We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, simple and perfectly positioned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant, simple and perfectly positioned”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Spent three days here with husband, mother-in-law and two kids over Jubilee weekend and have no complaints. We arrived late but a simple plate of food had been saved for us. Rooms were clean, decent size and comfy beds. I agree with previous comments that a small fridge and perhaps tea/coffee facilities would be great.
Literally 100 yards from lovely clean beaches with comfy sunbeds. Pool was very small so we didn't bother.
Food at breakfast and dinner was good quality and plentiful, plus reasonably priced quality wine.
It was our first visit to Benalmedena so we weren't sure where to go. Mad Terry at Busbys across the road advised us to avoid 'the Square' due to lots of muggings so we headed for the Marina - well worth the 15 mins stroll for the nicest views, bars and restaurants - and amazing ice cream shops!!!
We paid an extra €27 to keep one of our rooms for the entire day before we left which enabled us to make the most of our final day - well worth it. Friendly staff and an all round lovely resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    223
    138
    56
    54
See reviews for
91
304
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Have just spent a week at the Villasol in Benalmadena with my mother in law and sister. The hotel is in an excellent location with views of the sea and/or marina from most balconies. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the air conditioning was a bonus during the second half of our holiday, the only thing missing from the room was a fridge.
The food was ok with plenty of choice for both breakfast and evening meal and we always managed to find something to suit. There was usually plenty of fresh fruit with the evening meal but the fruit with breakfast was a bit of a let down as most of it was tinned. I also missed a nice slice of madera cake after my breakfast as all they supplied here was very sweet individual sponge buns.The fruit juice was very watery with a choice of only orange or pineapple. I enjoyed the bacon and sausages and the fried or scrambled eggs were also good. The paella was good during the first couple of days but became very dry toward the end of the week. All the other evening meals I enjoyed.
Our main bugbear at this hotel was the lack of a pool bar and pool toilets. There was a bar at the far end of the pool but it was never opened during our stay, this meant to get a drink you had to use the vending machine in reception until 12 o'clock when the hotel bar opened and either way it meant you had to get dressed to enter the hotel. Likewise to use the toilets in reception you had to get dressed from the poolside.

Room Tip: All balconies are overlooked unless you want to pay 7.5 euro's per person per night for a full s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamClark_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Ive just had a week here from 20th April to 1st May 2012 and it was lovely. Fabulous sea view very clean comfortable spacious room, very friendly and helpful staff who were very patient with my pigeon spanish. Food was lovely but sometimes could have been warmer. Not a huge selection but more than enough to choose from. Lots of nice places to shop and eat and a short stroll from the marina. I would recommend the bees knees just over the road for lunch have a sandwich its worth it for the side salad alone, we would have gone back if we had found it sooner, also the Chesters quiz is worth a visit, make you really welcome and we had a cheap night and lots of laughs. Would very much recommend this hotel and others in the medplaya group based on this stay.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view - well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank donnagreen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Young ish 50+ couple! We were the only English in hotel, mainly Older Spanish and some French guests. This was not a problem, you are in Spain please make an effort. A smile, ola, por favor and a wave is much appreciated by friendly staff and guests. Location great, we had room overlooking Marina/sea, sunrise and sunsets stunning. Marina pleasant stroll, keep going to Torremolinos for bars etc. Bus stop outside for Malaga opposite side of road Mijas, Fuengerola 1.50 euro bargain. Food at hotel was varied and something for all. We stopped full board and a picnic was provided on days you didn't want to return for lunch - order the night before. Great to try different dishes especially fish dishes. Paella dish fabulous. Wine 7 euros in hotel and will pur room number on bottle and keep for next meal. Fantastic. Thank you.
Pool area quite compact, nice for a chill, read and splash not a problem the sea and huge sandy beach on doorstep.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Villasol, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Carol W,

Thank you for sharing your recent holiday experiencie at the hotel Villasol. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel met your expectations. As you describe, hotel is located in the centre of Benalmadena, close to the beach, with its privileged location is an ideal place for holiday.
Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you soon.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I still have the holiday blues from staying here, what a brilliant hotel!! Literally about 20 seconds from the promonade/beach! Very Clean, Rooms are a really good size! We had a room with a corner balcony which gave us a great view of the beach and a great view of the bars opposite, however dont worry it isnt noisy at all! Food very very good! plenty to choose from at breakfast and tea time! Pool not the greatest of size but still clean - however you cant take rubber rings or lilos into the pool :( - Close to everything! The marina is a nice 15 minute stroll down the promenade or head the other way and you can walk through the town and get a cable car up into the mountains where they show bird shows! There is plenty to do and this hotel is central for everything!! Will definatley be returning! There is a bar just on the front called the Drunken Sailor, owned by an english couple who are lovely and they let you watch corrie :D - cheap drinks and very friendly!!!!! I cant wait to holiday again this summer!

Room Tip: Room 206! Perfect corner balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank YandellEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Villasol, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear YandellEL,

Thank you for sharing your review on your recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Villasol. It's a pleasure to know that you had a great time at the hotel and that the hotel met your expectations. We appreciate every comment and suggestions that make us realize customer needs.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you back again.
Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed in the Villasol from 12th June 2011 to the 19th. Excellent friendly staff!! Hotel is very clean. Breakfast is good. Located right next to the beach and lots of cheap bars over the road aswell. Would defo stay in this hotel again!!

Room Tip: Upper floors facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Villasol, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Gerald D,

Thank you for sharing your holiday experience after your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Medplaya Hotel Villasol. Our hotel management together with the staff strive to give the best service possible and each feedback is important to us. It is very encouraging to receive positive and constructive comments as they make us understand customer needs.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you to our hotel again soon.
Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations, Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

just returned from holiday this was a fabulous value for money trip the staff were very friendly we were the only english people i think but that was not a problem the rooms are dated but clean and towels and linen changed regularly and the veiw was stunning overlooking the sea, and a veiw of the marina great position, bus stop outside.The food was really good lots of choice and hot the wine was so cheap aswell.we did,t use the pool not a great size but ok .all in all a nice clean friendly place ideal for couples with excellent food and would certainly go again great winter break

Room Tip: go for a sea veiw well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#24 of 45 in Benalmadena
598 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,850 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Fermin
Hotel San Fermin
#26 of 45 in Benalmadena
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palmasol
Hotel Palmasol
#25 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Alay
Hotel Ibersol Alay
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Villasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Villasol

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 43, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Villasol 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Villasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villasol Hotel Benalmadena
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing