with family 16-23rd July for the third time, but I'm afraid it will be our last visit, although it's still clean & rooms are fine, the food has gone down hill drastically, paid for A/L and spent most of the time eating out, there was 6 adults & 3 children in our party & not one of us could eat the food. The entertainment team work hard but even that isn't as good as last few years. I waited at the outside bar for 30 mins one day to served a burger & coke, the bar man Antonio totally ignored me and was serving Spanish people front me. I spoke to few return guests and they all said the same thing. So Bali do something about it or you will lose a lot more custom.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank needaholday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Needaholday,

Thanks for choosing Medplaya Hotel Bali for your summer holiday in Benalmádena Costa and for taking the time to share comments on your stay with us. It saddens us to hear that this time our hotel did not meet your expectations and that there were few aspects of the hotel which you did not enjoy. With regard to the bar service, our staff works hard to offer the best service to all our guest and don't do any preferences in whom they serve first. It may happen that during certain hours that bar gets more guests and the bar staff is busy with orders and might omit someone but this is never intentionally. All our staff is professional and the most of the times we receive high customer satisfaction score. We are sorry that you did not perceive it the same way. In all cases we daily strive to improve and and your comment is very much appreciated.

Once again, thanks for being our guest and we hope to be able to welcome you again, in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife, 16 year old son and I stayed at the Bali from 2nd to 7th June-a short stay for our 25th wedding anniversary. This was our second visit and the fact that we booked the Bali for such a special occasion should speak volumes. We loved it and were not disappointed.

We emailed the hotel prior to depature and on arrival got the pool/sea view we requested.

Our room was fairly basic and on the smallish side for 3 adults (as we knew it would be) but was spotlessly clean, more than adequate for our stay and what we paid for it. The Bali is at least a good standard 3 star hotel.

We went for the all inclusive option before travelling as this really is a no brainer and excellent value for money. The locally produced drinks were of a good standard, e.g. San Miguel/bottled house wine and the food was good although perhaps the childrens choice could be extended by having a couple of trays of things like chicken nuggets,pizza,burgers etc. Don't get me wrong, the food was great but other hotels have small children's buffet's which work well.

The staff were very friendly, hard working and really couldn't do enough for us. The entertainment staff were particularly hard working and talented.

We thought that the public areas were well kept and the pools well maintained and clean. We had no problem getting sunbeds and there was plenty of room.

Having heard about the hotel from us, our relatives booked a weeks stay (they're still there at time of writing) and like us, enjoying themselves.

There were no hen/stag parties when we were there. There was a football tournament in Benalmadena and some children's teams staying in the hotel at the weekend but they were well behaved so no issues there.

Overall, a great hotel, great location and well worth trying. Would we go back? Absolutely!

Room Tip: If you have any special requirements, email the hotel before you travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigSteevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, RRPP at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear BigSteevo,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Bali as your holiday accommodation in Benalmádena Costa and for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your All Inclusive holiday and that the hotel met your expectations in every aspect. Our priority is to offer value for money and enjoyable holiday for all ages.
We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully very soon.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

i stayed in this hotel 15th july for a week overall it was ok did have some problems we were in a party of 15 and spread out all over level 1 block 2 and 1 room on level 2 which was me asked for the same floor as the others and reception were very good and changed me bad points i did have a problem with th food although there was several choices it just wsnt for me so ended up eating out alot the bar staff at the entertainment side never smiled and just seemed moody alot of the time my main problem was the lifts i have a wheelchair and there is only 2 small lifts for the whole of block 2 and the resturants you could only get the wheelchair and the person pushing in the lift waited over 25 mins one day to go down for lunch and when the lift did eventually stop on our floor there was always people in it so couldnt get the wheel chair in it my friend went to reception and told them our problem and the answer he got was we carnt do anything about it which meant we missed lunch that is the other reason we stopped going down there good points it wasnt far to the beach shops and resturants i hired a mobility scooter for the week which easily got me up and down the big bank although we were only on floor one in block 2 we had a beautiful pool and sea view and was really quiet apart from one night overall would i stay here again maybe yes if the lift situation was sorted but not all inclusive

Room Tip: go for block 2 lovely sea and pool views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, RRPP at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Allison S,

Thanks for being our guest and for reviewing Medplaya Hotel Bali. We are sorry to hear that you had a problem to get into the restaurant. Most of the times guests don't wait for a lift, however it may happen that on certain hours we experience congestion. Regarding the friendliness of our staff, we pay attention to politeness and commitment in all we do and this reflects in the rating of our services. We daily strive to offer best service possible to all our guests and make improvements.

Thanks again for reviewing Hotel Bali and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Should you have any questions or doubts, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

definitely 3 star. don't expect 4 star standards; the food is generally very good buffet style but you can't get coffee or tea with your evening meal. You can't even buy one at the restaurant bar. The breakfast 'fruit juice' is just sugar flavoured cordial. There are no hot drink making facilities in the rooms, (coffee, tea) and no free Wi-Fi at all. However, the price I paid still made it a good deal so you need to get 1/2 board as cheaply as possible.

Room Tip: if you want quiet you need a room NOT overlooking the pool or entertainment area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,022 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#24 of 45 in Benalmadena
579 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
#26 of 45 in Benalmadena
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Bali

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Bali
Address: Avda Telefonica 7, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bali is a three-star hotel located on the Costa del Sol, made up of three attached buildings that form a modern and welcoming vacation complex ideal for families and couples of all ages. It is located in Benalmadena-Costa, only 250 meters from the beach and close to the famous Puerto Marina, the Tivoli amusement park and the 'La Paloma' park. All Inclusive The All Inclusive, from Medplaya Hotels offers family fun whilst at the same time making your holiday money go further. The hotel has rooms, studios, apartments and studio-apartments. The accommodations are all outward-facing with balconies, air conditioning and heating.There are two swimming pools for adults with lawn areas, bar service and large terraces with sun-loungers and sunshades. There is also a lawn area and a playground for children. The buffet-style restaurant offers a wide variety of national and international dishes as well as thematic dinners that provide the most outstanding service to the guests. We offer a complete range of board options to suit our customers' tastes and pocket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hotel And Studios
Hotel Bali Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Costa Del Sol
MedPlaya Hotel Bali Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing