We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SENTIDO Benalmadena Beach
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 19 February 2012

just returned from holiday this was a fabulous value for money trip the staff were very friendly we were the only english people i think but that was not a problem the rooms are dated but clean and towels and linen changed regularly and the veiw was stunning overlooking the sea, and a veiw of the marina great position, bus stop outside.The food was really good lots of choice and hot the wine was so cheap aswell.we did,t use the pool not a great size but ok .all in all a nice clean friendly place ideal for couples with excellent food and would certainly go again great winter break

Room Tip: go for a sea veiw well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Villasol in Benalmedna last September for 10 days. The hotel is very central and right next to the beach, the views 1st thing in the morning were breathtaking with a great sea breeze. The rooms are rather on the small side and rather basic, but were very clean.
The pool is not the biggest and not well serviced, but then you have the beach only 2mins away!!
The only downside is the steps up and down to the beach but if you go down the road a couple of hundred yards it is a lot easier to get to the beach.
The staff were all friendly and helpful and drink prices were OK.
We took half board which included evening meals, and the food over 10 nites did not disappoint. It was all self service but the standard of the food was excellent with at least 6 main course choices and the service was excellent, and great value for money.
Of what we have been informed this hotel was taken over recently and is now part of a chain and before this the standards were middleing to ok. Well the new owners have made great changes and all for the better, customer service throughout was very good.
Watch out for the Taxi drivers (not all) some will let on their english is poor and take you to the wrong destination before then taking you to the right one - then charge you double.
Their are plenty of places to drink and prices range from 1euro to 2.50 a pint and the same for a glass of wine. The bars opposite the hotel ( a few yards up cardiac hill and turn right) are the cheapest.
The marina which you can walk to along the boardwalk is fantastic and well worth seeing no wonder it had been voted the best in the world a few years ago.
Yes we would go back to Benalmedna and yes we would we would stay again at the villasol

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the beach the sound of the waves puts you to sleep, also a lot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Now if you have visited the hotel in the past and were not impressed, give it another try. If it's your first trip, you wont be dissapointed. The hotel had a reputation in the past for having unfriendly staff and not having the best food at all.

It was taken over some time ago by Med Player (who also run the nearby Bali) and the difference is there to see. The hotel is always clean, the staff friendly and helpful and the bar is small but prices are very good compaired to other hotel prices.

Be aware that if you book with some cheaper opperators and you have a bargain price room, you may end up over the main road. The rooms are soundproofed but its worth paying a couple of pounds extra and having a side sea view. One side looks over the beautiful Marina, the other looks up the coast, both are amazing to wake up too.

Now the food is much improved but you will still see some comments on here about it not being hot enough. The Spanish do tend not to have boiling hot food and it will be slightly cooler than the UK. It's fine though and they do have microwaves in the food area you can use to heat up if you really want too. There is always a good choice and ample to choose from.

The pool area is very small and there can be a shortage of sun beds in busy months but off peak all is fine. There is a path leading directly to the prom/beach. It's pretty steep but then so are most of the paths down. Those with walking difficulties can avoid the steep steps by taking another route.

All in all this hotel is in a fab position near to the marina, all tourist spots and some fab bars and eating places. You wont get much better and certainly wont beat the price. It's not luxury or packed with extra's but it gets my vote and I will return. Oh and it has the important free wi fi in reception with comfy seats to surf in!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We had a week at Villasol, so easy for us to get on the buses,and so cheap. The bus stops were outside the hotel or just opposite. The hotel was ok for us basic but very clean with friendly staff and frequent changes of towels.
We had a perfect balcony room with amazing views of the marina,which is only a short walk from the side of the hotel which down a slope and quite a few steps, then you are on the seafront.
Not suitable for disabled. But a walk along the main road going right outside the hotel will still take you to the marina, turn left and you will come to the lovely Windmill round-a-bout.
The pool area at the hotel was very small and in late November did not of course get used.
The food we thought was of a good standard, and something for everyone.although not always hot.enough. The staff excellent and always remembered to put butter on the table in the evening for our bread buns! Mostly Spanish pensioners in the hotel which was very busy.
There was entertainment in the hotel, but we just crossed the road to a Rangers pub and really had a pleasant time. This pub was great for coffee and brandy after a walk lovely in the sunshine.
There was a very nice bar in the hotel reasonable prices. I went on the holiday with my daughter. We were the only English people staying there. The lift quite small, only for two people at a time.
I would go back, but not with family and grandchildren. We look forward to our next break at Villasol

Room Tip: Ask for sea-views. lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Woadlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at SENTIDO Benalmadena Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Dear Woadlady,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience from your recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Villasol. We are glad to hear you spent a lovely time at the hotel. We make every effort to meet customer's requirements and make their holiday pleasant and enjoyable.
We appreciate any idea, suggestion and feedback which helps us to improve our service.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Thank you.
Kind regards

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations
Medplaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

as always a great hotel for a weekend good food and excellent service. i asked for two rooms together and that is exactly what we got, two rooms overlooking the wonderful marina and the sea they were perfect, we had my 83 year old dad with us he had a good time in the local bars which are very friendly and we cant wait to go back in the new year. on a plus note the weather was perfect 24 degrees for three days..

Room Tip: ask for a sea view, i have the last two times and have got it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happyfeet99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Have just got back from a long weekend at the Villasol. We got a very good deal, but regardless think we would look for another hotel next time.

The positives were the super friendly staff, who made you feel very welcome.
We had a wonderful view from our room.
The location of the hotel was very convenient for the beach area/marina and bus routes etc.
Bar/restaurant prices for drinks were very reasonable.

Our room itself was very tired and in desperate need of some t.l.c. However, it was clean, and was fine just as a base. The pool was small, but was again fine (dont think it would be suitable for small children though)

Poss the biggest let down for us was the food. Our expectations were not high, because of the price we paid, but guess we got what we paid for in the end. Breakfast was fine usual english breakfast but was never very hot., continental breakfast items looked okay. The coffee was the worst we have ever tasted and the tea was not much better.
The evening meals though were not very good at all and had we stayed there any longer we would have ended up eating out. We are not fussy eaters and will eat anything, but it was not of very good quality. Having said that the very many spanish pensioners who were staying in the hotel, seemed to enjoy it very much. English holiday makers were very much in the minority.

Room Tip: Pay extra and request a room directly facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank treetops41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a week in October and it was very good, from the moment we checked in to the time we left all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the 4th floor facing the sea which made waking up every morning to bright sunshine a perfect start to the day, the food in the restaurant was good albeit the choice was a little limited, again the staff were very friendly. The hotel has a small pool with enough sunbeds to go around at this time because it was not full, I should imagine during peak summer it would be a bit crammed although as the beach is only down a few steps it shouldn`t be a problem . The rooms are cleaned everyday with fresh towels, my only issues were there was only one electrical socket in the room for the tv located high up the wall and the entertainment was more aimed at the spanish clients but it didn`t bother us too much. My one tip for this hotel is to reserve a room with a sea view.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pontypandy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.7 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
#23 of 45 in Benalmadena
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
3,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,888 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Betania
Hotel Betania
#38 of 45 in Benalmadena
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Benalmadena Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Benalmadena Beach

Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 43, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range: £103 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SENTIDO Benalmadena Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Benalmadena Beach has a wonderful location, with just a short walk to the beach. A select, charming and exclusive hotel with spectacular sea views. Here you can choose how you prefer your stay, with breakfast to a convenient All Inclusive. The hotel offers a good activity program for the whole family to enjoy. You can also choose to just relax around the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SENTIDO Benalmadena Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villasol Hotel Benalmadena
SENTIDO Benalmadena Beach Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing