We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think you have to be Spanish to get a decent room but still a decent holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Was a bit put out to start with as I had emailed requests for a high floor and a quiet room. Got allocated a room right above the reception veranda and almost next to the lift. It didn't make a great start to our holiday. We asked for a move but guess what the hotel was apparently full. It did seem to be all the Spanish that had the decent high up and further down the corridor rooms. It was our only minor gripe of the holiday. Sadly when the veranda cover was put over it our pool view was completely gone and the torrential rain pinging on the metal cover kept us awake. We could also hear the boom boom bass of the entertainment from that floor (floor 3) I will say that not sure I would want that floor in the summer months due to the fact people will congregate on the veranda smoking and chatting until the early hours. Water pressure was also a minor issue. It was very poor. It took about 15 mins to run a very small bath. The shower was also a bit hot and cold but we managed.
Any way like I said the rest of my comments are positive ones. It is very clean and friendly. The hill is not a huge issue just take your time. The room was pristine, large and with adequate facilities. We loved the free WIFI in the room and on the balcony it was a real bonus. The beds were comfy enough. We did take our own pillows. We upgraded our Self catering status to include breakfast. It was 7 euros a day each. A great choice of food and breakfast open until 11am. We had our breakfast as more of a brunch around 10.30. Freshly cooked omelette and pancakes were a real treat. We only saw a bit of the entertainment as we preferred to go out in the evenings. We were impressed with the hotel bar prices. Only 3.70 euros for a draught gaymers cider. Although be aware cider is not included in the happy hour. The hotel shop was good for milk and water but down the hill and turn right there are two large supermarkets. One next to Burger King and a bigger one further up the hill. Unable to comment on the pool, gym and spa facilities as the one day i went to use the indoor pool it was rammed with Spanish kids (think it was there school holidays) so I just went for a walk instead. The treatment area was never open in the 10 days we were there. I wanted a manicure. Found a place called hair port on the main road in the end.
The hotel is a lovely walk away from the main areas with plenty of bars en route. There is a taxi rank up at sunset beach club opposite the hotel or the reception will always call you one if you don,t want a walk.
I would go back to this hotel again (out of season) we had a good time. May be next time we will be allocated a bit higher up???

Room Tip: Go with a Spanish person
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takmij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,225 - 1,231 of 2,634 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

My friends and I stayed four nights in a two bed apartment (Room 311) near Reception. The hotel can be a bit noisy but I recommend earplugs at night! The apartment has two large twin bedrooms, two large bathrooms (one with a bath and shower over the other a wet room adapted for disabled guests) and a small lounge with a balcony outside.

We were on half board although most people we met were on AI. The food was excellent with plenty of dishes to choose from. There were two happy hours (one in the snack bar between 5 and 6 p.m. and the other in the main entertainment bar between 9 and 10 p.m.) The magician - Dani Daniello - was amazing and full marks to the hotel for putting on entertainment at this time of year (March).

The Reception staff were very helpful and efficient at all times. I must mention Antonio as I had a problem with the agent not providing the hotel with the half board documentation and he sorted this out quickly for me.

One minus point is the lifts. They were always busy and often out of service. It certainly kept me fit walking up and down the stairs all the time! A lot of people mention the big hill which is very steep but there is a path down from the hotel which takes you by the supermarket that is more easy to manage especially for people with buggies. The path is near the sun terrace by the spa area. You need your key card to get in and out of the gate.

In terms of location the hotel is spot on. It's in a quieter area of Benalmadena but it's not that far to walk to the Marina on a sunny day along the promenade (around 20-30 minutes). We also walked to Arroyo de la Miel centre and caught a bus to Mijas Pueblo which also went through Benalmadena Pueblo. The 121 Torremolinos to Mijas bus can be picked up from the Windmill Roundabout which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel in the direction of the Marina.

I would definitely stay at the hotel off season again as it ticked all the boxes for a girlie weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goldengirl039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

1 weeks holiday at the above hotel. March 2013
Negatives the BIG hill which is not the hotel's fault, you can access the hotel from the garage which is half way up the hill.
Reserving of tables for specific appartments in the dining room when customers are looking for available tables.
The lifts are small 2 people and a case each and they are full, early season waiting wasn't too bad but in the high season it could be a very long wait particularly at meal times.
The shower is rather difficult to regulate either very hot or cold.

Positives lots: The staff at this hotel is second to none they couldn't be more helpful if they tried.
We stayed half board in a 1 bedroom apartment Room 528 on the fifth floor with balcony overlooking the pool but also the sea. Plenty of room 2 ring hob Microwave, kettle and fridge in the kitchen area,
Buffet meals with lots of options at breakfast. from fresh fruit, cereals, full english, or meats and cheese, and grill for toast.
Dinner lots of salad, fresh fruit and various main courses also the chef cooks a main course out in the dining room each night. Lovely selection of cake desserts.

There is a snack bar for lunchtime snacks and each evening Happy Hour in the snack bar gives 2 for one on all drinks.
Lovely outdoor sunbed area and large pool and childrens pools ( too cold for us ) but the indoor pool jacuzzi, steam room and sauna all at 72 + degrees. Towels for swimming available from Reception.
Nice touch is the background music throughout the hotel, within walking distance of the beach local buses, tourist bus and a good 25 minutes walk to the Marina on the flat promenade.

Room Tip: Higher floors give view of the sea if overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avril M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

BANG, SCRAPE, KNOCK, CRASH, SMASH, SLAM, SHOUT!!. The inability of any of the hotel staff to lift anything at any part of the day or night means a crescendo of irritating noise at all times.. If the staff do not get a Spanish siesta that means you do not either. A hotel that is away from the main road should be pleasantly peaceful but it's not. It's not 4 star so don't expect it to be.The food is ok and the rooms not bad, even the pool area is pleasant with lots of sun-lounger. It's the noise of scraping furniture, loungers, restaurant tables and chairs and slamming doors that spoil this hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor away from restaurant and bar. Pool view rooms are sunny and warm. Bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cookiecruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Overall stay good, a bit improvement on the gym equipment would be nice and improvement on the food menu would also be good. Entertainment very good, cleanliness of the room very good. Thank you Suzana for doing it..

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zenaida A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Our vacation was unexpectedly excellent !!!!!! Hotel staff was very polite and helpful , organising our trips around Benalmadena. The butterfly park was very nice and exotical place, mote then 200 butterflyes in one place. Free bus to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank njushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We've been to this hotel seven times, so that tells you alot! I feel compelled to write yet another review on this hotel cos its so good. It is a bit further out of the centre than most of the hotels but that means it has to work harder to compete, and it suceeds! Last year we were a bit disappointed with the food in the restaurant on an evening, but the hotel has upped its game this year, we ate there three times and the food and choice was very nice indeeed. However, we did have breakfast once during our stay and it was disappointing, needless to say we didn't go again. The bar and entertainment on an evening is really good. There is a kids disco in the bar early evening and then the kids can go to the club downstairs, our daughter is 8 and she loves it, so do we!! We can have a drink and not worry our daughter is bored.
This hotel is excellent value for money and not too far away from the action, about a 30 min stroll to the marina along a lovely promanade. I certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thorn2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,960 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace

Address: Camino de Gilabert s/n, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £49 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Spa Benalmadena Palace
Hotel Benalmadena Palace
Benalmadena Palace Hotel
Hotel Palace Benalmadena
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing