We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired looking.”
Review of El Greco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Greco
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed at El Greco for a long weekend. Both other hotels in suma group closed. This was a cheap weekend away and you get what you pay for. Read the other reviews and were really dreading this, however, the room was very clean and the bed linen and towels changed daily. We only had bed and breakfast, the breakfast was adequate, not bad, not brilliant. Found the staff to be polite but spoke very little English.(but we are in Spain) Had a balcony overlooking the pool and gardens, which were kept in good order and pool area and drive hosed daily. Easy walk to the beach and Benalmadena is lovely with plenty of places to eat. Wouldn't rush to stay there again, but if it was cheap enough just might go again for a short break and only b&b. Wendy Devon.

Room Tip: Balcony with sea glimpses and overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

Well! What can I say??? Lets start with the positive... the room was nice and clean and the maid service was good. Great location. As for the rest, I can honestly say I have never seen or tasted such awful food in all my life! It wasn't cooked properly, it was stone cold and after skipping luch (as we couldn't face it anymore) we were served a mouldy cheese sandwich as a snack. After complaining we didn't even get an apology, in fact we were told there was a mcrowave to heat up our food! Hardly any of the staff could speak English, either that or they pretended not to so they didn't have to serve us or answer any questions! We lived on bread, chips and pasta and ate out alot, which is annoying as we were all inclusive.I am appauled at the rudeness of the staff and the poor quality of the food, it ruined our holiday and I would never stay in this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

unfit for purpose never heard of fresh bread, one morning found packet of bread on the servery with thick black mould , offered a bottle of wine as hush money.

No entertainment, no fridge in room, no English T>V., no English spoken by waiters,,unsafe electrical swich hangin of wall. One night we were the only people in the whole hotel. Food was not cooked in the hotel but brought in by a van, unloaded before 7 p.m. for dinner between 7.30 and 10p.m consequently impossible to get a hot meal. the f ood was below inferior quality.
access to the hotel was 400 yards from the main road leaving an uphill walk for the last 100 yards.
Never again------- beware you are warned.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EugeneWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Where to start ............!
Hotel was allocated on arrival from co.op holidays.
We booked for torremolinos and got changed 3 days before we were due to go.
Hotel was very poor to say the least !
Three hotels in total with this Summa Los Pintores hotel range. When we stayed only this hotel was open so we were stuck with this. The only plus side was that the hotel room was clean, as was the bed. The room was tatty and the balcony was small. The bathroom was very very smelly and you could not sit properly on the loo because there was less than a foot WIDTH between the loo and the bidet. There was NO entertainment at all at this hotel while we were there. There was no bar just a cafeteria which when we went it had no-one manning it at all. I complained about entertainment and was told "do you not want to go down the road"? When I said "what to the other hotels" I was told no they are not open- they meant the town. Food was very very poor. Concrete was falling off the balconys and was roped off. There was only 11 or 12 sun beds to service the whole hotel and most of those were broken. Sun area was unkempt and shower area tiles were broken. This is one of the most worst hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank fly243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

The summa hotel group have three hotels Goya, Velazquez und Greco.s all within 50 meters of each other called Los Pintores Hotel
My wife and I stayed in this hotel Greco for one week. It looked shabby on outside very dated on inside. TOO QUIET. We are both 52 years of age. This is a hotel for low budget holidays 2 star maybe.
Breakfast -very limited did not cater for vegetarians not that we are limited choice but tasteless
Room - Comfortable. Towels changed every day. Shower very poor with lukewarm water anytime we took a shower.
Noise - Can hear every movement from your room. Not a great night’s sleep
Staff - Ok but with very little English
Pool – very small little area for sun beds only saw six maybe 8
Overall feel - No atmosphere at all. Just came back there to sleep.
Entertainment - OAP style in SPANISH
Balcony - Tiny overlooking another hotel -- no scenic view whatsoever apart from a little of the sea.
TV - Spanish. Didn’t watch it all week but no choice like other hotels in area
At least 1500 meters from sea in residential area

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mervyn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

people describe this hotel as one of the worst, I was not expecting much but was pleasantly suprised upon arrival. Rooms were nice bathroom was fine we had a balcony and air conditioning. The breakfast was ok, lots of bread so you can always have toast. not far from the beach few minute walk, the hotel is on a slight hill but it is at the very foot of it so its not too bad. The bus stop is a 5 min walk away that can take you to the marina which I recommend 1.20 euro on the bus we went nearly every night. the area is nice lots of bars and restaurants to try. Overall a very good holiday

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank july09Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

The summa hotel group had sent us originally to a sister hotel which was terrible. Very shabby and with many bugs in the room. Building site directly across from hotel. Very disappointing. We asked to be moved and were sent to El Grego.
My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for one week. On appearence a lovely hotel. Looked well but looked also very quiet. TOO QUIET. We are both 32 years of age. This is a hotel very much geared for OAPs and they were looking at us actually wondering what we were doing here.
Breakfast - Will just about set you up for the day - good choice but tasteless
Room - Comfortable. Towels changed every day. Shower very poor with lukewarm water anytime we took a shower.
Noise - Can hear every movement from your room. Not a great nights sleep
Staff - Ok but with very little english
Overall feel - No atmosphere at all. Just came back there to sleep.
Entertainment - OAP style in SPANISH
Balcony - Tiny overlooking another hotel -- no scenic view whatsoever apart from a little of the sea.
TV - Spanish. Didnt watch it all week - Really missed the telly as there was nothing else to do at the hotel
Internet - NONE
It is not geared at british or irish holiday makers in any way.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissCriticalDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.8 mi away
Hostal Sol y Miel
Hostal Sol y Miel
#1 of 1 in Arroyo de la Miel
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,998 reviews
1 mi away
Pension Serramar
Pension Serramar
#5 of 29 in Benalmadena
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.8 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.8 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco

Address: Calle Torrealmadena, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range: £56 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your El Greco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing