We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague”
Review of El Cordero

El Cordero
Ranked #150 of 723 Restaurants in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid like the plague”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The meal we had here was truly awful so forget this place. We had the enu of the day and the portions were tiny poorly cooked and the meat was like boot leather. There is a bottle of wine with the meal to which I would describe as a very good vinegar at best. Added to the poor food I would say the service was hopeless. I was also annoyed they allowed other people to smoke whilst you were eating. The best advice is to go anywhere else because it will be better.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    17
    3
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“First Class Food and Service”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Over the years we have tried all the restaurants on Bonanza Square and have found this one to be the best Spanish Restaurant. It is run by Angel, ably assisted by Sammy. They have a very friendly approach to the customers which is evident when you see the number of visitors, of all nationalities, who call regularly during their holiday We have made many friends through visiting this restaurant. Angel treats everyone as a friend and never forgets a face on a second visit. The daily menu for 11.95 euro is exceptional value and cannot be beaten. The price includes a 3 course meal with roll and butter and 1/2 bottle of wine per diner. The menu changes every day. During our latest visit to the restaurant I pre-ordered (a special) a Small Leg of Lamb which, with veg and chips, was more than enough when you consider you also got a pate and toast and garlic prawns before. I was unable to eat a dessert. All for 16.95 euro. Because of the high standard of fresh food (no frozen) we ate their for 12 out of our 14 days holiday and were never disappointed on any occasion.(They close on a Sunday).
This restaurant is a must for anyone visiting Benalmadena.
We cant wait for our next holiday their, in 2015, so that we can go their again and meet friends old and new as well as Angel and Sammy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hubert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middleton,nova scotia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were introduced to El Cordero by friends from Scotland a few years ago and it has become one of our must visits every year since.The food is excellent as is the service.A very friendly place to enjoy supper.As the other reviewers have stated the menu is very reasonable at only 10 euros for a three course meal.They are also happy to cater to larger groups for birthdays,etc.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fieldmouse6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Delicious three course menu which changes every day we have been twice during our stay. The manager is a lovely man and regulars go every visit to Benalmadena. This tells you a lot.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shirls2346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food Lovely People”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

A must visit whenever we visit Benelmadena, great Value 3 course meals inluding wine for about £10.00. Upgrade the wine to a nice Rioja for £3.00. Angel and his staff super friendly. Thursday special, a real steak with trimmings and wine £10.00, try it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank royhumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Cordero also viewed

Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Arroyo de la Miel, Benalmadena
 
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Cordero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing