We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for Purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fit for Purpose”
Reviewed 14 May 2009

A golfing party of 4, we had 2 rooms in this hotel. Overall, I would say that for the price we paid we got value for money. We literally used it for bed and breakfast, The rooms were of a good standard and cleaned every day with fresh towelling.
The hotel was very busy with lots of families but the rooms were more than adequate to keep noise at bay.
Didn't use any of the facilities at the hotel but in passing through it appeared to be quite popular of an evening.
Top marks for breakfast as there was a splendid selection every morning which saved our group a small fortune for the week.
The hotel stands halfway up one of the many steep hills which is not too bad coming back from the main drag but can be quite a hike from the beach.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    1,106
    640
    212
    146
See reviews for
1,083
1,059
71
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

after reading reviews i was a bit dubious but decided to give it a go, was very pleasantly surprised, lovely sea view room cleaned to a very high standard,restaurant busy but great choice of tasty food, ate too much. pleasant helpful staff, nice pools with plenty of sunbeds, all in all i had a lovely stay here. great bar at bottom of street "chrissies cosmopolitan" no tv no sport wonderful

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank talkturkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2009

My husband and I took our three year old son on a last minute break to Benalmadena and booked at the Bali after trawling through the reviews. We got a great rate for half board through Alpha rooms, but were still a bit wary having read some of the reviews. We needn't have worried. We arrived late on the Saturday night and a cold supper was waiting for us as we had missed dinner. The room (2115) was large with two single beds pushed together to make a double and a sofa bed for our son. There was plenty of wardrobe space and a wall mounted flat screen tv with two English channels (reception was a bit iffy though), and the bathroom looked like it had only recently been put in. Everywhere was spotless and there was no noise at night.
Breakfast was buffet style with a large selection of fruit, cheese, cold meat, breads, full English cooked breakfast, cereals, yogurt, pastries, juices and hot drinks. Every taste was catered for. The atmosphere was very relaxed and the waiting staff made a particular fuss of our son, and we talked to several of the other guests - one couple were there for the sixteenth year running!
Dinner was again buffet style and even though I do not eat meat, and our son can be picky, we did not struggle for choice. There was a large salad bar with potato salad, seafood salad, orange salad and the like for starter and a choice of two soups. Then there would be a couple of vegetables, a fish dish, at least three meat dishes, chips, rice and pasta, followed by an ice cream bar and a selection of desserts. The bar was open for you to buy accompanying drinks. On Friday nights all the ladies get a flower, the kids get sweets and everyone gets a glass of champagne free of charge - it's a nice touch that makes you feel valued as a guest.
There are two swimming pools - one has a shallow baby pool attached to one end, the other has a large separate kiddies pool in the middle of a grassed area away form the main pool - we preferred this one, as did our son - he loved it! There is a large (and relatively new by the look of it) poolside cafe bar and a small mini golf.
At night everyone congregates in the large showbar. At one end is the stage where shows we saw included a reptile show, a parrot show, 'Grease' performed by the animacion team, Flamenco night and a magic show - plenty of variety and it was all good quality entertainment too. There is also bingo and the like. At the other end of the bar are two televisions showing live sport and, unlike some hotels, they don't mind turning up the sound for you so you can actually hear the commentary! A small games room harbours a pool table and slot machines, and there are about ten pc's for internet and gaming charged at one euro per ten minutes. A separate room taught dance lessons for those wanting them (mainly the older guests).
The clientele is mixed. There are, like us, families with young children, there are younger couples and there are a lot of older couples. I found this was a positive point and added to the family feel of the hotel. We have never before interacted so much with other hotel guests and we really enjoyed saying hello to people out and about in the resort.
Finally I have to mention 'the hill'. Unless you're over sixty it should not even be a consideration. Having pushed a buggy up the hill at least twice everyday, I can say from experience that whilst you will be a bit out of breath by the time you reach the Bali, it is by no means Mount Everest!! Only those with walking difficulties would find it an issue.
Overall I would simply say that if you want a nice, clean, friendly hotel with good entertainment at night and within easy walking distance of the beach, the marina and the bars, then book the Bali without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jel1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east anglia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We have just returned from a week at the Bali Hotel, cannot fault anything about the entire holiday - and I find it easy to critisise things!!. We all agreed it was a fantastic hotel with a good variety of entertainment and we would all come back again. The review comments some people made on the hill the hotel is on we thought were a bit exaggerated, although the hill is steep it is a very short walk up there. The food was good quality and plenty of choice. Staff very friendly and rooms not larga bae but big enough and very clean. Bathroom was of a very good clean standard and we always had clean towels.OVERALL AN EXCELLENT ENJOYABLE HOLIDAY. we find it hard to believe a bad review on this hotel. We have had numerous holidays abroad over the years and this is only the second one that was perfect!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! hope to go back

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lud13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

I dispute that this is a 3 star hotel, we were given a room where we couldnt open the wardrobes without hitting the bed, we stayed one night and moved out, paying an extra substantial amount of money to Thomson's for the priviledge of being put somewhere decent. The one and only night we had so called dinner in the restaurant no one asked us if we wanted to order drinks, when my husband called a member of staff over he was told to get his own at the bar. The whole place is chaos - if you want a hi de hi holiday then this is the place for you, if you stay here you have been well and truly tango'd (orange everywhere) By the way we did complain to Thomson's on our return but they chose to brush it off, well they would as they had already taken the extra money by then!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DorsetMarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

London
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2009

Hotel rooms were very very basic, not all that clean and it took 4 days to replace the broken glass in my patio door which was very dangerous. Rooms and corridors noisy with screaming kids running amock all night, very lively hotel but the staff were great.They also charge 10 Euros per day to park in the carpark but if you take your car out you then pay a full day again!!!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londonstevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

As my father spends 6 months a year in Benalmadena I visit twice every year ,March and October for a week. I normally stay in the Minerva/Jupiter apartments which are privatley owned and if i stay in a hotel i would stay in the RIU. I had previously been inside the Bali a few years bk in the summer to watch a show and thought that this time round me and my partner would try for a week there. We went 5th March with Thomsons for £250 each, i chose the studio option because I had found out that the studio hadn't long been built. The studio was very spacious which was lovely but the downside for me was that the beds were rock hard and the walls there were so thin, we had screaming children next door to us so it was difficult to sleep, also a lot of the entertainement was in Spanish, i thought that the corridors were a bit shabby too. Bar staff were great though, especailly this one man (dont know his name) he was great at making bloody marys. The Minerva Jupiter is the same star grading and in future i think i will stick to them. Everytime i go to Benalmadena i really enjoy myself and i did this time, but i dont think i would stay here again because of the sleeping problems. The half board section of rooms might be fine though.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tashaandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,019 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#24 of 45 in Benalmadena
579 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
#26 of 45 in Benalmadena
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Bali

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Bali
Address: Avda Telefonica 7, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bali is a three-star hotel located on the Costa del Sol, made up of three attached buildings that form a modern and welcoming vacation complex ideal for families and couples of all ages. It is located in Benalmadena-Costa, only 250 meters from the beach and close to the famous Puerto Marina, the Tivoli amusement park and the 'La Paloma' park. All Inclusive The All Inclusive, from Medplaya Hotels offers family fun whilst at the same time making your holiday money go further. The hotel has rooms, studios, apartments and studio-apartments. The accommodations are all outward-facing with balconies, air conditioning and heating.There are two swimming pools for adults with lawn areas, bar service and large terraces with sun-loungers and sunshades. There is also a lawn area and a playground for children. The buffet-style restaurant offers a wide variety of national and international dishes as well as thematic dinners that provide the most outstanding service to the guests. We offer a complete range of board options to suit our customers' tastes and pocket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hotel And Studios
Hotel Bali Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Costa Del Sol
MedPlaya Hotel Bali Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing