We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stags and Hens in a family hotel???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stags and Hens in a family hotel???”
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We stayed here last week of May, first week of June me hubby and three kids 4, 7 and 13, and i can fully agree with the previous comments. i was totally surprised that Thomson would send families to a hotel that appears to take bookings of anyone with money! to give a group of 30 lads all inclusive, the let them set up camp at the pool bar is disgraceful.. it was intimadating going to the bar, and the language was colourful to say the least!
Food was good for adults, not so for kids, my lot had soggy chips most mealtimes, but they are fussy. rooms were clean, we had two rooms, mine slept two, and was tiny with the smallest balcony ever. we had a nice sea view which we couldn't see if we sat down as our balcony wall was concrete. Cardiac hill is not so bad, but the road at the bottom is very busy. I didn't really rate the resort, torremolinos nearby is much nicer and cleaner.
Oh and how can i forget the spanish kids football tournament teams that were staying there? loads of them!!! it was like school dinner times when they were in the restaurant, they were noisy, rude, and really they shouldn't have been there in my opinion. There behaviour at the pool was awful too, you couldn't get in while they were all in. 50+ school kids in a not very big pool, trying to drown each other and dive bombing. the poor lifeguard had his work cut out!
Evening entertainment consisted of a mini disco, same 5 or 6 songs every night, the longest game of bingo ever, and the hotel team putting on shows. some bad, some ok.
They had a few outside acts come in as well. If your there for fusion 1 go out, the worst dance act i've ever seen!
I'd heard good stories about Bali from family and friends, but it appears to have gone downhill from when they stayed. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    1,085
    621
    205
    141
See reviews for
1,051
1,032
70
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2010

i went with my husband and a 2 yr old and a 8 yr old, was so disappointed with the rudeness of staff and the food was inedible for adults let alone children, there were no selection of food for kids only chips and cheese every night.
we were all inclusive and had to eat out every night, on the first night the rep gave me 5 euros to go to get my 2 yr old some edible food!! also if your all inclusive you have to have plastic cups for drinks all the time but if you pay for drinks you get a glass, madness!!! it slowly got worse with stag parties throwing chairs into swimming pools and going in for breakfast blind drunk and being let in! not good for children or adults, we were greated with 200 children doing a football tournament for 3 days so the swimming pool got full up at 3pm everyday, the rep said he could move us for another 700 euros on top of the £1600 i paid already and my parents also paid the same.we couldnt visit the hotel he wanted to move us to we just had to go and hope for the best, so we decided to stay at the hell hole and stay out as much as poss.the evening entertainment was the hotel team miming to all songs and singing a song about shooting babies and killing chickens, and being a sex maniac! certainly not for children.
so if your booked to go to this hotel please dont unless your on a stag night/week and even if you are, please have consideration for families that dont want to see you lay on sunloungers in the mornings whilst still drinking and throwing umbrellas/chairs into pools that my 8yr old son was likely to jump on, the hotels answer to my complaint about the stag parties was they are putting extra security guards on in evenings!! that was enough for me and couldnt get home fast enough.needless to say i will never travel with thomson again ever.forgot to mention cardiac hill and loads of steps at the bottom to get to beach, and the dual carriageway you cross to get there! beleive me its crap!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank user23England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Me n my son have just got back from the Bali on sat 5th June had a great time not for people in wheel chairs because of the hills to get to the hotel.would go back again this is are second time at this hotel staff very friendly and helpfull.plenty shops and bars on way up the hill so you can stop of for a breather.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shortpants21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
We are very pleased that you and your son had an enjoyable stay at the Hotel Bali, and look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Hotel or one of our other 10 Med Playa Hotels on Mainland Spain.

Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I stayin the Bali with my friend and her parents. First impressions were great! lovely reception area and even though there was a queue for check-in...it moved swiftly...we stay half board with Thompson (Thompson of which were excellent getting our flight out of Belfast 30 minutes before airspace closed due to volcanic ash!!! - we were the only flight to leave that day - Easyjet and Ryan Air immediately cancelled all their flights).

We were offered the option of upgrading to full board for 15 Euros each per day and this could be even upgraded later in the week...

We made our way to our room....at first getting used to the levels was a bit daunting but the picture in the lift helped! Our room was clean...had the most amazing view or sunrise and sunset...we were on the 2nd floor which was just nice and overlooked a pool (which was quiet as it was not the main pool beside the bar)....the beds were bigger than average and the pillows were very comfy...wer had a sofa and LDC TV on the wall...bathroom was excellent...clean, modern and just home from home....we had a balcomy with a table and 2 chairs...just ample I guess for sitting out.

We took out first walk out of the hotel...yes...we were on a hill but to be honest "cardiac hill" is over-exaggerated....my friend's mum and dad are of poor physical health and they just took their time going up..I found it ok (in my mid 30's) as Hotel Bali is half way up it!

Being Sunday afternoon and we had not eatin that day, a few steps down the hill happily displayed...pint 1 Euro and a full Sunday Roast 4.50 Euro....this was like a million Euro being waved in front of us!!!! In we went to Chrissies...the lady in it was so friendly and welcoming...it was the perfect start to our hols!

After dinner, at the bottom of the hill we turned left....very importantly....turning left turned out to be the direction of the less expensive shops/bars and restaurants!!!! turning right cost 3+ times more!!! We ate regularly in Angie's Desserts and Champions were pints of verynice local beer were 1 Euro and cocktails were 3 Euro....food was great also.

Back in the hotel there was an amazing selection of foods available at Breakfast and Lunch...the hotel staff are so attentive and really could not do enought for you without being imposing....There was nightly enterainment....the notice board had the week's event and a large arrow pointing to what was on that night...the Dirty Dancing night was gr8 and also the Abba night and there was flamingo dancing in another hall.....for the smokers the smoking are was a large glass-fronted room which was well air-conditioned and the most comfy sofa imaginable!!!!

Our reps from Thomspson greated us in the morning our way out with a lovely glass of champers!! lovely kick-start....after all...we were on our hols!!!

So all and all...without listing all about my hols....it was relaxing...being May and the children were still at school in the UK, it was quiet and we hada good nite out at Molly Malones Irish Bar which was open till 7am!!!!!! Great location for all ages and races and well worth giving it a go, not to be disappointed!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lockeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Stayed at Hotel Bali, Benalmadena recently. There were 5 adults and 4 children aged 3, 5, 7 and a 1 year old. From the moment we stepped into hotel we were made feel very welcome. We had 2 rooms and a studio which were all on 2nd floor which was very accessible to all areas. This was important to us as we had 2 buggies. There were a number of lifts to pool areas and restaurant. Restaurant staff were excellent and always on hand to get a highchair. They were very friendly and efficient. We were all inclusive. Food wise there was a wide selection and something for everyone. Bar staff were great. Found from past spanish hotels that if you are all inclusive that paying customers get served first. Not so with the Hotel Bali. Everybody served fairly. Our granddaughters loved going to the bar to get their own drinks. The bar staff could not do enough for them and always served them promptly. I cannot praise the animation team enough. They were always on hand to entertain both adults and children. They work very hard and were very patient and included our 1 year old who insisted on being on stage with them the whole time. Cardiac hill was the only problem. If you wanted to go to the beach you had to negotiate this hill. Not too bad going down but coming back pushing buggies is a bit of a problem. However would not put me off staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We've stayed at this hotel many times over the past few years, being lucky enough to manage a week of winter sun for the past 5 or 6 years. We've always stayed at the Bali and simply cannot recommend it enough.

The staff are friendly and helpful at all times. Food is great - my dad can be a little awkward with food, definitely a meat and two veg man, and even he can find plenty to eat every night! High praise indeed! Restaurant is large and airy, having been extended recently. Plentiful selection for both breakfast and evening meal. Each night has a different theme - pasta night, Andalucia night, and even a Gala night on Fridays with free fizzy wine and a flower for the ladies!

Its very difficult to get a seat in the bar in the evenings, perhaps we should have camped out there from 6pm, but always managed to get a seat at the back of bar. Drinks were very reasonably priced and certainly comparable with bars away from the hotel. There is a games room for the kids with air hockey, pool table and machines.

Rooms are very clean - a little basic, but they're only for sleeping in! All rooms that we've stayed in have had sea views. A couple of times we were lucky enough to get the s/c studios despite being half board and they are great - plenty of room in those - split level rooms with a bedroom and bathroom on one level and kitchen diner on the lower level.

Cardiac Hill is not pleasant, but there are bars to stop at on the way up to catch your breath!!

One bonus we found were the vending machines - great for when you fancy a bar of chocolate or snack on the way back to your room after a "hard" day out or after a drink or two in the bar!

Will certainly visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awpoorshazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

we were at this hotel for 2 weeks and yes the food was a bit repetitive but what hotel isnt, we found hotel staff very helpfull and friendly, the 2 pools are fine but very cold and the childrens pool was well used. there seemed to be a lot of brits at hotel probably 70% but also your spanish pensioners who you would think had never eaten for days the way they try and push in at meal times.we were ai and had a good selection of drinks to choose from and bar staff worked very hard , all in all a bit basic but a good hotel for what you pay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingscotsmanFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,754 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.9 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Bali

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Bali
Address: Avda Telefonica 7, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bali is a three-star hotel located on the Costa del Sol, made up of three attached buildings that form a modern and welcoming vacation complex ideal for families and couples of all ages. It is located in Benalmadena-Costa, only 250 meters from the beach and close to the famous Puerto Marina, the Tivoli amusement park and the 'La Paloma' park. All Inclusive The All Inclusive, from Medplaya Hotels offers family fun whilst at the same time making your holiday money go further. The hotel has rooms, studios, apartments and studio-apartments. The accommodations are all outward-facing with balconies, air conditioning and heating.There are two swimming pools for adults with lawn areas, bar service and large terraces with sun-loungers and sunshades. There is also a lawn area and a playground for children. The buffet-style restaurant offers a wide variety of national and international dishes as well as thematic dinners that provide the most outstanding service to the guests. We offer a complete range of board options to suit our customers' tastes and pocket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hotel And Studios
Hotel Bali Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Costa Del Sol
MedPlaya Hotel Bali Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing