We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
newcastle upon tyne
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“top notch”
Reviewed 5 July 2010

just arrived back from the bali after 11 nights,there was 8 in our party all adults.hotel very clean and food excellent,bar staff not very pleasant apart from 1 a portugese guy who was very friendly.animation team were excellent the work they put into there shows really pays off.plenty of bars and restaurants near the bali if you want to venture out especially the indian rest at the bottom of cardiac hill.spanish guests can be very rude.if booking this hotel you have to go all inc its well worth it.would def book this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simba0134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    1,111
    640
    212
    146
See reviews for
1,088
1,060
71
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

When the taxi dropped us off at the Bali Hotel, my heart sank. There were dozens of Spanish children running around and screaming (and blocking our entrance), and loud music was blaring out from the bar. As we walked to our apartment, it was apparent that the interior was in need of a lick of paint and a few minor repairs, however, I was pleasantly surprised with the apartment.

The air con was good and the safe was free of charge (though it may be chargeable in some rooms as the notes we were given on arrival said a fee must be paid). There was a new kettle in the room (but the tiniest tea cups I have ever seen) and, unfortunately, there was a mop and a broom, which we were expected to use as our room was cleaned just once in the week that we were there.

We had to ask for clean towels at reception (several times) and toilet roll when required. I found this quite shocking, and this is what let the hotel down badly. After being out all day, it’s nice to return to a room with fresh towels in a clean bathroom with a newly made bed but we had to do all this ourselves. On checking with reception, we were told the rooms were cleaned every 4 days. Oh, and we had to dispose of our own rubbish after a certain time on another floor.

We also enquired about the check-out time, and was told 12pm, however, on the day of departure, we went for a walk and, on returning to the room after 11am, we found the key card no longer worked. The maid was waiting to clean the room, and reception was ringing to tell us to vacate the room. This was the only day they showed any urgency.

All in all, it was a 3 star hotel, and I think we got what we paid for. Our stay was reasonably comfortable and not having the room cleaned or towels changed was more of an irritant than something that spoiled our holiday. Thankfully, the rude schoolchildren moved out the day after we arrived. I used to think stars were awarded according to the hotel facilities but whenever I stay in a 3 star hotel, it always seems to have the mandatory mould on the bathroom tiles.

We couldn’t fault the area. The beaches are lovely and the seafront was a pleasure to walk down. The marina was a 15 minute walk, and was one of the nicest marinas I have ever seen. Cardiac Hill wasn’t that bad, nor were the steps down to the beach but it depends how mobile you are. There were also some good trips, namely Fuengirola, Mijas and Gibraltar.

I would recommend the resort but maybe a different hotel, though it’s not the end of the world if you do stay here as it is close to everything, and has 2 pools so you can escape the noise if you want to (as long as there are no stag parties or school trips in operation).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamGadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

just got back from the hotel bali after reading the terrible weather we surpost to have we where very happy it was hot every day well the hotel was yery clean the staff where excellent food was yery good even had fish in batter one night veal beef curry pork chicken something for every one kids loved it i would reccomment this hotel

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howie_dawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Hotel and location,good, restaurant choice and quality of food very good, service was even better. We had two rooms, one for my daughter, sea view and close to beach. Hotel reps helpful, plenty to do if you have a young family. Entertainment at night varied and the team put everything into us having a good time. Would go again just definetly.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reddishheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We stayed here last week of May, first week of June me hubby and three kids 4, 7 and 13, and i can fully agree with the previous comments. i was totally surprised that Thomson would send families to a hotel that appears to take bookings of anyone with money! to give a group of 30 lads all inclusive, the let them set up camp at the pool bar is disgraceful.. it was intimadating going to the bar, and the language was colourful to say the least!
Food was good for adults, not so for kids, my lot had soggy chips most mealtimes, but they are fussy. rooms were clean, we had two rooms, mine slept two, and was tiny with the smallest balcony ever. we had a nice sea view which we couldn't see if we sat down as our balcony wall was concrete. Cardiac hill is not so bad, but the road at the bottom is very busy. I didn't really rate the resort, torremolinos nearby is much nicer and cleaner.
Oh and how can i forget the spanish kids football tournament teams that were staying there? loads of them!!! it was like school dinner times when they were in the restaurant, they were noisy, rude, and really they shouldn't have been there in my opinion. There behaviour at the pool was awful too, you couldn't get in while they were all in. 50+ school kids in a not very big pool, trying to drown each other and dive bombing. the poor lifeguard had his work cut out!
Evening entertainment consisted of a mini disco, same 5 or 6 songs every night, the longest game of bingo ever, and the hotel team putting on shows. some bad, some ok.
They had a few outside acts come in as well. If your there for fusion 1 go out, the worst dance act i've ever seen!
I'd heard good stories about Bali from family and friends, but it appears to have gone downhill from when they stayed. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2010

i went with my husband and a 2 yr old and a 8 yr old, was so disappointed with the rudeness of staff and the food was inedible for adults let alone children, there were no selection of food for kids only chips and cheese every night.
we were all inclusive and had to eat out every night, on the first night the rep gave me 5 euros to go to get my 2 yr old some edible food!! also if your all inclusive you have to have plastic cups for drinks all the time but if you pay for drinks you get a glass, madness!!! it slowly got worse with stag parties throwing chairs into swimming pools and going in for breakfast blind drunk and being let in! not good for children or adults, we were greated with 200 children doing a football tournament for 3 days so the swimming pool got full up at 3pm everyday, the rep said he could move us for another 700 euros on top of the £1600 i paid already and my parents also paid the same.we couldnt visit the hotel he wanted to move us to we just had to go and hope for the best, so we decided to stay at the hell hole and stay out as much as poss.the evening entertainment was the hotel team miming to all songs and singing a song about shooting babies and killing chickens, and being a sex maniac! certainly not for children.
so if your booked to go to this hotel please dont unless your on a stag night/week and even if you are, please have consideration for families that dont want to see you lay on sunloungers in the mornings whilst still drinking and throwing umbrellas/chairs into pools that my 8yr old son was likely to jump on, the hotels answer to my complaint about the stag parties was they are putting extra security guards on in evenings!! that was enough for me and couldnt get home fast enough.needless to say i will never travel with thomson again ever.forgot to mention cardiac hill and loads of steps at the bottom to get to beach, and the dual carriageway you cross to get there! beleive me its crap!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank user23England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Me n my son have just got back from the Bali on sat 5th June had a great time not for people in wheel chairs because of the hills to get to the hotel.would go back again this is are second time at this hotel staff very friendly and helpfull.plenty shops and bars on way up the hill so you can stop of for a breather.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shortpants21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
We are very pleased that you and your son had an enjoyable stay at the Hotel Bali, and look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Hotel or one of our other 10 Med Playa Hotels on Mainland Spain.

Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,029 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#24 of 45 in Benalmadena
581 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
#26 of 45 in Benalmadena
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Bali

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Bali
Address: Avda Telefonica 7, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bali is a three-star hotel located on the Costa del Sol, made up of three attached buildings that form a modern and welcoming vacation complex ideal for families and couples of all ages. It is located in Benalmadena-Costa, only 250 meters from the beach and close to the famous Puerto Marina, the Tivoli amusement park and the 'La Paloma' park. All Inclusive The All Inclusive, from Medplaya Hotels offers family fun whilst at the same time making your holiday money go further. The hotel has rooms, studios, apartments and studio-apartments. The accommodations are all outward-facing with balconies, air conditioning and heating.There are two swimming pools for adults with lawn areas, bar service and large terraces with sun-loungers and sunshades. There is also a lawn area and a playground for children. The buffet-style restaurant offers a wide variety of national and international dishes as well as thematic dinners that provide the most outstanding service to the guests. We offer a complete range of board options to suit our customers' tastes and pocket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hotel And Studios
Hotel Bali Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Costa Del Sol
MedPlaya Hotel Bali Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing