We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Pity About Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
S Wales
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - Pity About Location”
Reviewed 12 August 2010

This is a good hotel but probably not 4 star. The food is nice , plenty to do for the kids throughout the day - football , waterpolo , basketball , golf. Hotel bar is expensive but between 5-6 at poolside and 9-10 in the disco bar its buy one get one free.

Pool decent - after 2 minutes it felt like a bath though. So hot. Didnt cool you down for long enough.

The problem with the hotel is its location. The hill is steep but its not much of a walk and this didnt bother my youngest in the slightest (aged 5). There is a short cut through the car park but it stinks in there - rather take about the extra minute it takes on the hill.

However in my opinion the problem is the very busy road at the bottom of the hill. Didnt feel comfortable and able to relax until reaching the pedestrianised area about a 10-15 minute walk away.

The hotel is probably around a 30 -40 minute walk away from the marina.

However would I pay an extra £500 to move closer - probably not.

I would recommend the hotel - but id warn about the road and if youve walking difficulties id look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,213
    937
    281
    86
    53
See reviews for
1,495
585
14
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Just back from 2 week holiday. Stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment - facilities were excellent. Room cleaned and new towels everyday. Pool area very well maintained. Staff are excellent. Would highly recommend the children's club - great staff - hi to Miriam and Team. The staff in the Club were very inclusive of all children! Beach just down the road where you can actually book your sunbeds and come back later. Ideal for families. Food was lovely - can't beat the breakfast!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountyGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We had five nights here in June, and for the price we paid (£100 each) it was very good value for money.
There's not a great deal going on in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, so its a good 30 minute walk, or 6 Euros in a cab to the Marina, where the decent classier bars and nightlife is. I should have researched this a little better, because if you are here for a fortnight it would get a little annoying being that far away from the centre of the resort.
The rooms were fine. Free Wi-Fi in thew reception area and a nice pool area.

Only downside was some of the other residents.

This hotel seems to be very popular with the Irish, who as we all know, like a drink. It got very annoying though when a lot of them were hammered by lunchtime, and decided that they were going to dominate the pool area with their 'banter' and singsongs. What made it mildly amusing though, was that it seemed to be the women who were the worst offenders!
Don't get me wrong, we weren't getting in till 5am, so we like a drink. But when you want some 'downtime' around the pool to nurse your hangover, the last thing you want is some bonkers middle-aged irish women screaming inpromtu kareoke at the top of her voice.

All in all, a decent hotel. But location is key for me, and this is just a bit too far from the resort centre.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aswils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

This was an amazing hotel, the room's and corridoors were spotless, the cleaners work so hard they even make a special swan out of a towel and put it on your bed with little sweets for the eyes and everything and they put a little chocolate by your pillow, they are non stop working polishing floors , cleaning the pool , and pool the swimming pool was a lot bigger than in the photographs and nice and warm and not very crowded.and the indoor pool was a lot colder , but almost always empty.the jacuzzi was brilliant and sauna and steam room;) there were a variety of treatments you could have done and washing machines only 1 euro . gym-which was reallly great treadmill,cross trainer and loads loads more and hardly ever used . all the staff were really friendly and helpfull, in reception there are computers, and also in the games room . we went self catering and one night we decided to try the food and it was ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC, THERE WAS SO MUCH TO CHOOSE FROM AND YOU COULD GO UP AS MANY TIMES AS YOU WANTED,WOW AND THE PUDDINGS WERE OUT OF THIS WORLD THEY HAD A BEAUTIFUL SELECTION OF LITTLE CAKES WHICH WERE DIVINE, JELLLY, FRUIT SALAD, RICE PUDDING, A HOT PUDDING-ALMOND CAKE,YOGHURTS,ICE CREAM,THE BEST SELECTION EVER.the majority of the guests staying at the hotel when i was there were all from ierland which was really nice because there such nice people .the poolside ice cream bar is VERY expensive and if you go down the side of the hotel down the footpath of the football pitch youll get out at the big superrmarket called "MIA DIA" WHICH HAS REALLY CHEAP FOOD after we ate one night at the resturant for dinner though we ended up eating there for the rest of the holiday because the value for money was INCREDIBLE FOR WHAT YOU GOT.The hill was not suitable for the older generation as it was pretty steep but there is a lift halfway up:),,we were here for 2 weeks and the night life is not that great,if yuo walk along the main marina which is a nice long walk along the beach,you get to all the africans selling fake prada,gucci,d & g handbags purses, t shirts-ralf lauiren etc,and i have to admit they are quite nice what they sell and you can get them down on the bags to about 15-10 euros i got two and there really loveley:) kids clubs,trampoline:), football pitch , loads of activites for teenagers,AHHH AND THE SUNBEDS ,, IF YOU PUT YOUR TOWELS OUT EARLY MAKE SURE YOU'R BACK BEFORE 10.30 BECUZ THATS WHEN THE LIFEGUARDS START MOVING AND FOLDING UP ALL THE TOWELS IF NO ONE IS LAYING ON THEMI DEFINETLEY RECCOMEND YUO GO HERE IVE NEVER BEEN TO A NICER HOTEL,IT WAS DEFINETLEY WORTH THE MONEY(WE BOOKED ON ALPHA ROOMS.COM WHICH IS REALLY CHEAP AND YOU CAN GET GREAT DEALS)I SERIOUSLY RECCOMEND GOING TO THIS HOTEL AS ITS UTTERLEY FANTASTIC NO BAD POINTS EXCEPT THE NIGHT LIFE MIGHT GET A BIT DULL AFTER 2 WEEKS.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayrayter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Just got back from a week at the Benalmadena Palace Hotel along with my wife and two girls, 13 and 8. A great hotel for all. We did bed and breakfast. The room was almost next door to the disco bar and we didn't have a single night where we were disturbed by music or partying. This is because all guests are families and early nights seemed the norm.
Breakfast wast great - Full English - all you can eat - continental if you prefer.
The outdoor pool was pretty warm and big enough for the hotel size. There was also an indoor pool - hardly used and lovely and cool - far more refreshing. Happy hour in the snack bar - ask for a drink and you get two - from 5-6pm and 9-10 in the disco bar.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doddy247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Been to this hotel twice with a group of friends. We were the youngest there 17-21. We went self catering but paid for a meal a few nights which was really nice. the pool is huge and there is a smaller one for kids. indoor heated pool and we had free use of the gym which was never busy we were usually the only ones there. went both times in march and the weather was red hot!! came home with a very good tan!! best entertainment ive ever seen. dancers, magicians, singers, snakes/lizards show where you get to have ur picci taken holding a snake. (forced into doing this) !! happy hour on a night saved us a fortune! BOGOF!! for a hour! we had them lined up! its in a really good location, up a very steep hill. get tired walking up it and down it. but its so close to everything but not too close. as its up a hill off a main road its nice and quiet and if you go out of the hotel the back way past the tennis courts down a long path there is a massive supermarket which it dead cheap where we got all our shopping from. there are a lot of lucky lucky men walking about who followed us allll the time even when we said no. but if you shout a firm NO, they will go away but keep hold of your bag all the time. people on the stalls at the side of the beach look at you as if you are going to steal something and can be quite intimidating... its close to the marina, the dolphin and sea lion show is the best iv seen there so clever!! we also went to gibralter for the day on the bus which is well worth doing its sooo cheap when your there! (& dont worry about limits on cigs and drink on your way out of gibralter because they dont even check!) i didnt go and see the monkeys because im a chicken but friends loved it. night life is good, 24 hour square and firther on you have bars with tribute acts we went to see a westlife one which was really good. Benalmadena is so clean and tidy, ive been loads and would go back again. its a typical spanish town, lots of shops and things to do. worst part was when we was all out and a man grabbed me and pulled my jacket from me luckily i had friends with me so if your going with friends and family make sure you stick together! but all in all 10/10 :)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Just got back from a five day, last-minute, mum and daughter (age 20) fab break at the Benalmadena Palace.

Have never been to a big complex before and were a bit sceptical having read some of the reviews but couldn't fault it at all.

From the moment we arrived the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They were all extremely polite and accommodating with perfect English.

Apartments were clean, well maintained and equipped plus excellent maid service. We moved apartments after the second night as the original one had a double bed and we'd requested twin beds. It was on seventh floor in the eaves, with sloping roof - not great for two tall people - and no view from balcony unless standing up, but staff were happy to moves us to an alternative room with twin beds when one became available. Second apartment was great, overlooking pool and terrace.

Pool area was clean and well maintained although whilst signs around pool said sunbeds should not be reserved towels were out at the crack of dawn!

Although we didn't eat in the hotel in the evenings the menu looked varied and there was a full programme of entertainment for adults and children provided by enthusiastic staff.

Location was great - far enough out of town to be quiet, but five minutes from local supermarket, just an easy 10 minute walk to the promenade with bars and restaurants and a 30 minute walk to the marina. The final few yards to the hotel from the main road are up a very steep hill but didn't cause us any problems (before 11pm can cut through the car park which cuts out half of it!)

Transfer from the airport was easy. 20 minute train journey to Benalmadena (1.55 euros each) plus five mins in taxi (8 euros) from station to hotel.

All in all a fab five days with the added bonus of temperatures of 35 degrees!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCN49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,889 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,773 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,271 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,104 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace

Property: Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Address: Camino de Gilabert s/n, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Spa Benalmadena Palace
Hotel Benalmadena Palace
Benalmadena Palace Hotel
Hotel Palace Benalmadena
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing