We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give this one a miss!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Scotland, U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Give this one a miss!”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Just spent a week here- first impressions were very good, reception area and bedrooms were good. The Restaurant was OK - but not up to what I would class a 4* hotel to be. Our first full day we decided to sunbathe and swim. So much for not allowing 'towel bagging' of loungers!! All the ones on even surfaces around the pool area were taken by 9.15! We ended up on a slope on on the grassy area. Had to wait till after 10 till the spa opened to get towels (€10 each). We then moved to a flatter area- again on the grass, and, unknown to us next to the target shooting range! Boy was that our mistake! A fe hours later we decided to go for a swim - on return, my purse had gone from my bag! If the blond Spanish? female with the brother? and husband reads this she'll know who I'm talking about- hope you enjoyed your extra €140- but you could have made a better killing if you had taken my friend's purse- a lot more money AND credit cards!!
We informed the Reception, but their attitude was awful, the guy said we could go to the police, handed me a form to complete, saying you MIGHT get someone who speaks Engliish! The police station was miles away so we decided to just put it down to experience and get on with our holiday- although we had fun staring at the blond dame and making her feel uncomfortable!(the receptionist just wasn't interested in the least)
Next -as we were not on all inclusive, at lunch time we went for a snack at the pool bar, asked for the menu, didn't have one, the waiter said- toastie, pizza or burger- that was it, we chose a toast which duly arrived, melted onto a paper serviette on a paper plate!
The evening entertainment was laughable - we mostly avoided it as it was football at one end and the entertainment at the other, with about a hundred screaming kids all running about up to and past midnight! My friend and I had come for some peace and quite with no children or grandchildren- to this! We normally go to 4* hotels in Torremolinos -we'll be sticking to that in future!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank 1kissimmeejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    522
    231
    75
    50
See reviews for
520
478
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Lovely hotel clean bright and right on the beach, food a bit hit and miss but ok after midweek ( I think they got a new head chef in ) large rooms , friendly hard working staff, loved it .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suec251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Just came back from a 2 week holiday at Best Benalmadena Hotel, Costa del Sol, and I can only say great things about this experience. The hotel is situated 2 minutes from the beach, very clean, great staff, fab food! We have a one year old and he had a great time too, on the beach or on the pool..very clean everywhere..plenty of food choices for my baby...
There is a bus just in front of the hotel which runs quite ok, if you fancy a trip in the city or around..We went for 2 weeks from 29th of May and the weather was fab.
We definitely will be back to this hotel.

Thank you to Miss Marinela which was an exceptional host!! Also all the hotel stuff were very professional, nice and friendly..

Corina

Room Tip: We had 701,702 but all the rooms with 01,02,03 at the end have the best views..the reception is at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Corina2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ede, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 7 nights in April, We had a night flight so we arrived about 10:30 in the morning. The front desk had no problem booking all of us (about 6 couples who arrived with the bus at the same time) we were able to go into our rooms. Our travel agency had promised us a sea-view room but the front desk said that the hotel was full so that was not an option. We had a corner room on the 6th floor. On the balcony we had the sea to our left. We looked over a busy rood and had a lot of wind on our balcony. Only later in the week around 6 p.m. we could sit outside in the sun because in spite of the wind it was warm enough. we had a very large room. A bathroom with shampoo, shower soap etc, a bath with shower, toilet and bidet. No shelves to put the toiletries on, but large and clean with plenty of hot water and a good shower. We hang our towels on the rack as asked so to save too much laundry, but in spite of that we had fresh towels every day. There was a large hall between the bathroom and bedroom with two large closets to hang your clothes and shelves. there was a safe to rent for about 10 euros which we did for the passports and valuables. The bedroom was separate with two (just not) double beds. The mattress was very hard and took some getting used to. We needed the extra pillow we took along, because the pillow was really hard and thin. There was a mini-fridge to keep some bottles of water and a t.v. with Spanish Dutch and German channels. Plenty of shelf room and lighting. On the balcony there were two chairs and a table. We had all-inclusive so with every meal we had a choice of bottled water or white or red wine. In the morning there was milk, tea and coffee. The choice of food was amazing. Fruit, vegetables, potatoes, pasta, meats, breads. If you wanted it you could find it. Every noon and evening there was a choice of cold and warm food, with about 10 different deserts to choose from. Also soup. At every meal the chef would be cooking two extra meals or eggs, or fish to choose from It was allowed to take some fruit along for the day. Even when it was busy, we never had to wait to get our food, because there were so many food stations to visit to make your choice.
We did excursions three of the days, and would leave before breakfast. No problem, we could eat a small breakfast before we left, and take along a picnic lunch. This pick-nick included 4 sandwiches, a sweet roll, crackers and cheese, fruit, and bottled water. It was wonderful because we did not have to look for a restaurant, we could eat out in the park and had extra time to look around the city where we were.
In the lobby of the hotel there was free WI-fi, a small library and plenty of couches, chairs and tables to relax while looking out at the sea. There were plenty of elevators to take you quickly to your room or to the restaurant. There is a fitness room with whirlpool which we did not use. Downstairs is a cafe where the evening entertainment is, but we did not see any because it was so beautiful to walk around in the evening and look at the sea and all the boots. Outside there are 3 swimming pools one of which is a sort of whirlpool. There are plenty of lounge chairs and also tables and chairs to sit on while enjoying a drink or beverage from the cafe. My husband got his hair cut at the hotel barber for only 20 euros and it looked great. It was really more of a total treatment with a head massage and eyebrows, ears etc.
The bus stop was in front of the hotel. Outside to the left was a supermarket, where we bought large bottles of water to fill up our small ones to take along, and some milk, o.j. and soda which we kept in our small fridge in our room. We walked to the harbor (45 minutes) and took the city bus back to the hotel for 2.80 euros for the two of us. We used the hop-on-hop-off bus for two days for 13 euros pp for transportation and to learn about the city. (they give you ear phones with information in the language you need. For us in Dutch and English) The cable car is something you do not want to miss. when you get up in the mountain you can climb even further and see the whole city. It is breathtaking.Then they have a wild bird show you can watch. Have you picture taken as a souvenir. There is just so much to see, read other reviews to see everything we did. We would come back to this hotel again if we come back to Spain.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large, but the balcony is very windy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank annede99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Excellent, amazing staff they were so nice and so lovley always had a smile on their faces, amazing entertainment, the games where so fun and really good I would recomed it to anyone, its suitable for children, adults, and above, clean rooms and very clean pool amazing service there's not another hotel I'd rather be in, in costa del sol' thankyou so much, hopefully I will be back again can't wait:D food was really nice diserves 5* but oh well strongley recomened this to anyone!!!!! Thank all the staff

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank izz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I went here for a 3 night spa break booked through lowcostholidays.
The hotel states its a 4star but i have been to better 3star hotels. Its at the end of the resort so make sure you go right from the entrance to get to anything. I took a walk to the left and after a one hour walk in the blazing hot sun i finally found a taxi rank to take me back as i didnt come to anything apart from private apartments.
I would highly recommend the spa treatments as the staff and treatments are too a high standard. But the problem is with the food in the all inclusive restaurant. It was cold and you had to wait a long time for the freshly cooked food as this was done to order whilst in the queue but this might have been due to being the beginning of he season so they didnt want to waste anything. Also to get a fried egg for breakfast meant this had to be cooked fresh therefore the rest of the food had gone cold therefore get your egg before anything else.
Also its waiter/waitress service for drinks and there were a couple of times i had to go and find someone to get a drink even though the staff had looked directly at me a number of times.
There were not many english here and it does cater for the spanish/german more. It states that there is satalite TV but its all spanish channels apart from sky sport and bbc news. There also was not tea/coffee making facilities in the room therefore could not have a drink in room but this may have been provided if i had asked.
My room was a side room which is very close to the main road and traffice noise, which made it difficult to sleep. i did mention this to the reception staff and asked if i could be moved and was told no even though the hotel seemed very quiete so im sure that it was not full.
Entertainment staff are not english so i would not recommend for children.
Swimming pool and area was also quite small so in high season i think it will get very busy. But the view of the sea does compensate for this.
If you are going for a short break or going to go out for meals that this hotel is nice but i was only there for three days and was bored of the food already and i am not a fussy eater.
i went to this hotel on my own and it was only the spa staff that made me feel welcome.
The rooms are quite big though which would be nice if there was two people i had a twin room and the bathroom was huge, only problem was toilet took 30 mins to refil and you could not flush until it had filled and also quite nosey and the shower was only a trickle and covered in limescale but apart from this everything was nice. To note i only had one plug socket in room which may be annoying if there was more than one person

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as the noise from road may not help light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jenni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is a decent hotel, clean, pleasantly furnished and well situated for a daily stroll into Benalmadena. There are also bus stops just outside of the hotel for if you prefer to "bus-it" or wander further afield, and a very well stocked supermarket just across the road. The front of the hotel is on a main road which leads onto a nice promenade, the back of the hotel is just across from the sea, where there is a small sandy beach just a few metres away. There is a small swimming pool, a jacuzzi and very small childrens pool (not for the faint hearted as all were still very cold at this time of year). There seemed to be an adequate number of sun beds for the guests and most were situated on the grass in the garden area. The hotel has a policy of not allowing the reserving of sun loungers and there didn't seem to be a problem with this. We had a room on a high floor with lovely views across the sea and promenade. The rooms were cleaned daily, and stocked with shampoo and soap but missing other basics such as shower hats, manicure set, cotton wool etc. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room but there was a fridge (empty). We stayed all-inclusive and were provided with three solid meals a day, pool towels changed daily (for a 10 euro refundable deposit), and as many ice cream and drinks as we could possibly consume. There was a good choice of food for lunch and dinner including soups, fresh salads, pasta and freshly cooked fish, chicken and/or pork; breakfast offered a selection of hot and cold dishes, cold meats, cheese, fried eggs and cereal. Is the food gourmet? No it isn't and because much of the food was kept warm under lights, then the temperature was not always as warm as it should or could have been. However, it was all palatable and enough choice for even for the fussy eater not to go hungry. Entertainment was very poor and had we not been in good company, would most likely have ventured elsewhere in the evening. The animation team did attempt to involve the guests in some daytime activities and there was a show of some description each evening including parrott shows, flamenco shows etc. but this was usually late (after 11 pm) and early evening entertainment consisted of bingo (played using a cocktail stick and the host rattling her microphone around the bingo balls), a childrens disco or a quiz in 27 different languages. All this was played over the noise of the latest football match showing on TV, which incidentally was situated in the centre of the salon! The staff were all friendly and helpful and did their best to assist and keep the hotel running smoothly. There seemed to be a high turnover of guests, staying for shorter periods of time, all of different age groups and nationalities, although the majority of guests seemed to be 50+. The hotel isn't 5* luxury but is a good base, ideal for a short break and we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on a high floor generally have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ladywigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,080 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#12 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,706 reviews
1.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,852 reviews
1.4 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best Benalmadena

Property: Hotel Best Benalmadena
Address: Avenida del Sol, s/n, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#10 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Best Benalmadena 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly at Benalmádena Coast, facing the sea and just a few minutes walk from the golf courses around the area. Comfortable rooms with sea view balconies, fully fitted bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV, security door lock, fridge, heating, air conditioning, internet and optional safe-deposit box. Buffet restaurant with show cooking, national and international cuisine. Swimming pool for adults and children, outdoor jacuzzi, garden and gym. Day and night entertainment program. Optional services: Parking, Spa, massages,hairdresser’s beauty salon, gift shop and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Best Benalmadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benalmadena Best Hotel
Hotel Best Benalmadena Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing