We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment, overall not so suitable for couples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great apartment, overall not so suitable for couples”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from 6 nights at the Benalmadena Palace.
We booked a studio with sea and mountain views on room only at a great price. we arrived around 1pm and we're checked immediately to room 702 on the top floor. It turned out to be a great one for us as it was at the end of the building so had 2 terraces. These were built into the roof so we're not open to the front with railings which some may not like but we did as it provided great privacy. The studio felt more like a one bed apt as it was a large L shape and the double bed was in an alcove making it feel like a separate bedroom.

The hotel isn't mega large like some, so is easy to get around, it's built into a steep hill with reception on the third floor, a decent large bar where there is entertainment at night on the second floor, large restaurant on the first floor and another bar down on the ground floor where the pool is. It also has a large well equipped gym and a good indoor pool with spa facilities. The pool is large and clean and has lots of sun beds on its terraces but I think it will feel a bit crammed in when in high season.

All sounds and looks great but our problem is that it's absolutely geared up for families with young kids. Not a criticism but it made the pool area really noisy with the pool filled with kids. Also the sun loungers were solid plastic with no mattresses making them very uncomfortable even with a towel on them.

so we just used the hotel as a base to sleep in and didn't use the facilities, preferring to sunbathe at the beach where it was quieter and explore the town at night to find a good place to eat.

It's unlikely that we'd visit benalmadena again,but if we did we'd definitely find an apartment closer to the marina on AirBnB. It's a really good option for families but I'd not recommend it for couples or singles. As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is on a very steep hill, you can miss out half of it by using the car park but if anyone in your party has trouble walking it may be worth considering another option. It's poses no problem to anyone else as it's just a 5 minute walk up or down from the car park.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Johnlogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,161
    920
    274
    79
    52
See reviews for
1,424
576
14
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We just had a week at this hotel with our two daughters aged 3 and 6. I really was impressed with the amount of activities there was for them. They had the best time, it's a very clean hotel and very child friendly. I would highly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a short break with my partner in a studio apt, was adequate for our needs but would stay in a 1 bed apt next time, hotel is 4 star and lives up to it rating although there are bits of the hotel that could do with some upgrading. Staff are excellent and although the hotel is up a hill unless you are really unfit it is not really a problem and if you cut through the garage u can cut half of the hill out. Would stay at this again, only thing I would say it is a family hotel so if you do not like kids maybe not for you!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank sap3051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed over the Spring Bank holiday 26/5 - 2/6 (couldn't wait to write my review) with my 2 children aged 7, 8 and my husband stayed in room 217, it was perfect with lovely sea views. On entering the complex the staff were fantastic always smiling and helpful, thank you to Trevor always smiling and gave great advice. The pool staff were very professional both indoor and outdoor and their bright uniforms were excellent in fact, all the staff were brilliant. The food was tasty with a fantastic choice every night. The pianist was uuber cool, to it gave it a different feel to the evening time meal The bar entertainment for the kids was fab and they loved the dancing and the choice of entertainment on show. I am very impressed with my stay the hotel facilities were fantastic. Thank you to all the staff for making our holiday perfect.

Room Tip: Room 217 - sea view and quieter for younger families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bradfordgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have been staying in Benalmadena for a week every summer for the past six years and I wouldn't consider staying in any other hotel.On one of the occasions they were fully booked so i instead stayed in the sunset beach club across the road. I almost ran back up the hill to the Benalmadena Palace the following year. The staff weren't half as friendly, the rooms were cramped and the poolside was severely overcrowded.
i promise you if you book this hotel you won't regret it.The hill leading up to the hotel is quite a trek but totally worth it and plus it will definitely burn off those extra holiday food calories! also you can side track half the hill by taking the lower entrance through the carpark.
The hotel location is also ideal as the beach is right across the road along with a bus stop for all the local buses that will bring you to any of the neighboring towns. The main strip for all the bars and restaurants is also only a short walk away.

Room Tip: If possible avoid getting a room on the top floor as the roof is slanted so the size of the bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank haile c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for 7 days last month and still missing it...
I stayed at the benalmadena palace with my 2 daughters aged 6 and 10, I was worried I would struggle to keep them amused both day and night.. should never have worried,
By day the kids club was fantastic and my youngest was never out the place, great staff and very dedicated to their roles, My eldest met some friends round the pool and was never bored between the outdoor and indoor pools so poor old dad was left sunbathing and totally chilling by himself.. lol
We upgraded to AI because it was be handy to eat and drink in the hotel whilst the kids were having such a good time, again the mini disco and kids club kept number 2 happy until 10.30 every night then she joined her sister watching the shows that were on every night (not fantastic but kept the kids amused)
Plenty choices for food in the restaraunt but a bit strange that AI could only get certain things from the AI snack bar menu, very limited selection
All in all a great family orintated hotel with great amenities and staff,
Didnt think I would come back so relaxed but the kids loved it which makes all the difference.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanjlindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have just returned from a 7 night stay at this hotel with two kids aged 2 and 7. I stayed on an on-inclusive basis. I thought the food was great. Plenty of variety and the desserts were gorgeous. Catered well too for kids with plastic cutlery, cups, plates etc. Live piano music played at the evening meal every night and the dining room stayed open until 10pm which was a big plus.
The kids club was great and opened to 10.30pm every night. There was plenty for the two year old with an indoor play area, toys, dolls and swings outside etc The 7 year old had mini golf, tennis courts and archery to choose from every day. The indoor swimming pool was great too as the outdoor pool at times was cold and gave the kids a bit of a change.
I thought the staff in the kids club were excellent. Laura, Ana and Sandra were fab with the kids and there English was excellent. However the Girls were multi-lingual so no matter the nationality the kids felt at ease. They entertained the kids for an hour at the mini disco every night with face painting, balloon modelling, dancing and games. There was a visit every night from Beny the hotel mascot which was the highlight of my two year olds holiday.
The rooms were very clean and had a fridge and cooking facilities if preferred. All the staff were so friendly and courteous there was nothing too much trouble.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone with a young family. I am planning my next trip already!!

Room Tip: two bed apt very spacious well worth the extra money I was on the fifth floor and there was no nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
2.7 mi away
Holiday Polynesia
Holiday Polynesia
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace

Property: Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Address: Camino de Gilabert s/n, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Spa Benalmadena Palace
Hotel Benalmadena Palace
Benalmadena Palace Hotel
Hotel Palace Benalmadena
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing