We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"great for know what I like,likewhat I know"brits abroad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
hampshire uk
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“"great for know what I like,likewhat I know"brits abroad”
Reviewed 6 July 2010

This hotel is not very old but managed to feel very 1970s which does fit in with the whole area .
The buffet breakfast was really good and the bacon some of the best ever also the eggs were properly cooked.The evening meal is very british orientated you will find much the same in any uk seaside hotel,although it was all nice I think a 4 star hotel should n't have chicken nuggets as any part of its menu.
This is a real family hotel and the entertainment area/bar was swarming with excited children.I would think in peak season it could become a bit too much
The entertainment was ok although simon cowell would be buzzing most of them off before the finished their acts.Warning dont let your self be photoed with a parrot it will cost you £10
THe walk up to the hotel is definatly not for the faint hearted but should not be too bad for any one with average level of fitness,
if you are on floor 7 your balcony is compleatly private which is quite nice but the attic rooms do have a sloping ceiling which some people might not like.The rooms are well equiped (even on halfboard)with microwave fridge toaster kettle utensils and even an iron and ironing board.
outside the hotelis a large supermarket ,and allthe usual tourist things.including fake scratch card prize people and timeshare etc remember anything free usually costs a lot of money or time .
I didn't like this hotel because I had choosen something unsuitable for me ,but there was nothing wrong with it if you like the Brits abroad ,lager and tattoos type of holiday

I would recomend this hotel but only too the right sort of people

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,191
    935
    279
    83
    52
See reviews for
1,467
584
14
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norn Iron
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Booked through Easy Jet Holidays. I booked (and paid extra for) a one bedroom apartment as I was travelling with my two sons (17 and 12) When I arrived, and handed in my hotel voucher, I was given a key to room 713. The room was a studio with a sloping roof, double bed, wet sofa, leaking fridge and dirty curtains. I went to reception and explained that this was not what I had booked. I was told that there was no other rooms and “maybe tomorrow” there would be a free room. I had taken a copy of my booking and went back to reception . As I had a copy of room booking, the receptionist apologised, and said there must have been a mistake, he was able to give me a one bedroom apartment, but not, as I had requested, a pool view. He said “you will have to pay some more for a pool view“. I thought I’d paid enough!

It is 8/9 Euro for a taxi to the centre/harbour from the Benalmadena

Also, do not take much money to the pool, I had my purse stolen.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopeforhappyhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

have just returned from a week long stay at the palace , having stayed before knew about the hill , yes it is steep but not that bad , just take your time and as mentioned before go through the parking lot or go the back route to the hotel. Rooms ok and seemed to been given a refurb since i last stayed in 2004. Air con is not good in some rooms and this could be a prob in really hot weather. Food a bit overpriced for what you get (i only tried poolside snacks cant say about the main resturant) , beer , wine prices ok. Kiddies club and reps very good and friendly. I found the reception staff very friendly and helpful. A good hotel for families. Entertainment is the typical holiday type, I enjoyed this hotel again and would recommend for a family holiday, by the way yes sunbeds can be had to find.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dino27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loch Garman
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Having checked reviews on Trip advisor just before departure we were quite worried about how bad this hotel was going to be. However, we were pleasantly surprised overall.
Starting at the beginning, expect to pay approx. 25 - 30 euro for a taxi from Malaga airport to the hotel. Contrary to some reviews, we found the reception staff very efficient, friendly and helpful when checking in. The room we had was clean, basic but adequate for a week's holiday. It was cleaned and towels changed 5 out of 7 days. The air con didn't always work, it seemed to switch on and off whenever it felt like it. This meant opening the window at night and it can be quite noisy in the area with loud music and even louder taxi passengers at 3am!
Outside, the pool area is quite large with a kiddies pool and a large adult pool. There are too many loungers, not enough umbrellas and way too many selfish people who left towels on loungers all day without ever sitting on them. This is despite signs asking people not to do this. The hotel really needs to clamp down on this practice. If you follow the path from the pool area towards the beach and supermarket you will find a small garden area with some loungers and umbrellas. If you are travelling without kids then this is a pleasant haven away from all the screaming and splashing!!!
The hill up to the hotel from the main road is exceptionally steep, definitely a problem for elderly or infirm people or even those with buggies. Going through the car park of the hotel helps but this closes at 8pm. If you're heading to the Marina area at night walk as far as the Marymar apartments and you can get a 110 or 120 bus to quite near the marina for 1.20. Taxi to / from there will set you back 8 - 9 euro.
Overall, Benalmadena Palace was a pleasant place to stay but not perfect.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wexman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Stayed at Benalmadena Palace for 1wk and it was brill. Went with my daughter (20) and both enjoyed the week. Hotel could not have been better, room good, cleaned often. Only downside was the hill to the shops/bars/beach. Lovely pool, great kids club, took them off to do all sorts leaving us sun soakers to the peace and quiet!! Get bus into Torremolinos to go shopping, more choice than Benalmadena. Friendly, helpful staff (except hol rep...was never around when he should have been). All round great holiday!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank be11af10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

After all the great reviews and amenities i expected more...seemed to be understaffed so staff where not overly friendly or helpful...they listed fitness room but really it was out-dated and completely rusted....more a death trap that a fitness room....snack bar food was extremely poor quality and over priced....cleanly staff were excellent and room was adequate with an antique kettle...no double glazing so you can hear the leaves being blown off the entry road every morning at around 8am....earplugs were packed and used every night. All that said a great holiday and i will return to the resort...perhaps closer to the marina next time.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Just back from a week in this Hotel, family of 5..booked with alpha rooms and had to take 2 rooms. and one would have been more than enough we basically just used the second room for our suitcases.
Rooms were clean, all be it very basic if you plan to self cater and the cutlery has certainly seen better days!
Pool area is fine although can be a little cramped and beware the sunbeds are reserved very early!
Breakfast was good but we were charged different prices every day,anything from 30.50 to 37.50 for 2 adults and 3 children. We found the snack bar food overpriced and poor quality so we did not sample evening buffet, a few good places to eat at the Marina.
The hotel is quite a walk from the Marina if you have children, and there is a very busy road at the bottom of the dreaded hill (it IS steep) but halfway down to the Marina you can go onto a walkway along the beach where there are shops (tacky mostly and overpriced) and places to eat. From a personal point of view I did not like the resort of Benalmadena at all and will not return. The hotel was just average and too far from the Marina. I would not recommend this resort.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creeslough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#4 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,829 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace

Property: Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Address: Camino de Gilabert s/n, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Spa Benalmadena Palace
Hotel Benalmadena Palace
Benalmadena Palace Hotel
Hotel Palace Benalmadena
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing